DINNER IN AMERICA

11/14/2020 10:15 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United States 2020 106 min English original version

by Adam Carter Rehmeier

Script: Adam Carter Rehmeier, DoP: Jean-Philippe Bernier, Editor: Adam Carter Rehmeier, Production: Red Hour Films, PSH Collective, Bee-Hive Productions, Producers: Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, David Hunter, Ross Putman, John Covert, Sam Slater, Cast: Kyle Gallner, Emily Skeggs, Pat Healy, Griffin Gluck, Lea Thompson, Mary Lynn Rajskub

The Midwestern USA is the setting for the birth of the coolest screen couple since Harold und Maude: punk rocker Simon, who can’t get his shit together in spite of his killer moustache, and Patty, a loser who gets bullied in school for being a loner with ill-fitting leggings. Still, somehow they manage to hit it off, as the viewer quivers nervously in the hope that they might find true happiness on Earth.

The maladjusted performances from the two leads account for a significant part of this brilliant film’s charm. Emily Skeggs proves that you can also be a full-on rock chick in striped pullover and unstyled hair, and even militant non-smokers would give Kyle Gallner a light. Viva suburbia!

More information

Adam Carter Rehmeier had spent a decade working in Hollywood as a DP/editor/intuitive documentarian before making the jump to writer/director with his controversial, award-winning debut THE BUNNY GAME, which screened at over 40 film festivals around the world. Currently, his miniseries HEARTLAND is in development, and he will be helming his follow-up feature, SAVE A BULLET FOR ME, which he also wrote.

Filmography: 2011 THE BUNNY GAME, 2013 JONAS, 2020 DINNER IN AMERICA

Contact
Visit Films
Tarek Shoukri
USA
ts@visitfilms.com
www.visitfilms.com

DINNER IN AMERICA

14.11.2020 22:15 – Caligari FilmBühne

USA 2020 106 Min. OF

von Adam Carter Rehmeier

Drehbuch: Adam Carter Rehmeier, Kamera: Jean-Philippe Bernier, Schnitt: Adam Carter Rehmeier, Produktion: Red Hour Films, PSH Collective, Bee-Hive Productions, Produzenten: Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, David Hunter, Ross Putman, John Covert, Sam Slater, Darsteller: Kyle Gallner, Emily Skeggs, Pat Healy, Griffin Gluck, Lea Thompson, Mary Lynn Rajskub

Der Mittlere Westen in den USA: Hier treffen das geilste Leinwandpaar seit Harold und Maude aufeinander: Simon, der Punkrocker, der nichts auf die Reihe kriegt, aber einen geilen Schnauzer trägt, und Patty, eine Loserin, die gemobbt wird in der Schule, da sie als Einzelgängerin auch noch schlecht sitzende Leggings trägt. Simon und Patty treffen aufeinander, als der Gelegenheitspyromane mal wieder auf der Flucht vor der Polizei ist. Aber die zwei finden irgendwie zusammen, und als Zuschauer zittert man mit ihnen und wünscht ihnen alles Glück dieser Erde.

Einen maßgeblichen Anteil am Charme dieses grandiosen Films hat das unangepasste Spiel der zwei Hauptdarsteller. Emily Skeggs beweist, dass man auch mit Streifenpullover und ungemachten Haaren das Zeug zur heißen Rockerbraut hat, und Kyle Gallner gibt man selbst als militanter Antiraucher noch Feuer. Ein Hoch auf das Vorstadtleben!

Weitere Informationen

Adam Carter Rehmeier hatte über ein Jahrzehnt in Hollywood als Kameramann, Cutter und Dokumentarfilmer verbracht, bevor er 2011 sein Debüt als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur mit THE BUNNY GAME gab. Der Film wurde auf über 40 Festivals in der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Momentan arbeitet er an seiner Miniserie HEARTLAND, und an seinem neuen Spielfilm SAVE A BULLET FOR ME, zu dem er auch das Drehbuch schrieb.

Filmografie: 2011 THE BUNNY GAME, 2013 JONAS, 2020 DINNER IN AMERICA

Kontakt
Visit Films
Tarek Shoukri
USA
ts@visitfilms.com
www.visitfilms.com