YIELD


11/22/2018 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 2017 93 min original version with German and English subtitles
European premiere

by Victor „Onin“ Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu

DoP: Victor Delotavo Tagaro, Editor: Victor Delotavo Tagaro, Production: T.I.U. Films, Producers: Kazuko Inouye, Toshihiko Uriu, Cast: April Baron, Glady Mae Pabillio, Edralen Demo, Alex Enquillo

An ethnographic inquiry done over a period of five years, documenting the lives of nine children under the dire „Third World“ conditions. YIELD does away with the introductions. This is the status quo unto which the children are born into, an unyielding state of affairs wherein they thrive.Toil is translated as an algorithm of nameless faces, actions and spaces. A brisk parade of direct cinema.

It is a self-reflexive study on the inherent dilemma of representation as manipulation in documentary film. In belaboring child labor for an extended period, representing the exploited, itself, is exploitation. YIELD attempts to address this impasse, stripping the gaze off its fetishization of poverty. The brutal editing does not linger to capture drama. Its seeking answer in the pattern of lack.

Victor Delotavo Tagaro is a Filipino independent documentary filmmaker. He is one of the founding members of independent media outfits such as Tudla Productions (filmmakers focused on producing documentaries on the plight and struggle of marginalized sectors in urban centers), and Mayday Productions (an alternative multimedia collective which aims to promote the rights and welfare of Filipino workers). He is a cultural activist, and has helped found various art initiatives, projects and collaborations such as TABAKK (a hip-hop collective and network), and Kanto Artist-Run Space (an alternative gallery). He is also a freelance TV producer, director and cinematographer.

In 2018, YIELD won in the main categories of the most prestigeous Philippine film awards Gawad Urian and FAMAS.

Contact
T.I.U. Films
Room 113 Tower Ground TG (4/F)
Makati Cinema Square Tower,
Legaspi Village, Chino Roces, Makati City 1229
Metro Manila
Philippines
+63 02 551 8238
+63 02 807 8918
tiufilmsph@gmail.com

YIELD


22.11.2018 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 2017 93 Min. Omd+eU
Europapremiere

von Victor „Onin“ Delotavo Tagaro und Toshihiko Uriu

Kamera: Victor Delotavo Tagaro, Schnitt: Victor Delotavo Tagaro, Produktion: T.I.U. Films, Produzenten: Kazuko Inouye, Toshihiko Uriu, Darsteller: April Baron, Glady Mae Pabillio, Edralen Demo, Alex Enquillo

Eine ethnografische Studie über fünf Jahre. Sie dokumentiert die Lebensbedingungen von neun Kindern in der „Dritten Welt“. YIELD spart sich Einleitungen. Schufterei ist hier das Übersetzungsverfahren für namenlose Gesichter, Handlungen und Orte. Dies ist der Status quo, in den die Kinder hineingeboren werden – unnachgiebige Umstände, unter denen sie irgendwie aufwachsen müssen. Eine forsche Parade im Stil des Direct Cinema.

Eine selbstreflexive Studie über das inhärente Dilemma von Repräsentation als Manipulation im Dokumentarfilm. Durch die Bearbeitung von Kinderarbeit über einen langen Zeitabschnitt wird die Repräsentation dieser Ausgebeuteten selbst zur Ausbeutung. YIELD thematisiert dieses Dilemma und entledigt sich des fetischisierenden Blicks auf Armut. Die brutale Schnittbearbeitung verhindert eine Dramatisierung. Der Versuch einer Antwort durch Verknappungen.

Victor Delotavo Tagaro ist ein unabhängiger philippinischer Dokumentarfilmer. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der unabhängigen Tudla Productions (Filmemacher, konzentriert auf die Produktion von Dokus über Nöte und Kämpfe marginalisierter Gruppen in urbanen Zentren) und Mayday Productions (ein alternatives Medienkollektiv, bemüht um die Förderung der Rechte und des Wohls von Arbeitern). Tagaro ist Kulturaktivist und hat geholfen, verschiedene Initiativen und Gemeinschaftsprojekte zu gründen, darunter TABAKK (ein Hip-Hop-Kollektiv und -Netzwerk) und Kanto Artist-Run Space (eine alternative Galerie). Er arbeitet als freier TV-Produzent, Regisseur und Kameramann.

YIELD gewann 2018 in den Hauptkategorien die beiden bedeutendsten philippinischen Filmpreise, Gawad Urian und FAMAS.

Kontakt
T.I.U. Films
Room 113 Tower Ground TG (4/F)
Makati Cinema Square Tower,
Legaspi Village, Chino Roces, Makati City 1229
Metro Manila
Philippinen
+63 02 551 8238
+63 02 807 8918
tiufilmsph@gmail.com