WHAT A COUNTRY! [KOJA JE OVO DRŽAVA]

11/16/2020 05:15 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Croatia/Serbia/Poland 2019 118 min Croatian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Vinko Brešan

Script: Mate Matišić, DoP: Branko Linta, Editor: Sandra Botica, Production: INTERFILM Production, Producer: Ivan Maloča, Cast: Krešimir Mikić, Lazar Ristovski, Nikša Butijer, Sebastian Cavazza, Daniel Olbrychski

Three Croatian public servants, three events. Stalked by suicidal ideation, a general struggles with his death wish. The interior minister locks himself inside a prison cell and refuses to come out. A gang of old men steal the coffin of the nation’s first president, Franjo Tuđman. The driving force behind these events are the aftereffects of the Yugoslav Civil War, for society as well as for the individual.

More information

Vinko Brešan was born in 1964 in Zagreb/Croatia as the son of screenwriter Ivo Brešan. He debuted in 1996 with the feature-length comedy drama HOW THE WAR STARTED ON MY ISLAND. Four years later his comedy MARSHAL TITO’S SPIRIT received the Best Director Award at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival. In 2003, he made the film WITNESSES, based on a novel by Jurica Pavičić, which received several awards at the Berlinale’s 2004 edition. His film THE PRIEST’S CHILDREN was also nominated for the European Film Award in 2013 in the “Comedy of the Year” section. Brešan also works as a theatre director.

Filmography (selection): 1996 HOW THE WAR STARTED ON MY ISLAND, 1999 MARSHAL TITO’S SPIRIT, 2003 WITNESSES, 2013 THE PRIEST’S CHILDREN, 2019 WHAT A COUNTRY!

Contact

TVP
Karolina Socha-Kalinowska
Poland
Karolina.Socha-Kalinowska@tvp.pl

WHAT A COUNTRY! [KOJA JE OVO DRŽAVA]

16.11.2020 17:15 – Caligari FilmBühne

Kroatien/Serbien/Polen 2019 118 Min. kroat. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Vinko Brešan

Drehbuch: Mate Matišić, Kamera: Branko Linta, Schnitt: Sandra Botica, Produktion: INTERFILM Production, Produzent: Ivan Maloča, Darsteller: Krešimir Mikić, Lazar Ristovski, Nikša Butijer, Sebastian Cavazza, Daniel Olbrychski

Drei kroatische Staatsdiener, drei Ereignisse: Ein suizidgefährdeter, hochdekorierter General kämpft mit seinem Todeswunsch. Der Innenminister schließt sich in eine Gefängniszelle ein und will nicht herauskommen. Eine Bande alter Männer stiehlt den Sarg des ersten Präsidenten Franjo Tuđman. Dabei sind es immer die Folgen des Jugoslawienkrieges, gesamtgesellschaftlich wie individuell, die das Geschehen vorantreiben.

Weitere Informationen

Vinko Brešan wurde 1964 in Zagreb/Kroatien als Sohn des Drehbuchautors Ivo Brešan geboren. Sein Debütspielfilm war 1996 das komödiantische Drama WIE DER KRIEG AUF MEINER INSEL BEGANN. Seine Komödie MARSCHALL TITOS GEIST erhielt 2000 beim Internationalen Filmfestival Karlovy Vary den Preis für die Beste Regie. 2003 setzte er, basierend auf einer Novelle von Jurica Pavičić, den Film WITNESSES um, der 2004 auf der Berlinale mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde. Sein Film GOTT VERHÜTE! wurde 2013 in der Kategorie „Komödie des Jahres“ für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert. Brešan arbeitet auch als Theaterregisseur.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 1996 HOW THE WAR STARTED ON MY ISLAND, 1999 MARSHAL TITO’S SPIRIT, 2003 WITNESSES, 2013 THE PRIEST’S CHILDREN, 2019 WHAT A COUNTRY!

Kontakt

TVP
Karolina Socha-Kalinowska
Polen
Karolina.Socha-Kalinowska@tvp.pl