MY NAME IS LOPEZ

11/13/2021 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

United States 2021 98 min Original version with German subtitles
International premiere

DoP: Sam Ameen, Mark Putnam, Production: THE EBERSOLE HUGHES COMPANY, Producer: Joan Gand, Gary Gand, P. David Ebersole, Todd Hughes, with: Trini Lopez, Jim Brown, Robert Diaz, Joan Gand, Gary Gand, Billy Gibbons, Dave Grohl, Alison Martino, Shag, Oralee Walker, Dionne Warwick

Trinidad Lopez III was born to undocumented Mexican immigrants and grew up in a Dallas slum. His father, a singer and dancer himself, bought the eleven-year-old son a guitar for a prohibitive twelve dollars, despite all his poverty – he felt guilty about beating the son for hanging out on the streets. “A beating literally changed my life,” Lopez later recounted. He fought his way out of the ghetto with his guitar and, while performing in a Hollywood nightclub, was discovered by Frank Sinatra, who signed him to his record label. Lopez became a true U.S. rock ’n’ roll legend and an honorary member of Frank Sinatra’s “Rat Pack”, touring worldwide and starring in Hollywood movies and TV-shows. His version of “If I Had a Hammer” reached number one in 36 countries and was sold a million times.

P. David Ebersole and Todd Hughes, both accomplished writers, directors and producers, have pooled their unique creative collaboration in their production company THE EBERSOLE HUGHES COMPANY. Producing and writing credits include work with HBO, Showtime, IFC, Netflix, and VH1. The duo’s directing credits include Fox Television, Sundance Channel, Lifetime, indie features, shorts, and music videos. MY NAME IS LOPEZ is their sixth feature documentary.

Filmography (selection): 2011 HIT SO HARD, 2013 DEAR MOM, LOVE CHER, 2017 MANSFIELD 66/67 (ex 30), 2019 HOUSE OF CARDIN, 2021 MY NAME IS LOPEZ

Contact

SALES
ORLY RAVID
orly@thefilmcollaborative.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES
Joan Gand
jgand@gand.com

MY NAME IS LOPEZ

13.11.2021 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

USA 2021 98 Min. OmdU
Internationale Premiere

Kamera: Sam Ameen, Mark Putnam, Produktion: THE EBERSOLE HUGHES COMPANY, Produzenten: Joan Gand, Gary Gand, P. David Ebersole, Todd Hughes, mit: Trini Lopez, Jim Brown, Robert Diaz, Joan Gand, Gary Gand, Billy Gibbons, Dave Grohl, Alison Martino, Shag, Oralee Walker, Dionne Warwick

Trinidad Lopez III wurde als Sohn mexikanischer Einwanderer ohne Papiere geboren und wuchs in einem Elendsviertel von Dallas auf. Sein Vater, selbst Sänger und Tänzer, kaufte dem elfjährigen Sohn trotz aller Armut für unerschwingliche zwölf Dollar eine Gitarre – er hatte ein schlechtes Gewissen, weil er seinen Sohn wegen Herumhängens auf der Straße geschlagen hatte. „Eine Tracht Prügel hat buchstäblich mein Leben verändert“, erzählte Lopez später. Mit seiner Gitarre kämpfte er sich aus dem Ghetto und wurde bei einem Auftritt in einem Nachtclub in Hollywood von Frank Sinatra entdeckt, der ihn bei seiner Plattenfirma unter Vertrag nahm. Lopez wurde zu einer echten US-amerikanischen Rock-and-Roll-Legende und Ehrenmitglied von Frank Sinatras „Rat Pack“, ging weltweit auf Tournee und spielte in Hollywood-Filmen mit. Seine Version von „If I Had a Hammer“ erreichte in 36 Ländern Platz eins.

P. David Ebersole und Todd Hughes, beide erfahrene Autoren, Regisseure und Produzenten, haben ihre einzigartige kreative Zusammenarbeit in ihrer Produktionsfirma THE EBERSOLE HUGHES COMPANY gebündelt. Als Produzenten und Autoren arbeiteten sie unter anderem für HBO, Showtime, IFC, Netflix und VH1. Und das Duo führte unter anderem gemeinsam Regie für Fox Television, Sundance Channel, Lifetime, Indie-Filme sowie für mehrere Kurzfilme und Musikvideos. MY NAME IS LOPEZ ist ihr sechster Dokumentarfilm in Spielfilmlänge.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2011 HIT SO HARD, 2013 DEAR MOM, LOVE CHER, 2017 MANSFIELD 66/67 (ex 30), 2019 HOUSE OF CARDIN, 2021 MY NAME IS LOPEZ

Kontakt

SALES
ORLY RAVID
orly@thefilmcollaborative.org

ALLE ANDEREN ANFRAGEN
Joan Gand
jgand@gand.com