REFLECTION

11/18/2021 10:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Ukraine 2021 125 min Ukranian original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

Script: Valentyn Vasyanovych, DoP: Valentyn Vasyanovych, Editor: Valentyn Vasyanovych, Production: Arsenal Films, Forefilms, Producers: Iya Myslytska, Valentyn Vasyanovych, Vladimir Yatsenko, Anna Sobolevska, Cast: Roman Lutskyi, Nika Myslytska, Nadia Levchenko, Andriy Rymaruk, Ihor Shulha

Ukrainian surgeon Serhiy is captured by the Russian military forces in the conflict zone in Eastern Ukraine and while in captivity, he is exposed to horrifying scenes of humiliation, violence and indifference towards human life. After his release, he returns to his comfortable designer apartment and tries to find a purpose in life by rebuilding his relationship with his daughter and ex-wife. He learns how to be a human being again, how to be a father and help his daughter, who needs his love and support. Valentyn Vasyanovych, who not only wrote the screenplay and directed the film, but also did the camera work, tells in long takes about the consequences of war on the psyche of a nation and of each individual.

Valentyn Vasyanovych is a director, producer and DoP. He was born in 1971 in Zhytomyr/Ukraine and graduated from the Karpenko-Kary National University of Theatre, Film and TV as a cinematographer in 1995 and as a documentary filmmaker in 2000. In 2007, he finished his studies at the Wajda School in Poland. In 2012, he made his debut feature film, BUSINESS AS USUAL.

Filmography: 1998 KEEPSAKE, 2001 OLD PEOPLE, 2004 GEGEN DIE SONNE, 2006 LINE, 2007 LULLABY FOR FLUTE AND DRUM (all short films), 2012 BUSINESS AS USUAL, 2013 KREDENS, 2013 CREPUSCULE, 2017 BLACK LEVEL, 2019 ATLANTIS, 2021 REFLECTION

Contact

New Europe Film Sales
Jan NaszewskiPuławska 152/5
02-670 Warsaw
Poland
Phone: +48 600 173205
jan@neweuropefilmsales.com

REFLECTION

18.11.2021 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Ukraine 2021 125 Min. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

Drehbuch: Valentyn Vasyanovych, Kamera: Valentyn Vasyanovych, Schnitt: Valentyn Vasyanovych, Produktion: Arsenal Films, Forefilms, Produzenten: Iya Myslytska,Valentyn Vasyanovych, Vladimir Yatsenko, Anna Sobolevska, Darsteller: Roman Lutskyi, Nika Myslytska, Nadia Levchenko, Andriy Rymaruk, Ihor Shulha

Am unübersichtlichen Frontverlauf des Krieges in der Ostukraine gerät der Militärarzt Serhiy in russische Gefangenschaft. In einem schmutzigen Kerker wird er Opfer und Zeuge von brutalen Verhören, Folter und heimlicher Leichenentsorgung. Serhiy selbst kommt nach einiger Zeit aber wieder frei. In geradezu absurdem Kontrast zu seiner traumatischen Erfahrung steht das Leben, in das er zurückkehrt: oberflächlich keine Spur vom andauernden militärischen Konflikt im Alltag der Hauptstadt. Doch Dinge wie sein Designerapartment mit teurem High-End-Plattenspieler bedeuten ihm nicht mehr viel. Vielmehr versucht er zu seiner Ex-Frau und seiner Tochter wieder eine Beziehung aufzubauen. Valentyn Vasyanovych, der nicht nur das Drehbuch schrieb und Regie führte, sondern auch die Kameraarbeit übernahm, erzählt in langen Einstellungen über die Folgen des Kriegs auf die Psyche einer Nation und jedes Einzelnen.

Valentyn Vasyanovych ist ein ukrainischer Regisseur, Produzent und Kameramann, der 1971 Schytomyr geboren wurde. Er studierte zunächst Kamera und dann Dokumentarfilmregie an der Karpenko-Kary Universität für Theater, Film und Fernsehen. Anschließend beendete er im Jahr 2007 seine Ausbildung an der Wajda School in Polen. 2012 drehte er seinen Debütlangfilm BUSINESS AS USUAL. Er arbeitet sowohl an Dokumentar- als auch an Spielfilmen.

Filmografie: 1998 KEEPSAKE, 2001 OLD PEOPLE, 2004 GEGEN DIE SONNE, 2006 LINE, 2007 LULLABY FOR FLUTE AND DRUM (alles Kurzfilme), 2012 BUSINESS AS USUAL, 2013 KREDENS, 2013 CREPUSCULE, 2017 BLACK LEVEL, 2019 ATLANTIS, 2021 REFLECTION

Kontakt

New Europe Film Sales
Jan Naszewski
Puławska 152/5
02-670 Warschau
Polen
Telefon: +48 600 173205
jan@neweuropefilmsales.com