MR GAY SYRIA


11/20/2017 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater
11/21/2017 22:00 – Pupille Kino Frankfurt am Main

Germany/France/Turkey 2017 87 min Arabic-Turkish original version with German and English subtitles
by Ayşe Toprak
Script: Ayşe Toprak, DoP: Hajo Schomerus, Anne Misselwitz, Editor: Nadia Ben Rachid, Producers: Antoine Simkine, Ekin Calisir, Christine Kiauk, Herbert Schwering, with: Husein, Mahmoud Hassino, Omar, Nader and Ayman

Two gay Syrian refugees try to rebuild their lives after having been forced to leave their country. Husein is a gay barber in Istanbul. Mahmoud champions LGBTI rights in Berlin. What brings them together is a crazy dream: to join the international beauty contest, Mr. Gay World, as an escape from their trapped lives and an answer to their invisibility.

“These guys love laughing, they love life, and love having fun even though they are surrounded by so much tragedy. Half of them are sex workers, they have family stuck in Syria, they live in a terrible time – probably as bad as it gets. But regardless, they want to laugh and have fun.
And MR GAY SYRIA gave that to them. They could come back to life. You can see how much they want to live – it’s beautiful, and offers an escape.” (Ayşe Toprak, Director)

Ayşe Toprak is a filmmaker based in Istanbul. She received a BFA in Film &TV from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts, and an MA from the New School. Her work experience includes Channel Thirteen/PBS in New York, and producing for Al Jazeera in London, Doha and Istanbul. Her film MR GAY SYRIA premiered at Sheffield Doc/Fest, UK, and got the Human Rights Award at the Sarajevo Film Festival.

Contact

Coin Film
Christine Kiauk
Germany
c.kiauk@coin-film.de
www.coin-film.de

Reservation


11/20/2017 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

MR GAY SYRIA


20.11.2017 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater
21.11.2017 22:00 – Pupille Kino Frankfurt am Main

Deutschland/Frankreich/Türkei 2017 87 min arab.-türk. Omd+eU
von Ayşe Toprak
Drehbuch: Ayşe Toprak, Kamera: Hajo Schomerus, Anne Misselwitz, Schnitt: Nadia Ben Rachid, Produzenten: Antoine Simkine, Ekin Calisir, Christine Kiauk, Herbert Schwering, mit: Husein, Mahmoud Hassino, Omar, Nader und Ayman

Der syrische Aktivist Mahmoud Hassino organisiert mit Unterstützern eine MR-GAY-Wahl in Istanbul, und Husein geht daraus als strahlender Sieger hervor. Neben familiären Pflichten und neuen Freundschaften in der LGBTI-Community lautet das klare Ziel: Teilnahme am World Contest auf Malta. Doch dafür braucht er gültige Papiere. Eine einfühlsame Dokumentation, die sich nicht am Elend abarbeitet, sondern ihre Protagonisten in ihren Kämpfen ebenso würdigt wie in ihrer Freude und ihrem Mut.

„Ayşe Topraks Film ist ein wichtiges Gegengewicht zu den oft tendenziösen und eindimensionalen Bildern über geflüchtete Menschen, die in den Medien kursieren.“ (Amos Borchert, Kurator der Reihe „Fokus Türkei“)

Ayşe Toprak ist eine Filmemacherin aus Istanbul. Sie hat einen Bachelor in Film & TV der Tisch School of the Arts und einen Master der New School in New York. Sie arbeitete für Channel Thirteen/PBS in New York und für Al Jazeera in London, Doha und Istanbul. Ihr Film MR GAY SYRIA wurde auf dem Sheffield Doc/Fest in Großbritannien uraufgeführt und erhielt beim Sarajevo Film Festival den Human Rights Award.

Kontakt

Coin Film
Christine Kiauk
Deutschland
c.kiauk@coin-film.de
www.coin-film.de

Reservieren


20.11.2017 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater