DARK IS THE NIGHT [MADILIM ANG GABI ]


11/23/2018 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines/United States/France 2018 111 min Tagalog original version with German and English subtitles
European premiere

by Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr.

Script: Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr., DoP: Albert Banzon, Editor: Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr., Production: Swift Prods., A Deus Lux Mea Films, Producers: Didier Costet, Jun Sevilla, Cast: Gina Alajar, Phillip Salvador, Bembol Roco, Felix Roco

Amid radios blasting the Manila police chief’s edict of a blacklist of user-pushers circulating, and his abominable claim that he “won’t wait” till citizens have committed a crime to kill them, a pusher’s client-friends warn her that she’s on the list, because now that she wants out, the mob wants to stop her. However, what concerns her more is the disappearance of her womanizing pothead son.

The casualties of being guilty before proven innocent come across loud and clear in this film, a condemnation of Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte’s war on drugs. The film gains credibility as it demonstrates how drugs permeate ordinary lives in the Philippines, hence cannot be eradicated by some quick fix. The story draws out an intricate web of crime that holds the society in a tight grip.

Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr. was born 1978 in Makati City/Philippines. He graduated at the University of the City of Manila with a degree in Mass Communications. He started as a scriptwriter for films and television. His first film, DONSOL (2006) was a finalist in the 2006 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and was the Philippines’ official submission to the Academy Awards: “Best Foreign Language Film” category. Alix has become one of the promising and prolific Filipino fllmmakers with his films screened at various international A-film festivals including Cannes. In 2010, Alix has been listed by “The Hollywood Reporter” in its „Next Generation Asia“, which features the top-20 young entertainment personalities in the region deemed „the best and the brightest among their peers“. Alix also directed various TV programs.

Contact
Swift Productions
35 Avenue Franklin D. Roosevelt
75008 Paris
France
www.swiftprod.com

DARK IS THE NIGHT [MADILIM ANG GABI ]


23.11.2018 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen/USA/Frankreich 2018 111 Min. tagalog Omd+eU
Europapremiere

von Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr.

Drehbuch: Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr., Kamera: Albert Banzon, Schnitt: Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr., Produktion: Swift Prods., A Deus Lux Mea Films, Produzenten: Didier Costet, Jun Sevilla, Darsteller: Gina Alajar, Phillip Salvador, Bembol Roco, Felix Roco

Der Polizeichef von Manila verkündet eine Todesliste für Drogenabhängige und -händler. Er betont, er wolle nicht erst warten, bis jemand ein Verbrechen begangen habe, sondern schon vorher einschreiten. Eine Drogenhändlerin wird von ihren Kunden gewarnt, sie stehe auch auf der Liste, da sie die Drogenkarriere hinter sich lassen will und daher möglicherweise „singen“ könnte. Mehr besorgt sie aber das Verschwinden ihres süchtigen Sohnes.

Die Blutspur der Todesopfer, ohne Urteil schuldig gesprochen und gerichtet, ist unübersehbar. Ein deutliches Urteil über den vom philippinischen Präsidenten Duterte angezettelten Drogenkrieg. Der Film gewinnt an Glaubwürdigkeit, indem er zeigt, wie Drogen das alltägliche Leben der Menschen durchdringen. Daher kann es dafür auch keine einfache Lösung geben. Die Story macht das komplexe Verbrechensnetz sichtbar, das die ganze Gesellschaft eng umschließt.

Adolfo Boringa Alix, Jr., geboren 1978 in Makati City/Philippinen, machte seinen Abschluss in Massenkommunikation an der University of the City of Manila. Danach beginnt er als Drehbuchautor für Film und Fernsehen zu arbeiten. Mit seinem Debütfilm DONSOL (2006) nahm er am Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival teil, der zudem als offizieller Beitrag der Philippinen für die Academy Awards in der Sparte „Best Foreign Language Film“ nominiert wurde. Alix zählt zu den interessantesten und produktivsten Filipino-Filmemachern. Seine Werke wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen A-Festivals gezeigt, zum Beispiel in Cannes. 2010 zählte ihn das Branchenblatt „The Hollywood Reporter“ in seiner „Next Generation Asia“-Liste der Top 20 der jungen Regisseure der Region zu den „besten und vielversprechendsten unter ihresgleichen“. Alix führte auch Regie bei einigen Fernsehproduktionen.

Kontakt
Swift Productions
35 Avenue Franklin D. Roosevelt
75008 Paris
Frankreich
www.swiftprod.com