LA BARRACUDA


11/23/2018 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

United States 2017 100 min original version
German premiere

by Julia Halperin and Jason Cortlund

Script: Jason Cortlund, DoP: Jonathan Nastasi, Editor: Eva Claire, Production: Small Drama, Blue Suitcase Productions, Orka, Producers: David Hartstein, Nancy Schafer, Cast: Allison Tolman, Sophie Reid, JoBeth Williams, Luis Bordonada

Merle finds her life beginning to splinter when Sinaloa, the musican half-sister Merle never knew existed, appears on her doorstep in Texas. Although distrustful of this enigmatic woman, Merle allows her half-sister into her life. A bond quickly forms between the two women. But soon Sinaloa shows her dark side and threatens to place Merle’s career aspirations, her relationship to her mother, and even her impending marriage in jeopardy.

„But ultimately, it’s the tragic, unexamined complexity of the feelings that Sinaloa brings to Merle, and the sophistication of Reid’s and Tolman’s performances as opposite sides of the same coin, that elevates LA BARRACUDA above the ranks of the countless family dramas and psychological thrillers to which it might otherwise be compared. It’s a film that showcases Cortlund’s and Halperin’s skill as storytellers, by resonating with audiences while challenging their expectations.“ (Todd Gilchrist, The Wrap; https://www.thewrap.com/barracuda-review-alison-tolman/)

Jason Cortlund and Julia Halperin are a directing team based in Austin, Texas. Cortlund studied film and writing at the University of Oregon and earned a Master’s in screenwriting at the University of Texas. Halperin received her B.A. summa cum laude from Hunter College and her M.F.A from the University of Texas. Both served as programmers for Cinematexas International Film Festival from 1997 to 2004. Their debut feature NOW, FORAGER premiered at the 2012 International Film Festival Rotterdam. It received “Two Thumbs Up” from Roger Ebert. They were included in The “Independent’s 10 Filmmakers to Watch” in 2012. LA BARRACUDA is their second feature film.

Contact
media luna new films UG
Filipe Caeiro
Germany
festival@medialuna.biz
www.medialuna.biz

LA BARRACUDA


23.11.2018 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

USA 2017 100 Min. OF
Deutschland-Premiere

von Julia Halperin und Jason Cortlund

Drehbuch: Jason Cortlund, Kamera: Jonathan Nastasi, Schnitt: Eva Claire, Produktion: Small Drama, Blue Suitcase Productions, Orka, Produzenten: David Hartstein, Nancy Schafer, Darsteller: Allison Tolman, Sophie Reid, JoBeth Williams, Luis Bordonada

Merles Leben droht zu zerfallen, als plötzlich ihre Halbschwester Sinaloa vor der Tür in Texas steht. Merle wusste nichts von ihrer Existenz und ist zunächst misstrauisch. Trotzdem lässt sie die junge Musikerin in ihr Leben, und die beiden bauen schnell eine Bindung zueinander auf. Doch schon bald zeigt Sinaloa ihre dunkle Seite: Sie gefährdet Merles Karrierepläne, die Beziehung zu ihrer Mutter und sogar ihre bevorstehende Hochzeit.

„Letzlich ist es die tragische unergründete Komplexität der Gefühle, die Sinola in Merle auslöst, sowie die Raffinesse in Reids und Tolmans Darstellung als zwei Seiten einer Medaille, die LA BARRACUDA über zahlreiche andere Familiendramen und Psychothriller heben. Der Film beweist das Talent von Cortlund und Halperin als Geschichtenerzähler: Sie sind auf der Seite ihres Publikums und spielen trotzdem mit seinen Erwartungen.“ (Todd Gilchrist, The Wrap; https://www.thewrap.com/barracuda-review-alison-tolman/)

Die Co-Regisseure Jason Cortlund und Julia Halperin leben in Austin/Texas (USA). Cortlund studierte Film an der Universität in Texas, Halperin am Hunter College und ebenfalls an der Universität von Texas. Von 1997 bis 2004 arbeiteten beide beim Cinematexas International Film Festival. Ihr gemeinsamer Debütfilm NOW, FORAGER feierte 2012 auf dem International Film Festival Rotterdam Premiere. Er bekam „Two Thumbs Up“ von Roger Ebert. Beide waren Teil der Liste „The Independent’s 10 Filmmakers to Watch“ im Jahr 2012. LA BARRACUDA ist ihr zweiter Langfilm.

Kontakt
media luna new films UG
Filipe Caeiro
Deutschland
festival@medialuna.biz
www.medialuna.biz