IMMORTAL [SUREMATU]

11/17/2020 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Estonia/Latvia 2019 61 min Russian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Ksenia Okhapkina

Script: Ksenia Okhapkina, Pauls Bankovskis, Kersti Uibo, DoP: Aleksandr Demyanenko, Artem Ignatov, Ksenia Okhapkina, Editor: Stijn Deconinck, Ksenia Okhapkina, Production: Vesilind OÜ, Producer: Riho Västrik

Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, though the prison doors were flung open at Apatiti, a former forced labour camp, the inmates chose to stay, settling there permanently. Their lives are still determined by a strict regimen that also extends to the children, who are born into the system. Without passing judgement and with a sensitive gaze, Ksenia Okhapkina’s documentary observes their everyday existence.

More information

Ksenia Okhapkina, born in 1989, graduated in 2012 from St. Petersburg State University of Film and TV in Russia. Since 2014, she has maintained a collaboration with Estonian producer Riho Västrik and his film studio “Vesilind”. Her first documentary, COME BACK FREE, a poetic film about life in a war-torn Chechen village, was produced there in 2016. It won the Special Jury Award at the International Documentary Film Festival in Amsterdam.

Filmography: 2016 COME BACK FREE, 2019 IMMORTAL

Contact
Vesilind OÜ
Riho Västrik
Estonia
riho.vastrik@vesilind.ee

IMMORTAL [SUREMATU]

17.11.2020 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Estland/Lettland 2019 61 Min. russ. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Ksenia Okhapkina

Drehbuch: Ksenia Okhapkina, Pauls Bankovskis, Kersti Uibo, Kamera: Aleksandr Demyanenko, Artem Ignatov, Ksenia Okhapkina, Schnitt: Stijn Deconinck, Ksenia Okhapkina, Produktion: Vesilind OÜ, Produzent: Riho Västrik

Nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion öffneten sich in Apatiti, einem ehemaligen Straf- und Arbeitslager, zwar die Gefängnistüren, doch die Insass(en)/-innen blieben und siedelten sich dort an. Ihr Leben wird noch immer von einer strengen Ordnung bestimmt, die auch die Kinder prägt, die von Geburt an Teil des Systems sind. Mit sensiblem Blick beobachtet Ksenia Okhapkinas deren Alltag zwischen Tanzchoreografien und Kriegsübungen in ihrem Dokumentarfilm.

Weitere Informationen

Ksenia Okhapkina, Jahrgang 1989, schloss 2012 ihr Studium an der Staatlichen Universität für Film und Fernsehen in Sankt Petersburg/Russland ab. Seit 2014 arbeitet sie eng mit dem estnischen Produzenten Riho Västrik und seinem Filmstudio „Vesilind“ zusammen. Hier wurde 2016 ihr erster Dokumentarfilm COME BACK FREE produziert, ein poetisches Werk über das Leben in einem kriegsgebeutelten tschetschenischen Dorf. Er gewann auf dem Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival Amsterdam den Spezialpreis der Jury.

Filmografie: 2016 COME BACK FREE, 2019 IMMORTAL

Kontakt
Vesilind OÜ
Riho Västrik
Estland
riho.vastrik@vesilind.ee