THE YOUNG OBSERVANT [L’APPRENDISTATO]

11/19/2020 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italy 2019 85 min Italian original version with German and English subtitles

by Davide Maldi

Script: Davide Maldi, DoP: Davide Maldi, Editor: Enrica Gatto, Music: Chiara Lee, Freddie Murphy, Production: Invisible Film, L’Altauro, Red House Produzioni, Producers: Davide Maldi, Fabio Scamoni, with: Luca Tufano, Mario Burlone, Lorenzo Carpani, Enrico Colombini

In their green blazers, all in a row, haircuts precisely styled down to the millimetre, stand the trainees in Davide Maldi’s second documentary film treating adolescence. The hotel business demands strict etiquette and accuracy from them – but the boys repeatedly tumble out of their roles. Luca in particular has trouble devoting his full attention to wine tasting or the painstaking art of fileting a pineapple.

“L’APPRENDISTATO is also a witty, entertaining pic. The constantly fidgeting Luca with his expressionless defiance becomes the trademark joke of this endearing film that hints at future accomplishments for Maldi in the vast grey-area of docu-fiction.” (www.variety.com)

More information

Davide Maldi was born in Rome in 1983. He graduated from the Roman School of Comics and began working as an illustrator and storyboard artist for cinema. He attended the Faculty of Performing Arts and Sciences at La Sapienza in Rome. Since 2001, he has worked as a director producing documentaries and social research works; he also collaborates with experimental theater companies and works for visual art projects. In 2014, his first feature film, FRASTUONO, was presented at the Torino Film Festival. In 2017, he founded “L’Altauro”, a cultural association with the aim of developing and producing cinematographic works and artistic projects.

Filmography (selection): 2011 SUL FIUME, 2014 FRASTUONO, 2019 THE YOUNG OBSERVANT


Contact
Davide Maldi
Italy
poorhouse.maldi@gmail.com

THE YOUNG OBSERVANT [L’APPRENDISTATO]

19.11.2020 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italien 2019 85 Min. Omd+eU

von Davide Maldi

Drehbuch: Davide Maldi, Kamera: Davide Maldi, Schnitt: Enrica Gatto, Musik: Chiara Lee, Freddie Murphy, Produktion: Invisible Film, L’Altauro, Red House Produzioni, Produzenten: Davide Maldi, Fabio Scamoni, mit: Luca Tufano, Mario Burlone, Lorenzo Carpani, Enrico Colombini

Aufgereiht in ihren grünen Blazern, die Frisuren auf den Millimeter genau vermessen, stehen sie da, die Auszubildenden in Davide Maldis zweitem Dokumentarfilm über die Zeit der Adoleszenz. Das Hotelgewerbe fordert von ihnen strenge Etikette und Akkuratesse. Aber die Jungs purzeln immer wieder aus ihren Rollen: Besonders Luca fällt es schwer, seine Konzentration ganz den Weinverkostungen und der Kunst des sorgsamen Ananas-Filetierens zu widmen.

„Maldis THE YOUNG OBSERVANT ist ein bestechendes Erlebnis, leicht kühl und doch sehr sinnlich. Ein Kino der fein geführten Striche, dem trotz der visuellen und erzählerischen Präzision eine lausbübische Offenheit innewohnt.“ (Amos Borchert, Kurator Fokus Italien)

Weitere Informationen

Davide Maldi wurde 1983 in Rom geboren. Er schloss die Comic-Schule in Rom ab und begann als Illustrator und Storyboard-Künstler für das Kino zu arbeiten. Er besuchte die Fakultät für Darstellende Künste und Wissenschaften der La-Sapienza-Universität. Seit 2001 arbeitet er als Regisseur und produziert Dokumentarfilme und sozialwissenschaftliche Arbeiten; er arbeitet zudem mit experimentellen Theatergruppen zusammen und für Projekte der visuellen Kunst. 2014 wurde sein erster Spielfilm FRASTUONO auf dem Turiner Filmfestival präsentiert. 2017 gründete er den Verein „L’Altauro“, um weitere künstlerische Projekte zu realisieren.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2011 SUL FIUME, 2014 FRASTUONO, 2019 THE YOUNG OBSERVANT


Kontakt
Davide Maldi
Italien
poorhouse.maldi@gmail.com