BALANGIGA: HOWLING WILDERNESS


11/20/2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 2017 120 min original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Khavn De La Cruz

Script: Jerry Gracio, Khavn De La Cruz, DoP: Albert Banzon, Editor: Carlo Francisco Manatad, Production: Kamias Overground, QCinema, Producer: Achinette Villamor, Khavn De La Cruz, Cast: Justine Samson, Pio Del Rio, Warren Tuaño

1901, Balangiga. A young boy flees town with his grandfather and their buffalo to escape the American occupation, the General Smith’s “Kill & Burn” order and the ensuing massacre. They stick to the outskirts and wilderness but find carnage wherever they go. On the way they find a toddler amid a sea of corpses. Together, the two boys struggle to survive in the howling wilderness.

The atrocious war in which the USA subjected the republic of the Philippines to become its colony is one of the first genozides in the 20th century – and nearly unbeknownst. Time to remember! Khavn Dela Cruz: “The Philippine occupation was the first war in which American officers and troops were officially charged with what we would now call war crimes.” One of the army’s slogans: “Kill everyone over ten”.

Khavn Dela Cruz is the director of more than 150 films – 52 features and 115 short films. He is also the composer of 23 albums and author of seven books. Many of his poetry and fiction have won the Philippines’ foremost literary awards. Additionally, he served in the jury of various film festivals such as the Berlinale and Dok Leipzig. Furthermore, he exhibited at the MoMA, Guggenheim Museum and Tate Modern, among others. He lectured at the Berlinale Talent Campus and Goethe-Institut and curated programs for the Viennale and the Edinburgh International Film Festival. Selected retrospectives of his films were presented at the film festivals in Rotterdam, São Paulo, Oberhausen etc. His RUINED HEART (2014) was shot by Christopher Doyle.

Contact
Rapid Eye Movies
Thorsten Peters
Germany
dispo@rapideyemovies.de
www.rapideyemovies.de

BALANGIGA: HOWLING WILDERNESS


20.11.2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 2017 120 Min. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Khavn De La Cruz

Drehbuch: Jerry Gracio, Khavn De La Cruz, Kamera: Albert Banzon, Schnitt: Carlo Francisco Manatad, Produktion: Kamias Overground, QCinema, Produzent: Achinette Villamor, Khavn De La Cruz, Darsteller: Justine Samson, Pio Del Rio, Warren Tuaño

1901: Ein kleiner Junge, sein Großvater und ihr Wasserbüffel fliehen aus Balangiga, um den US-amerikanischen Besatzern unter General Smith und dem bevorstehenden Massaker nach dessen „Töten und Verbrennen“-Befehl zu entgehen. Zwar bewegen sie sich nur durch Wildnis, doch Tod und Verwüstung ist überall. Auf ihrem Weg finden sie ein Kleinkind zwischen Bergen von Leichen. Gemeinsam versuchen sie zu überleben und ziehen durch eine „heulende“ Wüstenei.

Der grauenvolle Krieg, in dem die USA die junge Republik der Philippinen zu ihrer Kolonie machten, ist einer der ersten Genozide im 20. Jahrhundert – und nahezu vergessen. Zeit, sich zu erinnern! Kavn Dela Cruz: „Die Besetzung der Philippinen war der erste Krieg, in dem amerikanische Offiziere und Truppen offiziell dessen angeklagt wurden, was heute als Kriegsverbrechen bekannt ist.“ Einer der Army-Slogan lautete: „Töte jeden über zehn.“

Khavn Dela Cruz hat bisher Regie geführt bei mehr als 150 Filmen: 52 Spiel- und 115 Kurzfilmen. Er hat 23 Alben komponiert und ist Autor von sieben Büchern. Zahlreiche seiner Werke erhielten die wichtigsten philippinischen Literaturpreise. Dela Cruz war zudem Juror bei vielen Filmfestivals, darunter die Berlinale und Dok Leipzig. Seine Werke wurden unter anderem ausgestellt im MoMA, im Guggenheim Museum und in der Tate Modern. Darüber hinaus unterrichtete er beim Berlinale Talent Campus und beim Goethe-Institut sowie kuratierte Programme für die Viennale und das Edinburgh International Film Festival. Retrospektiven seiner Werke liefen unter anderem auf den Filmfestivals in Rotterdam, São Paulo und Oberhausen. Sein RUINED HEART (2014) wurde vom Kameramann-Phänomen Christopher Doyle gefilmt.

Kontakt
Rapid Eye Movies
Thorsten Peters
Deutschland
dispo@rapideyemovies.de
www.rapideyemovies.de