THE WIND


11/20/2019 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

United States 2018 85 min English original version
German premiere

by Emma Tammi

Script: Teresa Sutherland, DoP: Lyn Moncrief, Editor: Alexandra Amick, Music: Ben Lovett, Producers: Christopher Alender, David Grove Churchill Viste, Production: Soapbox Films, Divide/Conquer, Cast: Caitlin Gerard, Julia Goldani Telles, Ashley Zukerman, Dylan Mctee, Miles Anderson

A supernatural thriller set in the Western frontier of the late 1800s. Lizzy, a settler, accompanies her husband Isaac in an effort to cultivate a desolate stretch of the American Western frontier. Living in an isolated house on the plains, her husband constantly away for work, and the growing demands of her domestic existence soon begin to take a toll on Lizzy who insists an evil presence is after her. When a couple of young newlyweds take up residence in a nearby cabin, Lizzy finds comfort in confiding her fears in the unhappily married Emma. But the couple’s own strange experiences only make her paranoia grow stronger. THE WIND stars Caitlin Gerard (INSIDIOUS: THE LAST KEY) as a plains-woman driven mad by the harshness and isolation of the untamed land.

More information: http://www.magpicturesinternational.com/thewind

Emma Tammi is a filmmaker based in Los Angeles, whose most recent
documentary films include ELECTION DAY (2017) and FAIR CHASE (2014). THE WIND marks her directorial debut of a narrative feature. Tammi is the Co-founder of Mind Hive Films, and has produced content for clients such as Anonymous Content, Apple, Universal Music, Vogue, and MTV. Born and raised in New York City, and the daughter of two actors, she grew up in the theatre world. Tammi has worked under a handful of great directors, including Robert Altman, Mel Brooks and Susan Stroman. She is a graduate of Wesleyan University.

Contact
Magnolia Pictures

Marie Zeniter
USA
MZeniter@magpictures.com
www.magpicturesinternational.com

THE WIND


20.11.2019 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

USA 2018 85 Min. OF
Deutschland-Premiere

von Emma Tammi

Drehbuch: Teresa Sutherland, Kamera: Lyn Moncrief, Schnitt: Alexandra Amick, Musik: Ben Lovett, Produzenten: Christopher Alender, David Grove Churchill Viste, Produktion: Soapbox Films, Divide/Conquer, Darsteller: Caitlin Gerard, Julia Goldani Telles, Ashley Zukerman, Dylan Mctee, Miles Anderson

Endlich: Ein Frauenwestern mit Anleihen beim Horrorfilm. Emma Tammi setzt das Schicksal der Ehefrauen, die ihren Männern um 1800 ins Niemandsland folgten, um Land zu kultivieren, in grandiose Landschaftsaufnahmen und beklemmende Bilder der Isolation um. Diese Umstände trieben viele Frauen in den Wahnsinn. Anleihen an klassische Westerneinstellungen wie THE SEARCHERS von John Ford sind unverkennbar. Unsere Heldin Lizzy strandet mit ihrem Ehemann in der Einöde. Während Isaac der Arbeit wegen fast nie zu Hause ist, wachsen bei ihr die Bedenken gegen ihr häusliches Umfeld. Als ein junges Paar in eine Hütte in der Nähe zieht, findet Lizzy Trost bei der unglücklich verheirateten Emma und versucht, sich ihren Ängsten zu stellen. Doch die seltsamen Erfahrungen des Paares verstärken ihre Paranoia noch.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.magpicturesinternational.com/thewind

Emma Tammi wurde als Tochter zweier Schauspieler in New York geboren und wuchs in der dortigen Theaterwelt auf. Sie studierte an der Wesleyan University und wirkte 1992 als Schauspielerin in DIE HERBSTZEITLOSEN und einigen Folgen von LAW & ORDER mit. Danach war sie Mitbegründerin der Produktionsfirma Mind Hive Films, die unter anderem Werbung für Apple, Universal Music, MTV und die Vogue sowie TV-Dokumentationen produzierte. Sie selbst führte Regie bei ihren Dokumentarfilmen FAIR CHASE (2014) und ELECTION DAY (2017). THE WIND ist ihr Spielfilmdebüt als Regisseurin, das bereits auf vielen US-amerikanischen und internationalen Festivals gezeigt wurde. exground filmfest präsentiert THE WIND als Deutschlandpremiere. Tammi lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles.

Kontakt
Magnolia Pictures

Marie Zeniter
USA
MZeniter@magpictures.com
www.magpicturesinternational.com