TOWN IN A LAKE [MATANGTUBIG]


11/19/2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 2015 87 min original version with German and English subtitles

by Jet Leyco

Script: Brian Gonzales, DoP: Tristan Sales, Editor: Brian Gonzales, Production: TBA Studios, Producer: E.A. Rocha, Fernando Ortigas, Cast: Amante Pulido, Lance Raymundo, Shielbert Manuel

When two high school girls are kidnapped and one of their defiled bodies is discovered, a quiet rural town in Batangas province is thrust into a media spectacle that puts everyone on trial, and a fisherman struggles to admitting as witness. The townsfolk has to struggle with shame. In an attempt to divert attention, they put up a festival by the lake, unknowing of a sleeping evil that has to come.

A criminal cataclysm is born out of the acceptance of a lesser evil to refrain from acknowledging a greater hidden evil. It’s all connected to men’s struggle over ghosts of colonialism and the inherent evil in his culture and society. TOWN IN A LAKE sharply critiques mainstream press coverage, a deeply corrupt police force, and a disturbingly uncaring government. It’s TWIN PEAKS in the Philippines.

Jet Leyco is a critically acclaimed Philippine filmmaker based in Manila. In 2009, he graduated cum laude at Far Eastern University. He gained filmmaking experience while doing internship for cinema masters Khavn Dela Cruz and Lav Diaz. He has directed a variety of short films and the feature films like EX PRESS (2011), LEAVE IT FOR TOMORROW FOR NIGHT HAS FALLEN (2013), and TOWN IN A LAKE (2015), each respectively competed at various film festivals like Rotterdam, London and New York. All of them respectively won numerous national and international acolades and awards. Furthermore, he teaches Film Appreciation at Asia Pacific Film Institute, and also provides digital content for advertising – which he thinks is a performance art.

Contact
Jet Leyco
Philippines
jetbleyco@gmail.com

Short before

MARGINS [PALUGID]

TOWN IN A LAKE [MATANGTUBIG]


19.11.2018 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 2015 87 Min. Omd+eU

von Jet Leyco

Drehbuch: Brian Gonzales, Kamera: Tristan Sales, Schnitt: Brian Gonzales, Produktion: TBA Studios, Produzent: E.A. Rocha, Fernando Ortigas, Darsteller: Amante Pulido, Lance Raymundo, Shielbert Manuel

Zwei Schülerinnen werden in einer Provinzstadt entführt. Von einer wird die geschändete Leiche entdeckt, die andere bleibt verschwunden. Die Medien stürmen herein und bauschen die Story zu einem Spektakel auf, das alle Bewohner unter Verdacht stellt und sie zwingt, mit Lug und Betrug zu kämpfen. Um die Aufmerksamkeit zu zerstreuen, organisieren sie ein Festival. Doch hierdurch beschwören sie noch mehr Unheil herauf, das im nahen See lauert.

Eine Flut von Verbrechen entspringt der Inkaufnahme kleinerer Übel, um über größere, verborgene Übel hinwegsehen zu können. Alles steht im Zusammenhang mit der Menschen Ringen mit den Gespenstern des Kolonialismus und dem Bösen, das ihrer Kultur und Gesellschaft innewohnt. TOWN IN A LAKE übt scharfe Kritik an den Medien, einer höchst korrupten Polizei und einer beunruhigend untätigen Regierung. Dies ist das TWIN PEAKS der Philippinen.

Jet Leyco ist ein gefeierter philippinische Filmemacher. Er lebt in Manila. 2009 machte er seinen Abschluss an der Far Eastern University mit cum laude. Erste Erfahrungen mit Film sammelte er als Praktikant bei Meistern des Fachs, bei Khavn Dela Cruz und Lav Diaz. Er drehte eine Reihe von Kurz- und Langfilmen, darunter EX PRESS (2011), LEAVE IT FOR TOMORROW FOR NIGHT HAS FALLEN (2013) und TOWN IN A LAKE (2015), die alle auf internationalen Festivals wie Rotterdam, London und New York ausgezeichnet wurden. Zudem unterrichtet er am angesehenen Asia Pacific Film Institute und liefert Content für digitale Werbung, die er als eigenständige Kunstform ansieht.

Kontakt
Jet Leyco
Philippinen
jetbleyco@gmail.com