MIRACLE [HIMALA]


11/17/2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 1982 125 min original version with German and English subtitles

by Ishmael Bernal

Script: Ricardo Lee, DoP: Sergio Lobo, Editor: Ike Jarlego Jr., Production: Experimental Cinema of the Philippines, Producer: Charo Santos-Concio, Cast: Nora Aunor, Spanky Manikan, Veronica Palileo

The film is set in a provincial town, beset by poverty, disease, and harsh climate. One of its residents claims to have seen the Blessed Virgin Mary on a barren hill at the town’s outskirts. Soon she is associated with healing the sick. The news goes nationwide. Within no time mass media personal roams the town. Good publicity also brings good business. But a sudden change to disaster is looming.

If there was ever a film about the evils of blind faith, it is MIRACLE. Among films involving religion, it is unique in its brave stand against it. All the more remarkable coming from a country more rigid in its Catholicism than the Vatican. MIRACLE is arguably one of the best Filipino films ever made, and it made superstar Nora Aunor, icon of Philippine cinema, an actress of legendary proportions.

Multi-awarded Ishmael Bernal (1938–1996) was a filmmaker of the first order. He was a fierce anti-Marcos activist and a strong supporter of the Communist Party of the Philippines. His art extends beyond the confines of aesthetics. He managed to send his message across: to fight the censors, free the artists, give justice to the oppressed, and enlighten as well as entertain the audience. Noted for melodramas dealing with feminist and moral issues and many landmark Filipino films such as NUNAL SA TUBIG (1975) and MANILA BY NIGHT (1980), he was chosen by the Philippine Film Critics Association as the “Most Outstanding Filmmaker of the Decade 1971–1980”. Among the ten best films chosen by the critics, five were his. In 2001, he was declared a National Artist for Film of the Philippines.

Contact
ABS-CBN Film Archive
Mary Del Pilar
Eugenio Lopez Jr. Drive
Quezon City, 1103
Metro Manila
Philippines
+63 29 244 101
Mary_delPilar@abs-cbn.com
www.abs-cbn.com

MIRACLE [HIMALA]


17.11.2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 1982 125 Min. Omd+eU

von Ishmael Bernal

Drehbuch: Ricardo Lee, Kamera: Sergio Lobo, Schnitt: Ike Jarlego Jr., Produktion: Experimental Cinema of the Philippines, Produzent: Charo Santos-Concio, Darsteller: Nora Aunor, Spanky Manikan, Veronica Palileo

Ein armseliges Provinznest, rauem Klima unterworfen und von Krankheiten heimgesucht. Eine Bewohnerin gibt vor, der Jungfrau Maria auf einem der öden Hügel nahe des Ortes begegnet zu sein. Schon bald eilt ihr der Ruf voraus, Kranke und Geschlagene heilen zu können. Die Neuigkeit verbreitet sich im ganzen Land. Horden von Presseleuten rücken ein. Gute Kunde bringt gutes Geschäft. Doch sehr bald nimmt das Verhängnis seinen Lauf.

Wenn jemals einen Film über die Sünden blinden Glaubens gab, dann MIRACLE. Unter den vielen Filmen über Religion ist er einzigartig in seiner mutigen Gegenhaltung. Umso bemerkenswerter ist dies in einem Land, in dem der Katholizismus noch starrer gelebt wird als im Vatikan. Zweifellos zählt MIRACLE den besten philippinischen Filmen, und er machte den Superstar Nora Aunor, seit Jahrzehnten eine der Ikonen des philippinischen Kinos, zu einer Legende.

Der vielfach ausgezeichnete Ishmael Bernal (1938–1996) war ein Filmemacher der Extraklasse, ein wütender Anti-Marcos-Aktivist und Unterstützer der Kommunistischen Partei der Philippinen. Seine Kunst reicht weit über reine Ästhetik hinaus. Seine Hauptanliegen: Kampf den Zensoren, Befreiung der Künstler, Gerechtigkeit den Unterdrückten, Aufklärung und Unterhaltung des Publikums. Er ist bekannt für seine Melodramen, in denen feministische wie moralische Themen behandelt werden. Es entstanden Meilensteine des Filipino-Films wie NUNAL SA TUBIG (1975) und MANILA BY NIGHT (1980). Im Jahr 1980 kürte ihn die philippinische Filmkritikervereinigung zum herausragendsten Filmemacher der 1970er-Jahre. Fünf der – nach Kritikerurteil – zehn besten Filme in dieser Dekade drehte er. 2001 wurde Bernal zum philippinischen Nationalkünstler für Film ernannt.

Kontakt
ABS-CBN Film Archive
Mary Del Pilar
Eugenio Lopez Jr. Drive
1103 Quezon City
Metro Manila
Philippinen
+63 29 244 101
Mary_delPilar@abs-cbn.com
www.abs-cbn.com