CALYPSO


11/20/2019 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Brazil 2018 61 min Portuguese original version with English subtitles
German premiere

by Rodrigo Lima and Lucas Parente

Script & Editor: Rodrigo Lima, Lucas Parente, DoP: Pablo Hoffmann, Music: Guilherme Vaz, Producer: Fernanda Romero, Production: Filmes Soledade, Besta Fera Filmes, Cast: Julia Gorman, Walter Reis

Co production: Jura Filmes and TB Produções

CALYPSO translates into a free and experimental form the Fifth Canto of the Homeric Odyssey. Calypso and Ulysses experience dreamlike and erotic realities, hallucinatory recollections and magical rituals that prepare the hero’s departure. The Greek myth evokes, within the Brazilian landscape, powers that are carried through the narrative: the ancestry of Latin America, the ruins of the modern world and the praise for a tragic life.
CALYPSO uses archival images of the Island of the Sun in the 50s, adding another narrative layer to the movie, in reference to mythical women like Lilith, Eva and Luz del Fuego herself, who were considered witches and associated to the cult of the snake. The cinematography was constructed around references to paintings. The sound of the movie was based on contrasts between industrial songs and indigenous chants.

Rodrigo Lima primarily works as an editor of many contemporary Brazilian films like ARÁBIA (2017) and MORMAÇO (2018). He began working with Júlio Bressane in 2006 and since then has been the editor of all his films. In 2009, he directed the short film FOR EVA. THE MIRROR, his first feature as a director, had its world premiere in Locarno in 2015. In 2019, he co-directed NIETZSCHE SILS MARIA ROCHEDO DE SURLEJ with Bressane and Rosa Dias.

Lucas Parente dedicates himself to cinema and writing, performing projects with several artists and filmmakers. His films include the short film TAQUARIL MOONSTRUCK (2018) and SATAN SATIE OR MEMOIRS OF AN AMNESIAC (2015), a medium-length film co-directed by Juruna Mallon, selected for the Visions du Réel Film Festival (Switzerland, 2016).

Contact

Rodrigo Lima
Brazil
rodrigolz@yahoo.com.br

CALYPSO


20.11.2019 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Brasilien 2018 61 Min. OmeU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Rodrigo Lima und Lucas Parente

Drehbuch & Schnitt: Rodrigo Lima, Lucas Parente, Kamera: Pablo Hoffmann, Musik: Guilherme Vaz, Produzentin: Fernanda Romero, Darsteller: Julia Gorman, Walter Reis

Europäische und südamerikanische Mythen vermischen sich zu synkretistischer Mystik. Magie, Kannibalismus und Erotik treffen aufeinander. Steine, Wasser und Wind werden beseelt, vor der Kulisse riesiger Industrieanlagen, die die Bucht an der „Insel der Sonne“ in ein toxisches Wasteland verwandelt haben. Luz del Fuego, Schauspielerin, Schlangentänzerin und Begründerin des ersten Freikörperklubs Brasiliens, lebte hier viele Jahre, bevor sie brutal ermordet wurde. Archivmaterial dieser modernen, feministischen „Hexe“ verwebt sich mit intensiven Naturaufnahmen, performativen Elementen und einem atemberaubenden Sounddesign.

„CALYPSO ist ein eigenwilliges, filmisches Ritual und eine einzigartige Erfahrung, die so schnell nicht wiederkommt.“ (Amos Borchert, Kurator der Reihe „Fokus Brasilien“)

Rodrigo Lima ist hauptberuflich Cutter für viele zeitgenössische brasilianische Filme wie ARÁBIA (2017) und MORMAÇO (2018). Seit 2006 arbeitet er mit Júlio Bressane zusammen und ist der Cutter all seiner Filme. 2009 drehte er den Kurzfilm FOR EVA. Seine erste Regiearbeit, THE MIRROR, hatte 2015 in Locarno seine Weltpremiere. 2019 drehte er gemeinsam mit Bressane und Rosa Dias NIETZSCHE SILS MARIA ROCHEDO DE SURLEJ.

Lucas Parente widmet sich dem Kino und dem Schreiben und arbeitet mit unterschiedlichsten Künstlern und Filmemachern zusammen. Zu seinen Filmen gehören der Kurzfilm TAQUARIL MOONSTRUCK (2018) und SATAN SATIE OR MEMOIRS OF AN AMNESIAC (2015), in Co-Regie mit Juruna Mallon. Der Film wurde 2016 für das „Visions du Réel“-Filmfestival in der Schweiz ausgewählt.

Kontakt

Rodrigo Lima
Brasilien
rodrigolz@yahoo.com.br