LORELEI

11/15/2020 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

United States 2020 111 min English original version

by Sabrina Doyle

Script: Sabrina Doyle, DoP: Stephen Paar, Editor: Daniel Myers, Production: Freestyle Picture Company, Producers: Kevin Chinoy, Jennifer Radzikowski, Francesca Silvestri, Cast: Jena Malone, Pablo Schreiber

Wayland has been in prison for 15 years for armed robbery. Upon his release, he returns to his hometown and reconnects with his high school girlfriend Dolores, now a single mother with three kids. Soon after their reunion, Wayland moves in with the chaotic family and becomes a much-needed father figure. Struggling to pay the bills, Wayland finds himself drawn back to his old ways.

This authentic feature debut from Sabrina Doyle features stellar chemistry between its two leads and strong supporting performances from the three kids. Tackling the all-too-familiar struggle of the working class in America with beautiful cinematography and an affecting score, this film balances despair and hope.

“We want to show that in every corner of this country, non-traditional families can thrive. Families with half-siblings of different skin tones and gender identities. Families with (step)fathers who’ve lost their way and mothers who want something more. We believe we have more in common than that which separates us – and that this is a healing message for our fractured and divided times.” (Sabrina Doyle)

More information

Sabrina Doyle was born in London/Great Britain to an Irish father and Italian mother. A first generation high school graduate, she got top Bachelor’s and MPhil Degrees from Cambridge University. She subsequently won a Fulbright Scholarship to attend the American Film Institute, where she completed her MFA in Film Directing. She worked as a BBC journalist for six years, producing content for the UK’s flagship news programs, including the “Today” program and “Newsnight”. Her shorts have been seen on the pan-European TV network ARTE and at dozens of international film festivals. She was also honored by the British Academy BAFTA as a “Brit to Watch”. She recently wrote a historic true crime screenplay.

Filmography (selection): 2020 LORELEI

Contact

Visit Films
Tarek Shoukri
USA
ts@visitfilms.com
www.visitfilms.com

LORELEI

15.11.2020 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

USA 2020 111 Min. OF

von Sabrina Doyle

Drehbuch: Sabrina Doyle, Kamera: Stephen Paar, Schnitt: Daniel Myers, Produktion: Freestyle Picture Company, Produzenten: Kevin Chinoy, Jennifer Radzikowski, Francesca Silvestri, Darsteller: Jena Malone, Pablo Schreiber

Wayland wird aus dem Gefängnis entlassen. Für bewaffneten Raub saß er 15 Jahre. Zurück in seiner Heimatstadt trifft er auf seine Jugendliebe Dolores – inzwischen alleinerziehende Mutter von drei Kindern. Die beiden kommen wieder zusammen. Schnell zieht Wayland bei der chaotischen Familie ein und wird zur Vaterfigur. Von nun an kämpft er darum, die Rechnungen zu bezahlen, und gerät schnell wieder ins Fahrwasser alter Gewohnheiten.

Das authentische Langfilmdebüt von Sabrina Doyle besticht durch die starke Chemie der beiden Hauptdarsteller sowie der außergewöhnlichen Performance der drei Kinder. Es geht um die Widrigkeiten der Arbeiterklasse in Amerika. Mit wundervollen Bildern und bewegender Filmmusik balanciert der Film zwischen Verzweiflung und Hoffnung.

„Wir wollen zeigen, dass in jedem Winkel dieses Landes unkonventionelle Familien leben. Familien mit Halbgeschwistern mit anderer Hautfarbe und Genderidentitäten. Familien mit (Stief-)Vätern, die ihren Weg verloren haben, und Müttern, die mehr vom Leben wollen. Wir glauben, dass uns mehr verbindet als uns trennt – eine beruhigende Botschaft in diesen zerbrechlichen Zeiten.“ (Sabrina Doyle)

Weitere Informationen

Sabrina Doyle wurde in London/Großbritannien geboren. Ihre Mutter ist Italienerin, Ihr Vater Ire. Nach ihrem Highschool-Abschluss studierte sie an der Cambridge University. Sie erhielt ein Stipendium für das American Film Institute, an dem sie Ihren MFA-Abschluss in Filmregie machte. Sie arbeitete für sechs Jahre als BBC-Journalistin und produzierte Beiträge für britische Nachrichtensendungen. Ihre Kurzfilme wurden europaweit im Fernsehen ausgestrahlt sowie auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals gezeigt. Die britische Akademie BAFTA ehrte sie als „Brit to Watch“. Kürzlich stellte sie ihr Drehbuch zu einem historisch verbürgten Krimifall fertig.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2020 LORELEI

Kontakt

Visit Films
Tarek Shoukri
USA
ts@visitfilms.com
www.visitfilms.com