CAMORRA (A STORY OF STREETS, WOMAN AND CRIME) [UN COMPLICATO INTRIGO DI DONNE, VICOLI E DELITTI]

11/22/2020 12:00 noon – Caligari FilmBühne

Italy/United States 1985 105 min Italian original version with German and French subtitles

by Lina Wertmüller

Script: Lina Wertmüller, Elvio Porta, DoP: Giuseppe Lanci, Editor: Luigi Zitta, Production: Italian International Film, Producers: Fulvio Lucisano, Menahem & Yoram Golan, Cast: Àngela Molina, Harvey Keitel, Isa Danieli, Paolo Bonacelli, Elvio Porta

Former sex worker Annunziata now runs a hostel in Naples. When a former John becomes overly pushy, he meets an untimely end, dead as a doornail with a needle in his scrotum. The police begin to investigate, but they run up against a wall of silence. More deaths soon follow. The evidence at first seems to point to rival Camorra clans, that is, until a group of women claim credit for the murders. Lina Wertmüller assembles her characteristically lurid mix of characters in CAMORRA in the service of a portrait of Southern Italian society in the struggle against organised crime, drug trafficking and the patriarchy. An equally clever and entertaining farce about male vanity, combative females and a Naples that refuses to be kept down.

Realised in co-operation with the festival for Italian cinema Verso Sud, which together with Kinothek Asta Nielsen is planning an homage to Lina Wertmüller and the work of other female filmmakers from Southern Italy in Frankfurt am Main from late November.

Lina Wertmüller, born in 1928, began as an assistant to Federico Fellini (among others at LA DOLCE VITA). From 1963, she directed numerous films. From the 1970s, she gained international recognition with films like THE SEDUCTION OF MIMI (1972). Afterwards, she worked continuously for film and television. In 2004, Wertmüller made her last film to date.

Filmography (selection): 1972 THE SEDUCTION OF MIMI, 1973 LOVE AND ANARCHY, 1975 SEVEN BEAUTIES, 1985 CAMORRA (A STORY OF STREETS, WOMEN AND CRIME)

Awards (selection): Interfilm Award – Otto Dibelius Film Award (Berlin International Film Festival, Germany 1986), four Italian Film Awards “David di Donatello” (Academy of Italian Cinema, Rome/Italy 1986)

Contact
Park Circus Group
Mark Truesdale
United Kingdom
mark@parkcircus.com
www.parkcircus.com

CAMORRA [UN COMPLICATO INTRIGO DI DONNE, VICOLI E DELITTI]

22.11.2020 12:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Italien/USA 1985 105 Min. ital. Omd+frzU

von Lina Wertmüller

Drehbuch: Lina Wertmüller, Elvio Porta, Kamera: Giuseppe Lanci, Schnitt: Luigi Zitta, Produktion: Italian International Film, Produzenten: Fulvio Lucisano, Menahem & Yoram Golan, Darsteller: Àngela Molina, Harvey Keitel, Isa Danieli, Paolo Bonacelli, Elvio Porta

Die ehemalige Sexarbeiterin Annunziata betreibt ein Hotel in Neapel. Als ein ehemaliger Freier zudringlich wird, ereilt ihn der Tod. Er bleibt tot mit einer Spritze in den Hoden zurück. Die Polizei beginnt zu ermitteln, doch ihr steht eine Wand des Schweigens gegenüber. Dem ersten Toten folgen weitere. Die Spuren scheinen zunächst in Richtung rivalisierender Clans der Camorra zu weisen, doch dann bekennt sich eine Gruppe von Frauen zu den Taten. Lina Wertmüller stellt ihre gewohnt grelle Mischung von Charakteren in CAMORRA in den Dienst eines Gesellschaftsbilds Süditaliens im Kampf gegen organisiertes Verbrechen, Drogenhandel und Patriarchat. Eine ebenso kluge wie unterhaltsame Farce über männliche Eitelkeiten, kämpferische Frauen und ein Neapel, das sich nicht unterkriegen lässt.

In Kooperation mit dem italienischen Filmfestival Verso Sud, das Lina Wertmüller und der Arbeit von anderen Regisseurinnen aus dem Süden Italiens ab Ende November in Frankfurt am Main zusammen mit der Kinothek Asta Nielsen eine Hommage widmet.

Lina Wertmüller, geboren 1928, begann ihre Karriere als Assistentin bei Federico Fellini (u. a. bei DAS SÜSSE LEBEN) und begann, ab 1963 eigene Filme zu drehen. Ab den 1970er-Jahren erlangte sie internationale Anerkennung mit Filmen wie MIMI, IN SEINER EHRE GEKRÄNKT (1972). Danach arbeitete sie kontinuierlich für Film und Fernsehen. 2004 drehte sie ihren bislang letzten Film.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 1972 MIMI, IN SEINER EHRE GEKRÄNKT, 1973 LIEBE UND ANARCHIE, 1975 SIEBEN SCHÖNHEITEN, 1985 CAMORRA

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Interfilm Preis – Otto Dibelius Filmpreis (Internationale Filmfestspiele von Berlin 1986), vier italienische Filmpreise „David di Donatello“ (Italienische Filmakademie, Rom/Italien 1986)

Kontakt
Park Circus Group
Mark Truesdale
Großbritannien
mark@parkcircus.com
www.parkcircus.com