THE MASTER TOUCH [UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE]

11/16/2020 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italy/Germany 1972 112 min German version

by Michele Lupo

Script: Roberto Leoni, Nico Ducci, Michele Lupo, Mino Roli, DoP: Tonino Delli Colli, Editor: Antonietta Zita, Music: Ennio Morricone, Production: Paramount-Orion Filmproduktion, Verona Produzione, Producers: Manolo Bolognini, Marina Cicogna, Cast: Kirk Douglas, Giuliano Gemma, Florinda Bolkan, Wolfgang Preiss

After his release from a Hamburg prison, professional burglar Stephen agrees to mob boss Müller’s proposal that he attempt to break into a highly fortified bank building with the help of circus artist Marco. Alas, during preparations for his final big coup, Stephen begins to harbour doubts about the reliability of his partner and his wife’s faithfulness… One of the few Italian genre films set in Germany, THE MASTER TOUCH wins the viewer over with its technical precision, melancholy grandeur, nuanced characterisation and a spectacular car chase through Hamburg’s Reeperbahn, fish market and port.

In co-operation with Terza Visione – Festival of Italian Genre Film and in memory of recently departed cinema legends Kirk Douglas and Ennio Morricone.

Michele Lupo, born in Corleone/Italy in 1932, died in Rome in 1989, entered the film business as an assistant editor and after a short time received offers as an assistant director. In this function he was involved in over a dozen films. From 1962, he began making his own films, at first mainly the then very popular sandal films, and from the mid-1960s increasingly also Italo-Western, crime films and comedies. Between 1978 and 1982, he made five films with Bud Spencer, after which he retired from the cinema.

Filmography (selection): 1962 COLOSSUS OF THE ARENA, 1972 THE MASTER TOUCH, 1981 BUDDY GOES WEST

EIN ACHTBARER MANN [UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE]

16.11.2020 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italien/Deutschland 1972 112 Min. DF

von Michele Lupo

Drehbuch: Roberto Leoni, Nico Ducci, Michele Lupo, Mino Roli, Kamera: Tonino Delli Colli, Schnitt: Antonietta Zita, Musik: Ennio Morricone, Produktion: Paramount-Orion Filmproduktion, Verona Produzione, Produzenten: Manolo Bolognini, Marina Cicogna, Darsteller: Kirk Douglas, Giuliano Gemma, Florinda Bolkan, Wolfgang Preiss

Profi-Einbrecher Stephen willigt nach seiner Entlassung aus dem Hamburger Gefängnis in den Vorschlag von Gangsterboss Müller ein, mit dem Zirkusartisten Marco den Einbruch in ein technisch hochgerüstetes Bankhaus zu wagen. Doch bei den Vorbereitungen zu diesem letzten großen Coup kommen ihm Zweifel an der Zuverlässigkeit des Partners und der Treue seiner Frau … Einer der wenigen in Deutschland angesiedelten italienischen Genrefilme besticht durch handwerkliche Präzision, melancholische Grandezza, differenzierte Figurenzeichnung und eine spektakuläre Auto-Verfolgungsjagd zwischen Reeperbahn, Fischmarkt und Hafen.

In Kooperation mit Terza Visione – Festival des italienischen Genrefilms und in Erinnerung an die 2020 verstorbenen Kinogiganten Kirk Douglas und Ennio Morricone.

Michele Lupo, geboren 1932 in Corleone/Italien, verstorben 1989 in Rom, stieg als Schnittassistent ins Filmgeschäft ein und erhielt nach kurzer Zeit bereits Angebote als Regieassistent. In dieser Funktion war er an über einem Dutzend Filmen beteiligt. Ab 1962 drehte er auf eigene Faust, zunächst vor allem die seinerzeit sehr populären Sandalenfilme, ab Mitte der 1960er auch zunehmend Italowestern, Kriminalfilme und Komödien. Zwischen 1978 und 1982 drehte er fünf Filme mit Bud Spencer, danach zog er sich vom Kino zurück.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 1962 DIE GEWALTIGEN SIEBEN, 1972 EIN ACHTBARER MANN, 1981 EINE FAUST GEHT NACH WESTEN