exground 2021

welcome

How do we welcome 2021? Good question. In 2020, we actually wanted to celebrate our 30th anniversary with you in the cinema. That was already tricky to communicate, since we managed to do two festivals a year in our first two years of existence. Well, we didn’t have to explain that last year due to Covid, as lockdown was declared two weeks before the kick-off of our planned hybrid edition.

Now, we hope that the 34th edition can take place in front of live audiences in our 31st year. Once again, we have hybrid plans: all the films from exground filmfest will be presented in our venues, in compliance with all public health guidelines, and the great majority of them will also be available for streaming on-demand, which you can watch from the comfort of your couch.

Looking at current Covid regulations, we decided as a festival to use the so-called 2G policy (meaning admission is reserved for vaccinated or recovered individuals). Not because we wish to exclude anybody, but because we don’t have any other choice economically – since who wants to pay more for a test than a cinema ticket? And, of course, we don’t want to expose anyone who isn’t vaccinated to any risks either. Our appeal to you: please get vaccinated and come to the cinema! In the event that you’d rather not or you can’t, then use our online offer!

In any case, hybrid means that once again we had to organise two film festivals in parallel, and that’s why we are proud that we, the organisational team, continue to pull off this feat on a voluntary basis. Our thanks go first of all to all the funders, sponsors, partners and friends of the festival, whose financial support makes it possible for us to do a hybrid festival in the first place. Special thanks here go to the State Capitol Wiesbaden, the Hessen State Ministry for Higher Education, Research and the Arts, HessenFilm und Medien GmbH and Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain. And warm thanks also go to all our helpers, without whom we couldn’t put on the festival.

As always, we have assembled a worthwhile programme featuring over 150 productions, a cross section of the international cinema class of 2020/21, chosen from around 2,000 submitted short and feature-length films. The greatest compliment for our selection would be if you would come to our venues or take advantage of our online programme.

We are looking forward to ten eventful festival days full of new (cinematic) impressions!

Your festival team from exground filmfest

exground filmfest 2021

herzlich willkommen // welcome

Wie heißen wir Sie 2021 willkommen? Gute Frage. 2020 wollten wir eigentlich mit Ihnen unser 30-jähriges Bestehen im Kino feiern. Das war sowieso schon schwierig zu kommunizieren, da wir ja in den ersten beiden Jahren zwei Festivals pro Jahr zu wuppen wussten. Nun gut, das mussten wir voriges Jahr wegen Cororna nicht erklären, weil uns zwei Wochen vor der geplanten hybriden Edition der Lockdown ereilte.
Nun hoffen wir, dass die 34. Ausgabe im 31. Jahr vor Publikum stattfinden kann. Wir planen erneut hybrid: Alle Filme von exground filmfest werden in unseren Spielstätten, gemäß den dann geltenden Verordnungen, angeboten – und zusätzlich die allermeisten in einem On-Demand-Stream, den Sie sich bequem vom Sofa aus anschauen können.

Wir haben uns als Festival dazu entschieden, die bei den geltenden Verordnungen mögliche 2-G-Variante zu nutzen. Nicht, weil wir jemanden ausgrenzen wollen, sondern weil wir auch wirtschaftlich keine andere Wahl haben – denn wer will denn mehr für einen Test zahlen als für ein Kinoticket? Und natürlich wollen wir auch niemanden, der nicht geimpft ist, einer Gefahr aussetzen. Unser Appell: Lassen Sie sich impfen und kommen Sie ins Kino! Falls Sie das nicht wollen oder können, nutzen Sie unser Online-Angebot!

Hybrid bedeutet allerdings, dass wir erneut zwei Filmfestivals parallel organisieren müssen, und deshalb sind wir stolz darauf, dass wir das als Organisationsteam weiterhin unbezahlt gestemmt haben. Unser erster Dank geht an alle Förderer, Sponsoren, Partner und Freunde des Festivals, deren finanzielle Unterstützung es uns überhaupt erst möglich gemacht hat, das Filmfest hybrid zu veranstalten. Unser besonderer Dank gilt hier der Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden, dem Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, der HessenFilm und Medien GmbH sowie dem Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain. Und unser ebenso herzlicher Dank gilt all unseren Helferinnen und Helfern, ohne die wir das Festival nicht stemmen könnten.

Wie immer haben wir für Sie ein sehenswertes Programm mit über 150 Produktionen zusammengestellt – einen Querschnitt durch den 2020/2021er-Jahrgang des internationalen Kinos aus rund 2.000 eingereichten Kurz- und Langfilmen. Das größte Kompliment für unsere Auswahl wäre, wenn Sie in unsere Spielstätten kommen oder unser On-Demand-Angebot nutzen.

Wir freuen uns auf zehn ereignisreiche Festivaltage voller neuer (filmischer) Eindrücke!

Ihr Festivalteam von exground filmfest