QUEEN OF GLORY

11/12/2021 07:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne
11/12/2021 10:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United States 2021 73 min Original version with German subtitles
Local premiere

Script: Nana Mensah, DoP: Cybel Martin, Editor: Cooper Troxel, Production: Cape Coast Media, Recurring Dreams, Producers: Jamund Washington, Kelley Robins Hicks, Baff Akoto, Cast: Nana Mensah, Meeko Gattuso, Oberon K.A. Adjepong, Adam Leon, Russell G. Jones, Anya Migdal

Ghanaian-American Sarah is all set to abandon her Ivy League doctoral
program to follow her married lover across the country when her mother dies suddenly and makes her the owner of a neighborhood bookshop in the Bronx. QUEEN OF GLORY is the story of Sarah Obeng, the brilliant child of Ghanaian immigrants, who is quitting her Ivy League PhD program to follow her married lover to Ohio. When her mother dies suddenly, she bequeaths her daughter a Christian bookstore in the Pelham Parkway section of the Bronx where Sarah was raised. A follow-up on the classic immigrant’s tale, QUEEN OF GLORY provokes laughter and empathy, as its heroine is reborn through her inheritance.

Nana Mensah is a Ghanaian-American writer, director, producer and actress. She stars in her directorial debut, QUEEN OF GLORY, which she also wrote and produced. It premiered in the U.S. Narrative Competition lineup at the Tribeca Film Festival 2021 as a part of their Juneteenth programming. Furthermore, she co-wrote and co-stared several series on HBO, Netflix and Amazon.

Filmography: 2021 QUEEN OF GLORY

Contact

Marie Zeniter
Magnolia Pictures International
international@magpictures.com

QUEEN OF GLORY

12.11.2021 19:00 – Caligari FilmBühne
12.11.2021 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

USA 2021 73 Min. OmdU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

Drehbuch: Nana Mensah, Kamera: Cybel Martin, Schnitt: Cooper Troxel, Produktion: Cape Coast Media, Recurring Dreams, Produzenten: Jamund Washington, Kelley Robins Hicks, Baff Akoto, Darsteller: Nana Mensah, Meeko Gattuso, Oberon K.A. Adjepong, Adam Leon, Russell G. Jones, Anya Migdal

Sarah könnte eine vielversprechende Uni-Karriere in New York einschlagen, aber sie plant fest, mit Kollege und Liebhaber Lyle nach Ohio zu gehen. Als überraschend ihre Mutter stirbt, sieht sie sich jedoch nicht nur mit der Organisation der Ashanti-Beerdigungsfeier und dem aus Ghana angereisten Vater konfrontiert, sondern auch mit dem christlichen Buchladen, den die Verstorbene hinterlassen hat. Dort trifft sie auf den loyalen Pitt, der seiner kriminellen Vergangenheit durch Jesus entkommen ist und das Andenken an ihre Mutter hochhalten will. Dumm nur, dass Sarah den Verkauf des Ladens schon insgeheim in die Wege geleitet hat. Nana Mensah brilliert im eigenen Regiedebüt selbst in der Hauptrolle und verleiht dadurch ihrer Geschichte um kulturelle Bindungen und Zugehörigkeit eine besondere Wärme und Authentizität.

Nana Mensah ist eine ghanaisch-amerikanische Autorin, Regisseurin, Produzentin und Schauspielerin. Sie spielt selbst die Hauptrolle in ihrem Regiedebüt QUEEN OF GLORY, das sie auch schrieb und produzierte. Der Film feierte seine Premiere in der U.S. Narrative Competition auf dem Tribeca Film Festival 2021 als Teil des Juneteenth-Programms. Sie ist zudem Co-Autorin und Darstellerin für mehrere Serien auf HBO, Netflix und Amazon.

Filmografie: 2021 QUEEN OF GLORY

Kontakt

Marie Zeniter
Magnolia Pictures International
international@magpictures.com
https://www.magnoliapictures.com/