ENTRANCED EARTH [TERRA EM TRANSE]


11/22/2019 03:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brazil 1967 114 min Portuguese original version with German subtitles

by Glauber Rocha

Script: Glauber Rocha, DoP: Luís Carlos Barret, Editor: Eduardo Escorel, Music: Sérgio Ricardo, Producers: Luís Carlos Barreto, Carlos Diegues, Raymundo Wanderley, Glauber Rocha, Cast: Jardel Filho, Paulo Autran, José Lewgoy, Glauce Rocha

ENTRANCED EARTH tells the story of a poet in the fictional land of Eldorado, who offers his services to various leaders and loses his life in the end. With feverish energy, at times unfettered camerawork and extraordinary image composition, this powerful film, full of irresistibly written dialogue and opulent scenery, manages to serve as a critical document of an era of dictatorship, ideology and corruption.

„Never before had a Brazilian film sketched such a complex image of societal contexts, and no other Brazilian director has since questioned himself as an artist and intellectual with the same honesty and passion or depicted his own contradictoriness.“ (Peter B. Schumann, publicist and Latin American expert)

Glauber Rocha was born in 1939 in Vitória da Conquista in the state of Bahia. He grew up in Salvador da Bahia, where he wrote his first film reviews at an early age. In 1955, he founded the theater group Jogralescas Teatralizações Poéticas, with which he sought to create a connection between theater and poetry. In 1958, he worked briefly as a police reporter, then as a film critic. In 1959, he studied law for two years in Rio. He left Brazil in 1971 in protest against the military dictatorship. During his years in exile, he lived in Havana, Rome, Paris, New York, and London. He returned to Brazil in 1976. He died of lung cancer in Rio de Janeiro in 1981.

Awards (selection): FIPRESCI Prize (Cannes Film Festival, France 1967), Grand Prix (Locarno Film Festival, Switzerland 1967)

Contact
Copyrights
Laila Kibel
Brazil
laila.kibel@copyrights.com.br
www.copyrights.com.br

ENTRANCED EARTH [TERRA EM TRANSE]


22.11.2019 15:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brasilien 1967 114 Min. OmU

von Glauber Rocha

Drehbuch: Glauber Rocha, Kamera: Luís Carlos Barret, Schnitt: Eduardo Escorel, Musik: Sérgio Ricardo, Produzenten: Luís Carlos Barreto, Carlos Diegues, Raymundo Wanderley, Glauber Rocha, Darstelller: Jardel Filho, Paulo Autran, José Lewgoy, Glauce Rocha

ENTRANCED EARTH entspinnt im fiktiven Land Eldorado seine Geschichte um den Dichter und Intellektuellen Paulo, der sich verschiedenen politischen Führern andient und am Ende sein Leben lässt. Mit fiebriger Energie, teils entfesselter Kamera und herausragenden Bildkompositionen schafft dieser kraftvolle Film in bestechend geschriebenen Dialogen und opulenter Ausstattung ein kritisches Dokument der Dynamiken von Diktatur, Ideologie und Korruption.

„Niemals zuvor hatte ein brasilianischer Film ein derart komplexes Bild gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhänge entworfen, und kein anderer brasilianischer Regisseur hat seither mit gleicher Ehrlichkeit und Leidenschaft sich selbst als Künstler und Intellektueller infrage gestellt und in seiner Widersprüchlichkeit abgebildet.“ (Peter B. Schumann, Publizist und Lateinamerika-Experte)

Glauber Rocha wurde 1939 in Vitória da Conquista/ Bahia geboren. Er wuchs in Salvador da Bahia auf, wo er sehr früh erste Filmkritiken schrieb. 1955 gründete er die Theatergruppe Jogralescas Teatralizações Poéticas, mit der er eine Verbindung zwischen Theater und Dichtung herzustellen versuchte. Kurzzeitig arbeitete er als Polizeireporter, im Anschluss daran als Filmkritiker. 1959 nahm er für zwei Jahre ein Jurastudium in Rio auf. Aus Protest gegen die Militärdiktatur verließ er 1971 Brasilien. Stationen der Emigration waren Havanna, Rom, Paris, New York und London, bevor er 1976 nach Brasilien zurückkehrte. 1981 starb er in Rio de Janeiro an Lungenkrebs.

Preise (Auswahl): FIPRESCI-Preis (Internationale Filmfestspiele von Cannes, Frankreich 1967), Großer Preis (Locarno Filmfestival, Schweiz 1967)

Kontakt
Copyrights
Laila Kibel
Brasilien
laila.kibel@copyrights.com.br
www.copyrights.com.br

Karten online kaufen

Klicken Sie auf die gewünschte Veranstaltung um zur Buchungsseite weitergeleitet zu werden

22.11.2019 15:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater