BACURAU


11/17/2019 08:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brazil/France 2018 131 min English and Portuguese original version with German and English subtitles

by Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles

Script: Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles, DoP: Pedro Sotero, Musik: Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza, Producers: Emilie Lesclaux, Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt, Production: Cinemascópio Produções, SBS Productions, Cast: Bárbara Colen, Thomás Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Karine Teles, Sonia Braga, Udo Kier

The sun is intense, the children noisy. The community is mourning the loss of its eldest member. Bacurau, a little town out in the middle of nowhere, seems frozen in time. Then all at once the village vanishes from online maps everywhere. As if that weren’t unsettling enough already, strangers start showing up in the area too. Finally, there’s no doubt left: a group of gringos has come to hunt down the locals. Led by an eccentric daredevil (played magnificently by Udo Kier), they kill humans for fun. Alas, the residents of Bacurau know how to defend themselves.

“Science fiction. Western. An unpredictable film. High voltage and playful, engaging in meticulous dissection, only to hit full force again. Against Brazil’s extreme right-wing policies that sell off the land and turn the people over to killers.” (Amos Borchert, curator of the “Focus Brazil” section)

More information: www.sbs-distribution.fr/international-sales-bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho was born in 1968 in Recife/Brazil. After graduating college, he worked as a journalist. In the 1990s, he made several documentaries and experimental shorts. In 2012, he shot his debut feature, NEIGHBORING SOUNDS, in Recife. In 2016, AQUARIUS premiered in Cannes.

Born in 1980 in Recife/Brazil, Juliano Dornelles is a founding member of the creation group “Símio Filmes”. His partnership with Kleber Mendonça Filho started on the set of the short film ELETRODOMÉSTICA (2004). He was also the production designer of NEIGHBORING SOUNDS and AQUARIUS. As a director and writer he directed short films and video clips. His first feature film ATELIÊ DA RUA DO BRUM is currently in post production.

Awards (selection): Jury Award (Cannes Film Festival, France 2019), ARRI/OSRAM Award for Best International Film (Filmfest München, Germany 2019)

Contact
SBS Distribution
Edouard van Dijk
France
contact@sbs-distribution.fr
www.sbs-distribution.fr

BACURAU


17.11.2019 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brasilien/Frankreich 2018 131 Min. engl.-portug. Omd+eU

von Kleber Mendonça Filho und Juliano Dornelles

Drehbuch: Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles, Kamera: Pedro Sotero, Musik: Mateus Alves, Tomaz Alves Souza, Produzenten: Emilie Lesclaux, Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt, Produktion: Cinemascópio Produções, SBS Productions, Darsteller: Bárbara Colen, Thomás Aquino, Silvero Pereira, Karine Teles, Sonia Braga, Udo Kier

Die Sonne brennt. Die Kinder lärmen. Die Gemeinschaft betrauert die Dorfälteste. In Bacurau, einem kleinem Ort im Nirgendwo, scheint die Zeit stehen geblieben zu sein. Doch dann verschwindet das Dorf plötzlich von allen Karten im Internet. Als wäre das nicht schon beunruhigend genug, tauchen auch noch Fremde in der Gegend auf. Schließlich gibt es keinen Zweifel mehr: Eine Gruppe Gringos macht Jagd auf die Bewohner. Angeführt von einem exzentrischen Haudegen (grandios: Udo Kier), töten sie Menschen zur Unterhaltung. Doch die Betroffenen in Bacurau wissen sich zu wehren.

„Ein Science-Fiction. Ein Western. Ein unberechenbarer Film. Voltenreich und verspielt. Mal seziert er kleinteilig, dann schlägt er wieder hart zu. Gegen die ultrarechte Politik Brasiliens, die das Land verkauft und die Menschen zum Abschuss freigibt.“ (Amos Borchert, Kurator der Reihe „Fokus Brasilien“)

Weitere Informationen: www.sbs-distribution.fr/international-sales-bacurau

Kleber Mendonça Filho wurde 1968 in Recife/Brasilien geboren und lebt noch heute in seiner Heimatstadt. Nach dem Abitur arbeitete er als Journalist. In den 1990er-Jahren drehte er mehrere Dokumentar- und experimentelle Kurzfilme. 2012 debütierte er mit NEIGHBORING SOUNDS. 2016 lief AQUARIUS im Wettbewerb von Cannes.

Juliano Dornelles wurde 1980 in Recife/Brasilien geboren. Seine Zusammenarbeit mit Mendonça Filho begann beim Kurzfilm ELETRODOMÉSTICA (2004). Er war als Szenenbildner für NEIGHBORING SOUNDS und AQUARIUS tätig. Er ist Regisseur und Autor von Kurzfilmen und Videoclips. Sein erster Spielfilm ATELIÊ DA RUA DO BRUM ist derzeit in der Postproduktion.

Preise (Auswahl): Preis der Jury (Internationale Filmfestspiele von Cannes, Frankreich 2019), ARRI/OSRAM-Preis für den besten internationalen Film (Filmfest München 2019)

Kontakt
SBS Distribution
Edouard van Dijk
Frankreich
contact@sbs-distribution.fr
www.sbs-distribution.fr