A SON [BIK ENEICH – UN FILS]


11/16/2019 08:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Tunisia/France/Lebanon 2019 95 min Arabic original version with English subtitles

by Mehdi M. Barsaoui

Script: Mehdi M. Barsaoui, DoP: Antoine Héberlé, Editor: Camille Toubkis, Music: Amine Bouhafa, Producers: Habib Attia, Marc Irmer, Chantal Fischer, Production: Cinétéléfilms, Dolce Vita Films, 13 Productions, Cast: Sami Bouajila, Najla Ben Abdallah, Youssef Khemiri, Noomen Hamda

Summer 2011 in Tunisia: Fares, Meriem and their son Aziz are a modern family still leading a life of privilege six months after the fall of the Ben Ali regime. Towards the end of summer, the family travels to the south of the country to spend their holidays in the Tunisian desert. The journey south ends in disaster however when ten-year-old Aziz is wounded in an ambush. While his parents fight to save him, their relationship is threatened by events believed long forgotten. Aziz needs a liver transplant, but he is too weak to be moved, so Fares and Meriem wait for a donor in the modestly furnished hospital. A grinding phase of uncertainty sets in, opening up new and deep wounds.

More information: https://www.jour2fete.com/international-sales/a-son

Mehdi M. Barsaoui, born in 1984 and raised in Tunisia, is a graduate of the Higher Institute of Multimedia Arts of Tunis and holds a degree in film direction from DAMS of the University of Bologna in Italy. He has directed three short-films to date. His most recent, WE’RE JUST FINE LIKE THIS, won the Golden Muhr for Best Film in Dubai in 2016. His international career started with A SON, his debut feature-length film, selected at this year’s Venice Film Festival and Hamburg Film Festival.

Filmography (selection): 2016 WE’RE JUST FINE LIKE THIS (short film), 2019 A SON

Contact

Jour2Fête
Clémence Michalon
France
clemence.michalon@jour2fete.com
www.jour2fete.com

A SON [BIK ENEICH – UN FILS]


16.11.2019 20:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Tunesien/Frankreich/Libanon 2019 95 Min. arab. OmeU

von Mehdi M. Barsaoui

Drehbuch: Mehdi M. Barsaoui, Kamera: Antoine Héberlé, Schnitt: Camille Toubkis, Musik: Amine Bouhafa, Produzenten: Habib Attia, Marc Irmer, Chantal Fischer, Produktion: Cinétéléfilms, Dolce Vita Films, 13 Productions, Darsteller: Sami Bouajila, Najla Ben Abdallah, Youssef Khemiri, Noomen Hamda

Tunesien im Sommer 2011: Fares, Meriem und ihr Sohn Aziz sind eine moderne Familie, die auch sechs Monate nach dem Sturz des Ben-Ali-Regimes weiter ihr privilegiertes Leben führt. Ende des Sommers reist die Familie in den Süden des Landes, um ihren Urlaub in der tunesischen Wüste zu verbringen. Die Reise in den Süden endet jedoch in einer Katastrophe, als der zehnjährige Aziz in einem Hinterhalt angeschossen wird. Während die Eltern um das Leben ihres Sohnes kämpfen, droht ihre Liebe an lange vergessengeglaubten Ereignissen zu zerbrechen. Aziz benötigt eine Lebertransplantation, ist aber zu schwach für einen Transport. Daher warten Fares und Meriem in einem einfach ausgestatteten Krankenhaus auf eine Organspende. Eine zermürbende Phase der Ungewissheit bricht an, die neue, tiefe Wunden aufreißt.

Weitere Informationen: https://www.jour2fete.com/international-sales/a-son

Mehdi M. Barsaoui, Jahrgang 1984, studierte an der Hochschule der Künste (ISAMM) in Tunis und hat einen Abschluss in Filmregie am Fachbereich DAMS der Universität Bologna in Italien. Einer seiner Kurzfilme WE’RE JUST FINE LIKE THIS gewann 2016 auf dem Filmfestival in Dubai den „Golden Muhr“ für den besten Film. Sein Spielfilmdebüt A SON lief auf den diesjährigen Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Venedig und beim Filmfest Hamburg 2019.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2016 WE’RE JUST FINE LIKE THIS (Kurzfilm), 2019 A SON

Kontakt

Jour2Fête
Clémence Michalon
Frankreich
clemence.michalon@jour2fete.com
www.jour2fete.com