THE EVENING HOUR

11/19/2020 05:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United States 2020 115 min English original version
German premiere

by Braden King

Script: Elizabeth Palmore, DoP: Declan Quinn, Editors: Andrew Hafitz, Joseph Krings, Production: Secretengine Film, Producers: Lucas Joaquin, Derrick Tseng, Braden King, Cast: Philip Ettinger, Cosmo Jarvis, Stacy Martin, Lili Taylor

Based on the novel by Carter Sickels, the film follows 30-year-old Cole Freeman, a beloved community nurse in rural Appalachia, who maintains a fragile equilibrium in his rural Appalachian town, looking after the old and infirm in the community while selling their excess painkillers to local addicts to help make ends meet. But when his old childhood friend Terry Rose returns, his world and identity are thrown into disarray. Faced with an impossible set of choices and increasing pressure from all sides, Cole is forced to take action to save the close-knit fabric of family, friendship, land and history that binds everything and everyone he loves.

More information

Braden King is a New York-based filmmaker, photographer and visual artist. His first feature film, HERE, starring Ben Foster and Lubna Azabal, premiered at the 2011 Sundance and Berlin Film Festivals. King’s work has been exhibited at international film festivals and won awards and honors, including the C.I.C.A.E. Prize at the 2011 Berlin International Film Festival and the NHK International Filmmakers Award at the 2008 Sundance Film Festival. Furthermore, he got grants from the Creative Capital, Rockefeller, Annenberg and Sloan Foundations.

Filmography (selection): 2011 HERE, 2014 THE FILM THAT BUYS THE CINEMA, 2020 THE EVENING HOUR

Contact
Film Constellation
Chloe Tai
United Kingdom
chloe@filmconstellation.com
www.filmconstellation.com

THE EVENING HOUR

19.11.2020 17:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

USA 2020 115 Min. OF
Deutschland-Premiere

von Braden King

Drehbuch: Elizabeth Palmore, Kamera: Declan Quinn, Schnitt: Andrew Hafitz, Joseph Krings, Produktion: Secretengine Film, Produzenten: Lucas Joaquin, Derrick Tseng, Braden King, Darsteller: Philip Ettinger, Cosmo Jarvis, Stacy Martin, Lili Taylor

Basierend auf der gleichnamigen Novelle von Carter Sickels, begleitet der Film den 30-jährigen Cole Freeman, einen beliebten Altenpfleger in den Appalachen. Die postindustrielle Kleinstadt hat schon bessere Zeiten gesehen, und die Region – von den Bergbauunternehmen ausgebeutet und verseucht – bietet den Menschen wenig außer dem Verwurzeltsein mit der Heimat. Cole, der sich fürsorglich um die Alten und Gebrechlichen in der Gemeinde kümmert, handelt mit den überschüssigen rezeptpflichtigen Schmerzmitteln, um seinen Schützlingen zu helfen, finanziell über die Runden zu kommen. Doch als sein alter Kindheitsfreund Terry Rose zurückkehrt, gerät seine Welt ins Wanken. Unter zunehmendem Druck von allen Seiten versucht Cole, das engmaschige Gefüge aus Familie, Freundschaft, Land und Geschichte zu retten, das alles und jeden verbindet, den er liebt.

Weitere Informationen

Braden King ist ein in New York lebender Filmemacher, Fotograf und bildender Künstler. Sein erster Spielfilm, HERE mit Ben Foster und Lubna Azabal in den Hauptrollen, hatte 2011 seine Premiere beim Sundance Film Festival und auf der Berlinale. Kings Werk wurde auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt sowie mit Preisen und Auszeichnungen bedacht, darunter mit dem C.I.C.A.E.-Preis bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Berlin 2011 und mit dem NHK International Filmmakers Award beim Sundance Film Festival 2008. Zudem erhielt er Stipendien der Creative-Capital-, Rockefeller-, Annenberg- und Sloan-Stiftungen.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2011 HERE, 2014 THE FILM THAT BUYS THE CINEMA, 2020 THE EVENING HOUR

Kontakt
Film Constellation
Chloe Tai
Großbritannien
chloe@filmconstellation.com
www.filmconstellation.com