SIMPLE WOMEN

11/20/2020 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italy 2019 85 min English, Italian and Romanian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Chiara Malta

Script: Chiara Malta, Sébastien Laudenbach, Marco Pettenello, DoP: Tudor Vladimir Panduru, Editors: Ioachim Stroe, Giogiò Franchini, Production: Vivo film, Rai Cinema, Producers: Marta Donzelli, Gregorio Paonessa, Cast: Jasmine Trinca, Elina Löwensohn

When Federica sees SIMPLE MEN in the cinema, featuring Elina Löwensohn, she feels connected to the actress in a magical way. Not least of all because she feels her own epilepsy has finally found expression on the screen. Years later, now a director herself, she has the chance to make a bio-pic with her idol. Alas, things quickly start to go sour in snowy Bucharest as Elina turns out to be everything but easy.

“It’s courageous for Malta to follow this non-conventional form of narration, and to enhance her reality with so many layers of real-life elements but embellishing them with magical realism.” (www.cineuropa.org)

More information

Chiara Malta was born in Rome and has been living in Paris since 2002. She graduated with a degree in Film, Theater and Media Studies and then attended the Ateliers Varan. Her documentary ARMANDO E LA POLITICA premiered as the opening night film at Turin Film Festival. She has written and directed many shorts, mixing fiction, animation and documentary. With LES YEUX DU RENARD, she has started a reflection on childhood, tinted with magical realism. SIMPLE WOMEN, which she developed as a Villa Medici resident artist in Rome, is her first feature film.

Filmography (selection): 2008 ARMANDO AND POLITICS, 2012 LES YEUX DU RENARD, 2017 HISTORIE DE STEFANO (both short films), 2019 SIMPLE WOMEN

Contact
The Match Factory
Valentina Bronzini
Germany
valentina.bronzini@matchfactory.de
www.the-match-factory.com

SIMPLE WOMEN

20.11.2020 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italien 2019 85 Min. engl.-ital.-rumän. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Chiara Malta

Drehbuch: Chiara Malta, Sébastien Laudenbach, Marco Pettenello, Kamera: Tudor Vladimir Panduru, Schnitt: Ioachim Stroe, Giogiò Franchini, Produktion: Vivo film, Rai Cinema, Produzenten: Marta Donzelli, Gregorio Paonessa, Darsteller: Jasmine Trinca, Elina Löwensohn

Als Federica SIMPLE MEN mit Elina Löwensohn im Kino sieht, fühlt sie sich auf magische Art verbunden. Nicht zuletzt, weil ihre eigene Epilepsie auf der Leinwand einen Ausdruck findet. Jahre später, inzwischen selbst Regisseurin, erhält sie die Möglichkeit, mit ihrem Idol einen biografischen Film zu drehen. Doch im verschneiten Bukarest laufen die Dinge bald gehörig aus dem Ruder, und Elina entpuppt sich als vieles, nur nicht als einfach.

„Ein komplex verwobenes, selbstironisches Filmjuwel, das verschiedene Facetten von Persönlichkeit, Geschichte und Realität mit viel Herzblut und Humor gekonnt ineinander übergehen lässt.“ (Amos Borchert, Kurator Fokus Italien)

Weitere Informationen

Chiara Malta wurde in Rom geboren und lebt seit 2002 in Paris. Sie studierte Film-, Theater- und Medienwissenschaften. Ihr Dokumentarfilm ARMANDO UND DIE POLITIK hatte seine Premiere als Eröffnungsfilm beim Filmfestival in Turin. Sie hat bei zahlreichen Kurzfilmen Regie geführt und dabei Fiktion, Animation und Dokumentation gemischt. Mit LES YEUX DU RENARD hat sie ihre Reflexion über die Kindheit begonnen, geprägt von magischem Realismus. SIMPLE WOMEN, den sie als Künstlerin in der Villa Medici in Rom entwickelte, ist ihr erster Spielfilm.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2008 ARMANDO UND DIE POLITIK, 2012 LES YEUX DU RENARD, 2017 HISTORIE DE STEFANO (beides Kurzfilme), 2019 SIMPLE WOMEN

Kontakt
The Match Factory
Valentina Bronzini
Deutschland
valentina.bronzini@matchfactory.de
www.the-match-factory.com