RETURNING TO REIMS

11/14/2021 03:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

France 2021 80 min French original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

by Jean-Gabriel Périot

Script: Jean-Gabriel Périot, DoP: Julia Mingo, Producer: Marie-Ange Lucian, with: Adèle Haenel (voice)

Based on a novel by Didier Eribon, the film tells the story of the French working class from the 1950s to today, while providing an intimate look at the political sphere. The era is brought to life on screen through an impressive mix of archival footage drawn from news reports as well as fiction and documentary films. Gifted Adèle Haenel leads us through this stirring history of political struggle.

“A fascinating oeuvre of memorial reflection and a virtuoso film in its assembling of very diverse illustrating archives (news, documentaries, fiction) that are always relevant, RETURNING TO REIMS (FRAGMENTS) is particularly effective in its more intimate first movement.” (www.cineuropa.org)

Jean-Gabriel Périot, born in France in 1974, has made several short films on the frontier of documentary, experimental, and fiction. He developed his own style of film editing that explores violence and history using film and photography archives. His films have received awards from several festivals around the world. His first feature length film, A GERMAN YOUTH, opened the Panorama section of the 2015 Berlinale before receiving multiple awards. RETURNING TO REIMS was selected for the program of the Director’s Fortnight at 2021 Cannes International Film Festival.

Filmography (selection): 2005 IES IRAE, 2006 EVEN IF SHE HAD BEEN A CRIMINA, 2012 THE DEVIL (all short films), 2015 GERMAN YOUTH, 2016 SUMMER LIGHTS, 2019 OUR DEFEAT, 2021 RETURNING TO REIMS

Contact
The Party Film Sales
9, rue Ambroise Thomas
75009 Paris
France
Phone: +33 1 40229215
sales@thepartysales.com
www.thepartysales.com

RETURNING TO REIMS

14.11.2021 15:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Frankreich 2021 80 Min. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Jean-Gabriel Périot

Drehbuch: Jean-Gabriel Périot, Kamera: Julia Mingo, Produzentin: Marie-Ange Lucian, mit: Adèle Haenel (Erzählstimme)

Der Film basiert auf dem Roman von Didier Eribon und erzählt die Geschichte der französischen Arbeiterklasse von Anfang der 1950er-Jahre bis heute und gewährt intime Einblicke in die Politik. In einer beeindruckenden Montage von Archivmaterial aus Reportagen sowie Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen bringt der Film diese Zeit auf die Leinwand. Die großartige Schauspielerin Adèle Haenel führt durch diese aufwühlende Geschichte der politischen Kämpfe in Frankreich.

„Ein faszinierendes Werk des Gedenkens und ein virtuoser Film in seiner Zusammenstellung sehr mannigfaltiger und immer relevanter Dokumente aus Bildarchiven wie Nachrichten sowie Szenen aus Dokumentar- und Spielfilmszenen, wobei RETURNING TO REIMS (FRAGMENTE) vor allem in seinem intimeren ersten Teil sehr wirkungsvoll ist.“ (www.cineuropa.org)

Jean-Gabriel Périot, 1974 in Frankreich geboren, hat mehrere Kurzfilme an der Schnittstelle von Dokumentar-, Experimental- und Spielfilm gedreht. Er entwickelte seinen eigenen Stil des Filmschnitts, der Gewalt und Geschichte anhand von Film- und Fotoarchiven erforscht. Seine Filme wurden auf mehreren Festivals weltweit ausgezeichnet. Sein erster abendfüllender Film, A GERMAN YOUTH, eröffnete die Panorama-Sektion der Berlinale 2015 und wurde ebenfalls mehrfach prämiert. RETURNING TO REIMS wurde für das Programm der Director’s Fortnight bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes 2021 ausgewählt.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2005 IES IRAE, 2006 EVEN IF SHE HAD BEEN A CRIMINA, 2012 THE DEVIL (alles Kurzfilme), 2015 GERMAN YOUTH, 2016 SUMMER LIGHTS, 2019 OUR DEFEAT, 2021 RETURNING TO REIMS

Kontakt
The Party Film Sales
9, rue Ambroise Thomas
75009 Paris
Frankreich
Telefon: +33 1 40229215
sales@thepartysales.com
www.thepartysales.com