ZOLA

11/13/2021 08:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne
11/15/2021 08:15 pm – Pupille Kino an der Uni Pupille e.V. Original version

United States 2020 90 min Original version with German subtitles

Script: Andrew Neel, Mike Roberts, Jeremy O. Harris, Janicza Bravo, DoP: Ari Wegner, Editor: Joi McMillon, Production: Killer Films, Gigi Films, Ramona Films, Producers: Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Gia Walsh, Kara Baker, Vince Jolivette, Elizabeth Haggard, Dave Franco, Cast: Taylour Paige, Riley Keough, Nelcie Souffrant, Nasir Rahim, Amelia Rose Monteagudo, Ari’el Stachel

A viral 148-tweet thread and an article in “Rolling Stone” magazine are the real-life satirical basis for this anarchic rollercoaster ride of a film about a two-woman team-up gone off the rails. Zola meeting Stefani is like a lit match meeting a fuse. Florida beckons to the duo, with promises of quick cash for risqué “pole dancing”. But why not take it up a notch or three? Together with Stefani’s boyfriend Derrek and a nameless “housemate”, the gang tears up hotel rooms and the night in general. The punchlines flow in an endless succession of tongue-in-cheek moments. Every now and then, Zola blinks in disbelief at all the self-empowerment, sex, sarcasm, style and the gravity of their inevitable downfall. Unfortunately, guilty by association is still guilty.

Janicza Bravo is based in Los Angeles/USA. She writes, but mostly directs. Her work in film has screened at festivals. Her work in television has played on cable and streaming. She hopes to one day go back to the theatre. And also make more visits to the beach. She rents and does not own. And drives a car she won in a sweepstakes.

Filmography: 2013 GREGORY GO BOOM, 2016 WOMAN IN THE DEEP, 2017 LEMON, 2020 ZOLA

Awards: Directors to Watch Award (Palm Springs International Film Festival, USA 2020)

Contact

filmbankmedia
Nick Varley
nick.varley@filmbankmediaconsultant.com
www.filmbankmedia.com

Short before

All FOR YOU

ZOLA

13.11.2021 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne
15.11.2021 20:15 – Pupille Kino an der Uni Pupille e.V. OF

USA 2020 90 Min. OmdU

Drehbuch: Andrew Neel, Mike Roberts, Jeremy O. Harris, Janicza Bravo, Kamera: Ari Wegner, Schnitt: Joi McMillon, Produktion: Killer Films, Gigi Films, Ramona Films, Produzenten: Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Gia Walsh, Kara Baker, Vince Jolivette, Elizabeth Haggard, Dave Franco, Darsteller: Taylour Paige, Riley Keough, Nelcie Souffrant, Nasir Rahim, Amelia Rose Monteagudo, Ari’el Stachel

Ein viraler 148-Tweet-Thread und ein Artikel des „Rolling Stone“-Magazins sind die realsatirische Grundlage dieser anarchischen Achterbahnfahrt über das Aufeinandertreffen zweier Frauen. Zola und Stefani: eine Lunte ans Feuerzeug. Das schnelle Geld winkt in Florida beim sexy Pole-Dance. Nur: Es geht immer auch ’ne Nummer schneller. Zusammen mit Stefanis Boyfriend Derrek und dem noch namenlosen „Mitbewohner“ crasht die Truppe die Hotels und die Nacht. Punchlines sprudeln, und ein Tongue-in-Cheek-Moment jagt den nächsten. Ab und an blinzelt Zola ungläubig über all die Selbstermächtigung, den Sex, den Sarkasmus, den Stil, die Seriosität des Untergehens. Nur: mit gefangen, mit gehangen.

Janicza Bravo lebt in Los Angeles/USA. Sie schreibt, führt aber vor allem Regie. Ihre filmischen Arbeiten wurden auf Festivals gezeigt. Ihre Fernseharbeiten liefen im regulären TV und auf Onlineplattformen. Sie hofft, eines Tages zum Theater zurückkehren zu können. Und auch mehr an den Strand zu gehen. Sie mietet und besitzt kein eigenes Haus. Und fährt ein Auto, das sie bei einem Glücksspiel gewann.

Filmografie: 2013 GREGORY GO BOOM, 2016 WOMAN IN THE DEEP, 2017 LEMON, 2020 ZOLA

Auszeichnungen: Directors to Watch Award (Palm Springs International Film Festival, USA 2020)

Kontakt

filmbankmedia
Nick Varley
nick.varley@filmbankmediaconsultant.com
www.filmbankmedia.com

Vorfilm

All FOR YOU