MASS

11/16/2021 05:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

United States 2021 110 min Original version with German subtitles
Local premiere

by Fran Kranz

Script: Fran Kranz, DoP: Ryan Jackson-Healy, Editor: Yang-Hua Hu, Production: 7 Eccles Street, Circa 1888, 5B Productions, Producers: Fran Kranz, Casey Wilder Mott, JP Ouellette, Dylan Matlock, Cast: Kagen Albright, Michelle N. Carter, Martha Plimpton, Jason Isaacs, Reed Birney, Ann Dowd

Two married couples meet again for the first time in years, for a conversation in a church classroom. The facilitator pays meticulous attention to the smallest detail: the arrangement of the chairs, the placement of the tissue box, the window decorations. They are here to process a high school shooting, after all. The strength of this emotionally overwhelming chamber drama on guilt, anger, forgiveness and healing lies both in the big moments of the screenplay and the small episodes, when the existential aspects of grief rub up against the profane organisational questions of everyday life. And though the title may be interpreted as referring to a church service as well as a multi-victim shooting, in his feature-film debut as a director, actor Fran Kranz convincingly manages to avoid religious clichés while focussing his full attention on the authenticity of his characters.

Fran Kranz makes his debut as screenwriter and director with MASS. He is a Los Angeles/USA native who has been working professionally as an actor for more than 20 years. A Yale graduate, his most recent credits include THE LOUDEST VOICE and HOMECOMING. He is best known for his work in the film CABIN IN THE WOODS and has appeared on and off Broadway, most notably in Mike Nichols’ DEATH OF A SALESMAN.

Filmography: 2021 MASS

Contact
Kinology
Grégoire Graesslin
7–9 rue des Petites Ecuries
75010 Paris
France
festivals@kinology.eu

MASS

16.11.2021 17:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

USA 2021 110 Min. OmdU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Fran Kranz

Drehbuch: Fran Kranz, Kamera: Ryan Jackson-Healy, Schnitt: Yang-Hua Hu, Produktion: 7 Eccles Street, Circa 1888, 5B Productions, Produzenten: Fran Kranz, Casey Wilder Mott, JP Ouellette, Dylan Matlock, Darsteller: Kagen Albright, Michelle N. Carter, Martha Plimpton, Jason Isaacs, Reed Birney, Ann Dowd

Zwei Ehepaare begegnen sich nach Jahren zu einem Gespräch im Seminarraum einer Kirche. Die Koordinatorin achtet peinlich genau auf jedes Detail: die Anordnung der Stühle, den Platz der Taschentuchbox, die Dekoration der Fenster. Geht es doch darum, ein High-School-Attentat aufzuarbeiten. Die Stärke dieses emotional überwältigenden Kammerspiels über Schuld, Wut, Vergebung und Heilung liegt dabei sowohl in den großen Momenten des Drehbuchs als auch in den kleinen Episoden, wenn die Existenzialismen der Trauer auf profane, organisatorische Fragen der Alltäglichkeit treffen. Und steckt in MASS letztlich nicht nur das „mass shooting“, sondern auch die „holy mass“, so vermag Schauspieler Fran Kranz in seinem Langfilmdebüt als Regisseur doch überzeugend jedes religiöse Klischee zu vermeiden und sich ganz auf die Authentizität seiner Figuren zu konzentrieren.

Fran Kranz debütiert mit MASS als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur. Der aus Los Angeles/USA stammende Künstler arbeitet seit mehr als 20 Jahren professionell als Schauspieler. Der Yale-Absolvent war zuletzt unter anderem in THE LOUDEST VOICE und HOMECOMING zu sehen. Er ist vor allem für seine Rolle in dem Film CABIN IN THE WOODS bekannt und spielte am Broadway und außerhalb des Broadways, unter anderem in Mike Nichols’ DEATH OF A SALESMAN.

Filmografie: 2021 MASS

Kontakt
Kinology
Grégoire Graesslin
7–9 rue des Petites Ecuries
75010 Paris
Frankreich
festivals@kinology.eu