SLOW MACHINE

11/15/2021 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

United States 2020 72 min Original version with German subtitles

by Paul Felten and Joe DeNardo

Script: Paul Felten, DoP: Joe DeNardo, Editor: Joe DeNardo, Ian Olds, Production: Ace Productions, Dialectic, Green Street Film Company, Producers: Kyle Hepp, Shrihari Sathe, Caroline von Kuhn, Alex Witherill, Cast: Stephanie Hayes, Chloë Sevigny, Scott Shepherd, Eleanor Friedberger, Ean Sheehy, Emily Tremaine

Lady meets cop, a flirt complete with blackout gaps. Suddenly, an escape to the slacking community of musician Eleanor Friedberger. Then a drink with acting colleague Chloë Sevigny. In between, dark memories intrude. In the rhythm of the narrative, the way the characters come together and drift apart, in the ephemeral nature of their fates lies a liberation from the conventions of ordinary cinema born of habit. As if the film itself concealed a bottomless pit of paranoia and trauma within its structure, it lunges forward in biting dialogue, stagnates, retreats and reinvents itself. It’s unsettling, and thoroughly entertaining, this creeping generator of the ambiguous.

Paul Felten was born and raised in Reno, Nevada/USA. A former director of the Olympia Film Festival, he is a Sundance Screenwriters Lab fellow and a recipient of The San Francisco Film Society’s Hearst Screenwriting grant. He also writes about film for “The Brooklyn Rail” and 4columns.org.

Joe DeNardo grew up in various Midwestern suburbs. He has been a member of the art-punk group “Growing” for 13 years and recently released the first album by “Ornament”, his solo project. He has directed and photographed various music films.

Filmography (together): 2020 SLOW MACHINE


Contact
Shrihari Sathe
ssathe@gmail.com

SLOW MACHINE

15.11.2021 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

USA 2020 72 Min. OmdU

von Paul Felten und Joe DeNardo

Drehbuch: Paul Felten, Kamera: Joe DeNardo, Schnitt: Joe DeNardo, Ian Olds, Produktion: Ace Productions, Dialectic, Green Street Film Company, Produzenten: Kyle Hepp, Shrihari Sathe, Caroline von Kuhn, Alex Witherill, Darsteller: Stephanie Hayes, Chloë Sevigny, Scott Shepherd, Eleanor Friedberger, Ean Sheehy, Emily Tremaine

Die Frau und der Polizist. Ein Flirt mit Leerstellen. Plötzlich die Flucht in die slackende Community der Musikerin Eleanor Friedberger. Dann ein Drink mit Schauspielkollegin Chloë Sevigny. Dazwischen die Schübe dunkler Erinnerungen. Im Rhythmus des Erzählens, dem Aufeinandertreffen und wieder Auseinanderdriften der Charaktere, dem Ephemeren ihrer Schicksale, liegt eine Befreiung von den Konventionen des gewöhnlichen, weil gewohnten Kinos. Als wäre dem Film selbst eine Klaviatur von Paranoia und Trauma-Effekten in die Struktur geschrieben, hechtet er sich in scharfen Dialogen vorwärts, stagniert, zieht sich zurück und erfindet sich neu. Beunruhigend ist das und überaus unterhaltsam – diese langsame Maschine des Uneindeutigen.

Paul Felten wurde in Reno, Nevada/USA, geboren und wuchs dort auf. Er ist ehemaliger Leiter des Olympia Film Festivals, Stipendiat des Sundance Screenwriters Lab und Empfänger des Hearst-Screenwriting-Stipendiums der San Francisco Film Society. Außerdem schreibt er über Film für „The Brooklyn Rail“ und 4columns.org.

Joe DeNardo wuchs in verschiedenen Vorstädten des Mittleren Westens auf. Er ist seit 13 Jahren Mitglied der Art-Punk-Gruppe „Growing“ und veröffentlichte kürzlich das erste Album seines Soloprojekts „Ornament“. Er führte Regie und machte die Kamera bei verschiedenen Musikfilmen.

Filmografie (gemeinsam): 2020 SLOW MACHINE


Kontakt
Shrihari Sathe
ssathe@gmail.com