SEASON OF THE DEVIL [ANG PANAHON NG HALIMAW]


11/25/2018 12:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Philippines 2018 234 min original version with German and English subtitles

by Lav Diaz

Script: Lav Diaz, DoP: Larry Manda, Editor: Lav Diaz, Production: Globe Studios, Epicmedia Productions, Producers: Bianca Balbuena, Bradley Liew, Cast: Piolo Pascual, Shaina Magdayao, Pinky Amador, Joel Saracho

Lav Diaz’s new film is a Filipino rock opera. The narrative and characters are a composite of real events and people from the period, the darkest period of Philippine history: the Marcos dictatorship. A military-controlled militia gang terrorizes a remote village and destroys the community. Corporal and intensely psychological terror is inflicted. A few souls fight, though, refusing to give up.

Multi-award-winning director Diaz’s definitions of both “rock” and “opera” are as idiosyncratic as everything else about his super-sized filmmaking. Its mood, aesthetic and historical outlook all place it unmistakably in Diaz’s creative universe. All of its historically grounded events can be read as an allegory on the possible future of the country and the development of a new murderous regime.

Lav Diaz was born in the province of Maguindanao, Mindanao, grown up in the midst of the gruesome civil war between Christians and Muslims. Already for close to two decades he is the most prominent and internationally most honored voice of Philippine cinema. His cinematic self-reinvention with BATANG WEST SIDE (2001) was the redefinition of standards in „slow cinema“. He is notorious and venerated for his temporal unbound philosophical statements in „real time“ filmmaking, sometimes stretching to more than ten hours like the stunning EVOLUTION OF A FILIPINO FAMILY (2004) which catapulted him into arthouse stardome. With his aesthetically rigorous cinema without compromises and his unflinching look at the socio-political past and present of the Philippines he defines a league of his own.

Contact
Films Boutique
Köpenicker Strasse 184
10997 Berlin
Germany
+49 (0)30 6953 7850
contact@filmsboutique.com
www.filmsboutique.com

SEASON OF THE DEVIL [ANG PANAHON NG HALIMAW]


25.11.2018 12:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Philippinen 2018 234 Min. Omd+eU

von Lav Diaz

Drehbuch: Lav Diaz, Kamera: Larry Manda, Schnitt: Lav Diaz, Produktion: Globe Studios, Epicmedia Productions, Produzenten: Bianca Balbuena, Bradley Liew, Darsteller: Piolo Pascual, Shaina Magdayao, Pinky Amador, Joel Saracho

Lav Diaz’ neuer Film ist eine Rockoper. Erzählung wie Charaktere setzen sich aus tatsächlichen Ereignissen zusammen, wie sie die Menschen in der dunkelsten Periode der philippinischen Geschichte, der Marcos-Diktatur, erleben mussten. Eine vom Militär kontrollierte Miliz terrorisiert einen abgelegenen Ort und zerstört das Gemeinwesen. Körperliche Gewalt und psychologischer Terror sind die Mittel. Doch einige geben nicht auf.

Was Regisseur Diaz unter „Rock“ und „Oper“ versteht, ist ebenso eigenwillig wie alles Übrige seines überdimensionierten Filmschaffens. Die Stimmung, die Ästhetik und die historische Perspektive stammen unmissverständlich aus Diaz’ kreativem Universum. All die geschichtlich verankerten Ereignisse lassen sich als Allegorie einer möglichen Zukunft der Philippinen und dem Entstehen eines neuen mörderischen Regimes verstehen. Ein Blick in den Abgrund.

Lav Diaz wurde in der Provinz Maguindanao in Mindanao geboren. Aufgewachsen ist er inmitten des Bürgerkriegs zwischen Chisten und Muslimen. Seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten ist er die prominenteste und international anerkannteste Stimme des philippinischen Kinos. BATANG WEST SIDE (2001) gilt als Meilenstein des „Slow Cinema“. Diaz ist berüchtigt und wird bewundert für seine zeitlich ungebundenen philosophischen Statements im Stil des „Real Time“-Kinos und Filmen, die sich gelegentlich über mehr als zehn Stunden erstrecken wie der überwältigende EVOLUTION OF A FILIPINO FAMILY (2004). Durch ihn wurde er zum Star des Arthouse-Kinos. Mit seinem ästhetisch kompromisslosen Kino und seinem unnachgiebigen Blick auf Vergangenheit und Gegenwart der Philippinen spielt er in einer ganz eigenen Liga.

Kontakt
Films Boutique
Köpenicker Straße 184
10997 Berlin
Deutschland
+49 (0)30 6953 7850
contact@filmsboutique.com
www.filmsboutique.com