ZANA

11/16/2020 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Kosovo/Albania 2019 97 min Albanian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Antoneta Kastrati

Script: Casey Cooper Johnson, Antoneta Kastrati, DoP: Sevdije Kastrati, Editors: Brett W. Bachman, Antoneta Kastrati, Michal Reich, Production: Crossing Bridges Productions, Producer: Casey Cooper Johnson, Cast: Adriana Matoshi, Astrit Kabashi, Fatmire Sahiti

Lume and her husband Ilir live with his mother in a village in Kosovo. The couple was once in love, but not much remains of their joyous past: war and the death of their daughter have left them deeply shell-shocked. Now, Lume’s mother-in-law, has been “encouraging” them to fill the family void with a new baby (preferably a boy!). Ilir and his mother put more and more pressure on Lume…

More information

Antoneta Kastrati is a Los Angeles/USA based filmmaker from Kosovo. After surviving the war in the late 1990s, she began making documentary films about the issues of post-war society with her sister, Sevdije. She has an MA in journalism and studied directing at the American Film Institute. Her most recent short SHE COMES IN SPRING premiered at Busan Film Festival. ZANA is her debut feature film.

Filmography: 2011 THE BUCKET IS EMPTY, 2012 ROBIN; LALEH, 2013 SHE COMES IN SPRING (all short films), 2019 ZANA

Contact
alief
Miguel Govea
Great Britain
miguel@alief.co.uk
www.alief.co.uk

ZANA

16.11.2020 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Kosovo/Albanien 2019 97 Min. alban. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Antoneta Kastrati

Drehbuch: Casey Cooper Johnson, Antoneta Kastrati, Kamera: Sevdije Kastrati, Schnitt: Brett W. Bachman, Antoneta Kastrati, Michal Reich, Produktion: Crossing Bridges Productions, Produzent: Casey Cooper Johnson, Darsteller: Adriana Matoshi, Astrit Kabashi, Fatmire Sahiti

Lume und ihr Ehemann Ilir leben mit dessen Mutter in einem Dorf im Kosovo. Das Paar war einmal verliebt und glücklich, doch seit dem Krieg und dem Tod ihrer Tochter ist davon wenig übrig geblieben. Besonders Lumes Schwiegermutter drängt darauf, die Leere in der Familie mit einem neuen Baby (am besten einem Jungen!) zu füllen. Mehr und mehr setzen sie und Ilir Lume unter Druck, die laut ihres Arztes kerngesund und fruchtbar ist.

Weitere Informationen

Antoneta Kastrati ist eine in Los Angeles/USA beheimatete Filmemacherin aus dem Kosovo. Nachdem sie dort in den späten 1990er-Jahren den Krieg überlebt hatte, begann sie, zusammen mit ihrer Schwester Sevdije, Dokumentarfilme über die Probleme der Nachkriegsgesellschaft zu drehen. Sie hat einen Master-Abschluss in Journalismus und studierte Filmregie am American Film Institute. Ihr letzter Kurzfilm SHE COMES IN SPRING feierte seine Premiere auf dem Busan Film Festival. ZANA ist ihr Langfilmdebüt.

Filmografie: 2011 THE BUCKET IS EMPTY, 2012 ROBIN; LALEH, 2013 SHE COMES IN SPRING (alles Kurzfilme), 2019 ZANA

Kontakt
alief
Miguel Govea
Großbritannien
miguel@alief.co.uk
www.alief.co.uk