THE JOURNEY OF STARS INTO THE DARK NIGHT [ANG PAGLALAKBAY NG MAG BITUIN SA GABING MADILIM]


11/19/2018 21:00 – Pupille Kino an der Uni Pupille e.V.
11/23/2018 15:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 2012 120 min original version with English subtitles
European premiere

by Arnel Mardoquio

Script: Arnel Mardoquio, DoP: Arnel Barbarona, McRobert Nacario, Editor: Arnel Barbarona, Production: Cinema One Originals Film Festiv, Producers: Dax Canedo, Conrad Cojoco, Cast: Fe GingGing Hyde, Glorypearl Dy, Irish Karl Monsanto, Perry Dizon

A boy is orphaned when his parents, Muslim freedom fighters who end up becoming bandits involved in kidnapping for ransom, are killed, leaving him with a knapsack full of dollars and a band of American and local troops trailing him. He finds help with his aunt and another woman, who decide to aid his escape. They try to ensure everybody’s safety in their passage away from their embattled home.

Mardoquio is showing only what needs to be shown, telling only what needs to be told, and trusting subtlety in its pursuit of accomplishing his advocacy. The film is visually arresting. Mardoquio displays his mastery over the spaces of the vast jungles and their surrounding fields. In a sense, he breaks the illusion of film and keeps his audience repeatedly aware: danger lurks outside his frames. A film to remember.

Arnel Mardoquio hails from Mindanao, battered for decades by a civil war between Muslims and Christians. He is a dedicated supporter of political and human rights advocacy, a fights for political emancipation. He upholds the noble motto of any civil rights movement: “Each one teach one”. This could be written on his coat of arms. And in arms he comes. His weapsons, though, are pen and camera. His informal trilogy HOSPITAL BOAT (2009), SHEIKA (2010) – which brought him to first international attention – and CROSSFIRE (2011) elaborate on those issues. THE JOURNEY OF STARS INTO THE DARK NIGHT (2012) addresses the government’s undeclared warfare against its own people in Mindanao and won numerous awards from several highly acclaimed local bodies.

Contact
Cinema One Originals Film Festival
Ronald Arguelles
Sgt. Esguerra Ave.
Quezon City, 1103
Metro Manila
Philippines
ronald_arguelles@abs-cbn.com
www.cablechannels.abs-cbn.com/cinemaone/

THE JOURNEY OF STARS INTO THE DARK NIGHT [ANG PAGLALAKBAY NG MAG BITUIN SA GABING MADILIM]


19.11.2018 21:00 – Pupille Kino an der Uni Pupille e.V.
23.11.2018 15:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 2012 120 Min. OmeU
Europapremiere

von Arnel Mardoquio

Drehbuch: Arnel Mardoquio, Kamera: Arnel Barbarona, McRobert Nacario, Schnitt: Arnel Barbarona, Produktion: Cinema One Originals Film Festiv, Produzenten: Dax Canedo, Conrad Cojoco, Darsteller: Fe GingGing Hyde, Glorypearl Dy, Irish Karl Monsanto, Perry Dizon

Ein Junge wird Waise, als seine Eltern, muslimische Freiheitskämpfer, die zu Lösegeld-Kidnappern wurden, getötet werden. Ihre Hinterlassenschaft sind ein Rucksack voller Dollars sowie US- und philippinische Soldaten, die ihm auf den Fersen bleiben. Hilfe findet er bei seiner Tante und ihrer Freundin. Gemeinsam begeben sie sich auf die Flucht. Doch, wohin sie sich auch wenden: Es gibt kein Entkommen vor den Häschern und einer Beobachtungsdrohne.

Mardoquio zeigt nur, was gezeigt werden muss, erzählt nur, was erzählt werden muss. Und vertraut dabei auf die subtile Vermittlung seiner Sache. Das gelingt ihm in faszinierender Weise. Er zeigt uns tiefe Dschungel und die offenen Flächen, die sie heute umgeben. Wichtiger aber: Er öffnet den Rahmen der filmischen Illusion und zeigt dem Zuschauer: Die wirkliche Gefahr lauert außerhalb des Filmbilds. Ein Film, der nachwirkt.

Arnel Mardoquio stammt aus Mindanao, geschunden seit Jahrzehnten durch einen Bürgerkrieg zwischen Muslimen und Christen. Er ist ein ausgewiesener Verfechter der Menschenrechte und Kämpfer für politische Emanzipation. Diese Flagge hält er aufrecht. Auf ihr steht das Motto jeder Bürgerrechtsbewegung: „Each one teach one“. Mardoquios informelle Trilogie HOSPITAL BOAT (2009), SHEIKA (2010) – die ihm große internationale Anerkennung brachte – und CROSSFIRE (2011) beziehen eindeutig Stellung zu diesen Problemen. THE JOURNEY OF STARS INTO THE DARK NIGHT (2012) thematisiert den nicht erklärten Krieg, den die Regierung gegen Teile der Bevölkerung in Mindanao führt, und erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen von hochangesehenen philippinischen Institutionen.

Kontakt
Cinema One Originals Film Festival
Ronald Arguelles
Sgt. Esguerra Ave.
Quezon City, 1103
Metro Manila
Philippinen
ronald_arguelles@abs-cbn.com
www.cablechannels.abs-cbn.com/cinemaone/