AND THEN WE DANCED [A ONDA SMO PLESALI]


11/19/2019 08:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Georgia/Sweden/France 2019 105 min Georgian original version with German subtitles

by Levan Akin

Script: Levan Akin, DoP: Lisabi Fridell, Editors: Levan Akin, Simon Carlgren, Producers: Mathilde Dedye, Julien Féret, Ketie Danelia, Production: French Quarter Film, Takes Film, Ama Productions, Cast: Levan Gelbakhiani, Bachi Valishvili, Ana Javakishvili, Giorgi Tsereteli

Merab, a student at Georgia’s national ballet academy in Tiflis, dreams of becoming a professional dancer. When Irakli joins his class, Merab first sees him as a potential rival who could steal a coveted spot in the regular ensemble Merab is hoping to fill. Alas, this competitive urge is soon overshadowed by a growing desire for the new dancer. However, in the homophobic environment of the school, with its promotion of conservative notions of masculinity, the two dancers are expected to keep their budding love a secret.

This compelling romantic dance drama from Swedish director Levan Akin was celebrated as a great discovery in Cannes and is Sweden’s official submission to the 2020 Academy Awards.

Born in 1979 with Georgian roots, Levan Akin hails from the southern Swedish city of Tumba. He initially worked as an assistant for film productions, including for Swedish television. His first award-winning short film DE SISTA SAKERNA (2008) was followed by his feature debut KATINKAS KALAS (2011), which was screened at New York’s Tribeca Film Festival. ZIRKEL (2015) was shown in the Generation section of the Berlinale. AND THEN WE DANCED is Akin’s first film in Georgian.

Awards (selection): Award for Best Film in the International Competition, Grand Jury Prize and Award for Best Actor to Levan Gelbakhiani (Odessa International Film Festival, Russia 2019), Award for Best Actor to Levan Gelbakhiani (Sarajevo Film Festival, Bosnia and Herzegovina 2019).

Contact
Salzgeber & Co Medien
Jürgen Pohl
Germany
pohl@salzgeber.de
www.salzgeber.de

Short before

WAY BACK

ALS WIR TANZTEN [A ONDA SMO PLESALI]


19.11.2019 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Georgien/Schweden/Frankreich 2019 105 Min. georg. OmU

von Levan Akin

Drehbuch: Levan Akin, Kamera: Lisabi Fridell, Schnitt: Levan Akin, Simon Carlgren, Produzenten: Mathilde Dedye, Julien Féret, Ketie Danelia, Produktion: French Quarter Film, Takes Film, Ama Productions, Darsteller: Levan Gelbakhiani, Bachi Valishvili, Ana Javakishvili, Giorgi Tsereteli

Merab ist Student an der Akademie des georgischen Nationalballetts in Tiflis. Sein größter Traum ist es, professioneller Tänzer zu werden. Als Irakli neu in die Klasse kommt, sieht Merab in ihm zunächst einen ernstzunehmenden Rivalen für den ersehnten Platz im festen Ensemble. Doch aus der Konkurrenz wird bald ein immer stärkeres Begehren. Im homophoben Umfeld der Schule, in der konservative Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit hochgehalten werden, wird von beiden Tänzern jedoch erwartet, dass sie ihre Liebe geheimhalten.

Das mitreißende Liebes- und Tanzdrama des schwedischen Regisseurs Levan Akin wurde in Cannes als große Entdeckung gefeiert und geht für Schweden ins Oscar-Rennen 2020.

Levan Akin, Jahrgang 1979, stammt aus der südschwedischen Stadt Tumba und hat georgische Wurzeln. Er arbeitete zunächst als Assistent für Filmproduktionen, etwa für das schwedische Fernsehen. Auf seinen ersten, preisgekrönten Kurzfilm DE SISTA SAKERNA (2008) folgte sein Langfilmdebüt KATINKAS KALAS (2011), der beim New Yorker Tribeca Film Festival gezeigt wurde. ZIRKEL (2015) lief in der Sektion „Generation“ der Berlinale. ALS WIR TANZTEN ist Akins erster Film in georgischer Sprache.

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Preis für den besten Film im Internationalen Wettbewerb, Großer Preis der Jury und Preis für den besten Darsteller an Levan Gelbakhiani (Odessa International Film Festival, Russland 2019), Preis für den besten Darsteller an Levan Gelbakhiani (Sarajevo Film Festival, Bosnien-Herzegowina 2019)

Kontakt
Salzgeber & Co Medien
Jürgen Pohl
Deutschland
pohl@salzgeber.de
www.salzgeber.de

Vorfilm

WAY BACK