ONCE WERE BROTHERS: ROBBIE ROBERTSON AND THE BAND

11/20/2020 10:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Canada/United States 2019 100 min English original version

by Daniel Roher

Script: Daniel Roher, DoP: Kiarash Sadigh, Editors: Eamonn O’Connor, Daniel Roher, Production: White Pine Pictures, Producers: Stephen Paniccia, Andrew Munger, Sam Sutherland, Lana Belle Mauro, with: Robbie Robertson, Martin Scorsese, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton, Taj Mahal, Ronnie Hawkins, Van Morrison, Dominique Robertson

The rockumentary is a confessional, cautionary, and occasionally humorous tale of Robbie Robertson’s young life and the creation of one of the most enduring groups in the history of popular music, “The Band”. The film is a moving story of Robertson’s personal journey, overcoming adversity and finding camaraderie alongside the four other men who would become his brothers in music, together making their mark on music history. ONCE WERE BROTHERS blends rare archival footage, photography, iconic songs and interviews with Robertson’s friends and collaborators including Martin Scorsese, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton, Van Morrison, and many more.

“I told anyone who would listen that this was my dream project.The truth is, I would’ve begged, cried, or stolen to direct this movie.” (Daniel Roher)

More information

Through his company, Loud Roar Productions, the 26-year old Jewish-Canadian Daniel Roher strives to create socially significant content that entertains audiences around the world. GHOSTS OF OUR FOREST, chronicles the struggle of a displaced indigenous tribe in Uganda, premiered at the 2017 Hot Docs Film Festival. The film followed the acclaimed premiere of his previous documentaries including SURVIVORS ROWE, (Hot Docs 2015), which was nominated for a Canadian Screen Award, screened on Parliament Hill in Ottawa and had its broadcast debut on TVO. Daniel has a keen eye for story, complex visuals, and the unique potential animation poses in complementing and supporting challenging documentary memoir and stories.

Filmography (selection): 2015 SURVIVORS ROWE, 2017 GHOSTS OF OUR FOREST, 2019 ONCE WERE BROTHERS: ROBBIE ROBERTSON AND THE BAND

Contact
magnolia pictures
Marie Zeniter
USA
mzeniter@magpictures.com
www.magpictures.com

ONCE WERE BROTHERS: ROBBIE ROBERTSON AND THE BAND

20.11.2020 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Kanada/USA 2019 100 Min. engl. OF

von Daniel Roher

Drehbuch: Daniel Roher, Kamera: Kiarash Sadigh, Schnitt: Eamonn O’Connor, Daniel Roher, Produktion: White Pine Pictures, Produzenten: Stephen Paniccia, Andrew Munger, Sam Sutherland, Lana Belle Mauro, mit: Robbie Robertson, Martin Scorsese, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton, Taj Mahal, Ronnie Hawkins, Van Morrison, Dominique Robertson

Die Rockumentary zeigt die spannende, warnende und zugleich humorvolle Lebensgeschichte von Robbie Robertson. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Gründung einer der beständigsten Gruppen der Musikgeschichte – „The Band“. Eine bewegende Geschichte über Überwindung von Widerständen sowie über die Freundschaft zwischen fünf Männern, die zu Brüdern in der Musik werden und gemeinsam der Geschichte der populären Musik ihren Stempel aufdrücken. Der Dokumentarfilm verbindet nie gesehenes Archivmaterial mit berühmten Songs, Fotografien sowie Interviews mit Freunden und Weggefährten der Band wie Martin Scorsese, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton, Van Morrison und vielen mehr.

„Jedem, der zuhören wollte, hab ich gesagt, dass dieser Film mein Traumprojekt ist. In Wahrheit hätte ich gebettelt, geweint oder gestohlen, um bei dem Film Regie führen zu dürfen.” (Daniel Roher)

Weitere Informationen

Mit seiner Produktionsfirma Loud Roar Productions hat es sich der 26-jährige jüdische Kanadier Daniel Roher zur Hauptaufgabe gemacht, Filme über wichtige soziale Themen zu machen, die auf der ganzen Welt gesehen werden. GHOSTS OF OUR FOREST beschreibt den Kampf eines vertriebenen Hirtenfolks in Uganda. Premiere feierte der Dokumentarfilm 2017 auf dem Hot Docs Film Festival. SURVIVORS ROWE von 2015 war für den kanadischen Screen Award nominiert. Roher hat ein klares Auge für den Kern einer Geschichte, komplexe Bilder und ein gutes Gespür für anspruchsvolle Geschichten, die es wert sind, gesehen zu werden.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2015 SURVIVORS ROWE, 2017 GHOSTS OF OUR FOREST, 2019 ONCE WERE BROTHERS: ROBBIE ROBERTSON AND THE BAND

Kontakt
magnolia pictures
Marie Zeniter
USA
mzeniter@magpictures.com
www.magpictures.com