ARETHA FRANKLIN: AMAZING GRACE [AMAZING GRACE]


11/22/2019 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

United States 2018 89 min English original version

Alan Elliott and Sydney Pollack
Editor: Jeff Buchanan, Producers: Joe Boyd, Alan Elliott, Rob Johnson, Chiemi Karasawa, Spike Lee, with: Aretha Franklin, James Cleveland, C.L. Franklin, Mick Jagger, Alexander Hamilton, Southern California Community Choir

The year is 1972 and Aretha Franklin is at the pinnacle of her career. Still, after 20 studio albums and numerous number one hits, the Queen of Soul decides to return to her musical roots: in Missionary Baptist Church in the Watts district of Los Angeles she gives a concert together with the Southern California Community Choir and gospel legend Reverend James Cleveland and allows it to be recorded for release. AMAZING GRACE is more than just a concert film. It is an experience of pure soul power, a compelling act of musical worship and a fascinating historical document, with Mick Jagger among the guests. Never before has an audience seen the blessed vocalist from so close-up, so concentrated and full of humility – captured for posterity by a film team under the direction of Sydney Pollack.

More information: https://www.weltkino.de/filme/aretha-franklin-amazing-grace

“Dear Ms. Franklin,
My name is Sydney Pollack and I am a film director. I’m also a huge fan of yours. A long time ago, I was asked by Warner Bros. if I would ‘help them out’ and organize a way to film you and the James Cleveland choir during your recording of AMAZING GRACE. I had no experience in documentaries, but I was excited to be able to watch you record and to try and film it.

I’ve often wondered about that footage over the years and so some months ago I called the studio to find out about it and to suggest that we try to put some of it together and see what’s there. To that end, I have had a young man trying to synch up the tracks which is an enormous job since all five cameras were shooting at random.” (extract of a letter from Sydney Pollack to Aretha Franklin, September 23, 1998)

Contact

Weltkino Filmverleih
David Forcht
Germany
dforcht@weltkino.de
www.weltkino.de

Short before

ORBIT

ARETHA FRANKLIN: AMAZING GRACE [AMAZING GRACE]


22.11.2019 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

USA 2018 89 Min. OF

Alan Elliott und Sydney Pollack
Schnitt: Jeff Buchanan, Produzenten: Joe Boyd, Alan Elliott, Rob Johnson, Chiemi Karasawa, Spike Lee, mit: Aretha Franklin, James Cleveland, C.L. Franklin, Mick Jagger, Alexander Hamilton, Southern California Community Choir

1972 steht Aretha Franklin im Zenit ihrer Karriere. Doch nach 20 Studioalben, vielen Nummer-eins-Hits, beschließt die Queen of Soul zu ihren musikalischen Wurzeln zurückzukehren: In der Missionary Baptist Church in Watts, Los Angeles, gibt sie zusammen mit dem Southern California Community Chor und der Gospellegende Reverend James Cleveland ein Konzert und lässt einen Mitschnitt für das Album aufnehmen. ARETHA FRANKLIN: AMAZING GRACE ist mehr als ein Konzertfilm. Er ist ein Erlebnis purer Soul-Energie, ein mitreißender musikalischer Gottesdienst und ein faszinierendes Zeitdokument, mit Mick Jagger unter den Gästen. Noch nie hat man die begnadete Sängerin Aretha Franklin so hautnah, so konzentriert und voller Demut erlebt – festgehalten von einem Filmteam unter der Regie von Sydney Pollack.

Weitere Informationen: https://www.weltkino.de/filme/aretha-franklin-amazing-grace

„Liebe Miss Franklin,
mein Name ist Sydney Pollack, und ich bin Regisseur. Gleichzeitig bin ich ein großer Fan von Ihnen. Vor langer Zeit wurde ich von Warner Bros. gefragt, ob ich ,ihnen aushelfen‘ würde, Sie und den James Cleveland Chor während der Aufnahme von AMAZING GRACE zu filmen. Ich hatte keine Erfahrung in Dokumentarfilmen, aber ich war aufgeregt, Ihre Aufnahmen zu begleiten.

Ich habe über die Jahre oft an dieses Material gedacht, also rief ich vor einigen Monaten im Studio an, um etwas darüber herauszufinden und vorzuschlagen, dass wir etwas davon zusammenschneiden und sehen, was sich daraus ergibt. Dafür hatte ich einen jungen Mann, der versuchte, die Spuren zu synchronisieren, was ein enormer Job war, da alle fünf Kameras wahllos filmten.“ (Ausschnitt eines Briefes von Sydney Pollack an Aretha Franklin vom 23. September 1998)

Kontakt

Weltkino Filmverleih
David Forcht
Deutschland
dforcht@weltkino.de
www.weltkino.de

Vorfilm

ORBIT