MANILA SKIES [HIMPAPAWID]


11/18/2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater
11/23/2018 20:15 – Programmkino Rex

Philippines/United States 2009 100 min original version with German and English subtitles

by Raymond Red

Script: Raymond Red, DoP: Raymond Red, Editor: Raymond Red, Jay Halili, Production: Pelikukared, Producers: Raymond Red, Roger Garcia, Cast: Raul Arellano, John Arcilla, Ronnie Lazaro

MANILA SKIES, based on a true story of a robbery going bloody awray and an insane escape plan, is ballsy filmmaking. Following the meandering odyssey of an introverted, possibly autistic young man one feels no immediate sympathy for. He’s intimidatingly, almost frighteningly intense for the length of the picture. We find ourselves exhausted, depressed, and at the same time exhilarated.

Red seems as obsessed with his themes, subject matter and storytelling style as ever. An inspiring, hilarious, tragic film – in equal measure. But the story is just a framework. The true star of the picture is Red’s incomparable photography and editing. His lenses work a lyrical transformation of even the most mundane details into the gorgeously textured tapestry of a city ever decaying, ever alive.

Raymond Red is an internationally acclaimed and multi-awarded director – one of the pioneering figures of Filipino alternative cinema. On his account are numerous outstanding experimental short films like ANG MAPAGKAILANMAN (1982) and ANG HIKAB (1984), strongly influenced by early German and Russian Expressionist cinema. The short film ANINO (2000) won him a “Palme d’Or” at Cannes International Film Festival, the first ever for a Filipino filmmaker. Other groundbreaking titles, setting technical standards in Philippine filmmaking as well, are MANILA SKIES (2009) and the Kafkaesque, retro-futuristic KAMERA OBSKURA (2012). His latest work is REBELS WITH A CAUSE (2015). He is also a much sought-after TV commercial and music video director.

Contact
Pelikulared
Raymond Red
Philippines
raymond@raymondred.com
www.raymondred.com

Short before

SHADOWS [ANINO]

MANILA SKIES [HIMPAPAWID]


18.11.2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater
23.11.2018 20:15 – Programmkino Rex

Philippinen/USA 2009 100 Min. Omd+eU

von Raymond Red

Drehbuch: Raymond Red, Kamera: Raymond Red, Schnitt: Raymond Red, Jay Halili, Produktion: Pelikukared, Produzenten: Raymond Red, Roger Garcia, Darsteller: Raul Arellano, John Arcilla, Ronnie Lazaro

MANILA SKIES ist echtes Draufgängerkino, basierend auf einer wahren Geschichte – einem Überfall, in blutigem Desaster endend, und einem irrsinnigen Fluchtplan. Wir folgen der mäandernden Odyssee eines introvertierten, vielleicht autistischen jungen Mannes, für den man schwerlich Sympathie empfinden kann. Aber der Film ist bedrohlich, fast erschreckend intensiv. So finden wir uns erschöpft, deprimiert, gleichzeitig aber auch beflügelt.

Red scheint besessen von seinen Stoffen und von seinem Erzählstil wie eh und je und dreht einen gleichenteils aufregenden, übermütigen wie tragischen Film. Doch die Story ist nur der Rahmen. Star des Films ist Reds unvergleichliche Kamera- und Schnittarbeit. Seine Objektive transformieren selbst die banalsten Details in einen umwerfenden, poetischen Bilderteppich einer Stadt in ständigem Verfall und Wiederaufstieg.

Raymond Red ist international gefeierter, vielfach ausgezeichneter Regisseur. Er gehört zu den Pionieren des alternativen Kinos. Auf sein Konto gehen zahlreiche herausragende Experimentalkurzfilme wie ANG MAPAGKAILANMAN (1982) und ANG HIKAB (1984), die stark beeinflusst sind vom frühen deutschen Expressionismus und vom russischen Avantgardekino. Für seinen Kurzfilm ANINO (2000) wurde er als erster philippinischer Regisseur mit einer „Goldenen Palme“ bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Cannes ausgezeichnet. Weitere wegweisende Titel, die technische Standards im philippinischen Kino setzten, sind MANILA SKIES (2009) und der kafkaeske, retrofuturistische KAMERA OBSKURA (2012). Zuletzt drehte er REBELS WITH A CAUSE (2015). Red ist zudem ein gefragter Regisseur von Werbespots und Musikvideos.

Kontakt
Pelikulared
Raymond Red
Philippinen
raymond@raymondred.com
www.raymondred.com

Vorfilm

SHADOWS [ANINO]