SWALLOW

11/18/2020 10:15 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United States 2019 96 min English original version

by Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Script: Carlo Mirabella-Davis, DoP: Katelin Arizmendi, Editor: Joe Murphy, Production: A Stand Alone, Syncopated Films, Producers: Mollye Asher, Mynette Louie, Carole Baraton, Frederic Fiore, Cast: Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Denis O’Hare

Hunter is a newly pregnant woman whose idyllic existence takes an alarming turn when she develops a compulsion to eat dangerous objects. As her husband and his family tighten their control over her life, she is forced to confront the dark secret behind her uncontrollable obsession. SWALLOW plays like a warped fairy tale, posing provocative questions about the expectations imposed on women, women’s control over their own bodies, and the psychologically damaging effects of patriarchal culture. Anchored by Bennett’s knockout performance, this bold and atmospheric film marks the feature directorial debut of Carlo Mirabella-Davis. Half of the crew were women and two-thirds of the cast are women, including the protagonist, Hunter.

“You should watch SWALLOW – even if you only peek careful through your fingers when the fantasic Haley Bennett swallows a very long and sharp nail.” (www.filmstarts.de)

Born and raised in New York City, Carlo Mirabella-Davis bought his first Super-8 camera at the age of 14 and spent his youth shooting underground film. He’s always been drawn to the mystique of psychological thrillers, subversive horror and dark comedies. He is an alumnus of the Sundance Screenwriters Lab and the Sundance Directors Lab and holds a MFA and a BFA in film production from NYU Tisch School of the Arts. He also teached filmmaking in middle and high school. His passion for storytelling brought him to the Dungeons and Dragons community, where he has written and run numerous campaigns. SWALLOW, inspired by the life of his grandmother, is his first feature film.

Awards (selection): Award for Best Actress to Haley Bennett (Tribeca Film Festival, New York/USA 2019), Award for Best Director and Best Screenplay to Carlo Marbella-Davis (Fantasia Film Festival, Montreal/Canada 2019), American Independet Award for Best Feature Film (Denver International Film Festival, USA 2019)

Contact
Koch Media GmbH
Manuel Ewald
Germany
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia.com

SWALLOW

18.11.2020 22:15 – Caligari FilmBühne

USA 2019 96 Min. OF

von Carlo Mirabella-Davis

Drehbuch: Carlo Mirabella-Davis, Kamera: Katelin Arizmendi, Schnitt: Joe Murphy, Produktion: A Stand Alone, Syncopated Films, Produzenten: Mollye Asher, Mynette Louie, Carole Baraton, Frederic Fiore, Darsteller: Haley Bennett, Austin Stowell, Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Denis O’Hare

Hunter ist jung, seit kurzem schwanger und lebt scheinbar ein Bilderbuchleben. Trotzdem entwickelt sie eine Zwangsstörung: Sie schluckt teilweise gefährliche Objekte – darunter auch Nägel und Batterien. Als ihr Ehemann und dessen Familie immer mehr die Kontrolle über ihr Leben übernehmen, ist Hunter gezwungen, sich der Ursache ihrer Obsession zu stellen. Ein mutiger Horrorfilm über Erwartungen an Frauen, deren Selbstbestimmung und die zerstörerischen Auswirkungen einer patriarchal geprägten Kultur. Im Zentrum des Langfilmdebüts steht die großartige Performance von Haley Bennett. Die Hälfte des Teams – Kamera, Szenenbild, Produktion eingeschlossen – sowie zwei Drittel des Casts sind Frauen.

„SWALLOW sollte man sich anschauen – selbst wenn man nur ganz vorsichtig durch seine Finger lugt, wenn die fantastische Haley Bennett einen zentimeterlangen, spitzen Nagel schluckt.“ (www.filmstarts.de)

Carlo Mirabella-Davis wuchs in New York City auf. Mit 14 Jahren kaufte er seine erste Super8-Kamera und verbrachte seine Jugend damit, Underground-Filme zu machen. Von Anfang an waren es düstere, psychologische Thriller, subversive Horrorfilme oder dunkle Komödien. Er absolvierte das Sundance Screenwriters und das Sundance Directors Lab und hat Abschlüsse als MFA und BFA in Filmproduktion der NYU Tisch School of the Arts. Zudem unterrichtete er Filmemachen an Schulen. Durch seine Leidenschaft fürs Geschichtenerzählen wurde er als Spielmacher Teil der Dungeons and Dragons Community. SWALLOW – inspiriert von seiner Großmutter – ist sein Spielfilmdebüt.

Preise (Auswahl): Preis für die beste Schauspielerin an Haley Bennett (Tribeca Film Festival, New York/USA 2019), Preis für beste Regie und bestes Drehbuch an Carlo Marbella-Davis (Fantasia Film Festival, Montreal/Kanada 2019), American Independent Award für den besten Langfilm (Denver International Film Festival, USA 2019)

Kontakt
Koch Media GmbH
Manuel Ewald
Deutschland
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia.com