ABOUT ENDLESSNESS [OM DET OÄNDLIGA]


11/16/2019 08:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Sweden/Germany/Norway 2019 76 min Swedish original version with German subtitles

by Roy Andersson

Script: Roy Andersson, DoP: Gergely Pelos, Editors: Johan Carlsson, Kalle Boman, Roy Andersson, Producers: Pernilla Sandström, Johan Carlsson, Philippe Bober, Håkon Øverås, Production: Roy Andersson Film Produktion, Essential Films, 4 1⁄2 Fiksjon, Cast: Jan-Eje Ferling, Martin Serner, Bengt Bergius, Tatiana Delaunay, Anders Hellström, Thore Flygel

With ABOUT ENDLESSNESS, Roy Andersson adds to his cinematic oeuvre with a reflection on human life in all its beauty and cruelty, its splendour and banality. We wander, dreamlike, gently guided by our Scheherezade-esque narrator. Inconsequential moments take on the same significance as historical events: a couple floats over a war-torn Cologne; on the way to a birthday party, a father stops to tie his daughter’s shoelaces in the pouring rain; teenage girls dance outside a cafe; a defeated army marches to a prisoner of war camp.

Simultaneously an ode and a lament, ABOUT ENDLESSNESS presents a kaleidoscope of all that is eternally human, an infinite story of the vulnerability of existence.

More information: https://www.royandersson.com/eng/endlessness/

Roy Andersson was born in 1943 in Gothenburg/Sweden. In 1969, he graduated from the Swedish Film School, and the following year his first feature, A SWEDISH LOVE STORY, won four prizes at the Berlin Film Festival. Following his second feature GILIAP, he took an extended break from filmmaking and became a successful commercials director. His advertising career enabled him to establish Studio 24 in Stockholm in 1981, allowing him to freely produce and make his films and where he would develop his unique style.

Filmography (selection): 1970 A SWEDISH LOVE STORY, 1975 GILIAP, 1987 SOMETHING HAPPEND (short film), 1991 WORLD OF GLORY (short film), 2000 SONGS FROM THE SECOND FLOOR, 2007 YOU, THE LIVING, 2014 A PIGEON SAT ON A BRANCH REFLECTING ON EXISTENCE, 2019 ABOUT ENDLESSNESS

Awards: Silver Lion for Best Director (Venice Film Festival, Italy 2019)

Contact
Neue Visionen Filmverleih
Torsten Frehse
Germany
frehse@neuevisionen.de
www.neuevisionen.de

Short before

APPLESAUCE [APFELMUS]

ÜBER DIE UNENDLICHKEIT [OM DET OÄNDLIGA]


16.11.2019 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Schweden/Deutschland/Norwegen 2019 76 Min. schwed. OmU

von Roy Andersson

Drehbuch: Roy Andersson, Kamera: Gergely Pelos, Schnitt: Johan Carlsson, Kalle Boman, Roy Andersson, Produzenten: Pernilla Sandström, Johan Carlsson, Philippe Bober, Håkon Øverås, Produktion: Roy Andersson Film Produktion, Essential Films, 4 1⁄2 Fiksjon, Darsteller: Jan-Eje Ferling, Martin Serner, Bengt Bergius, Tatiana Delaunay, Anders Hellström, Thore Flygel

Geführt von einem unsichtbaren Erzähler, blicken wir wie in Dioramen auf kleine Alltagsszenen, die aber die ganze Tragik und Komik der menschlichen Existenz offenbaren. Da gibt es beispielsweise den Priester, der seinen Glauben verloren hat und sich in seiner Verzweiflung an einen Psychiater wendet. Doch den beschäftigt ein ganz weltliches Problem: Er darf den Bus nach Hause nicht verpassen und kann daher leider auch nicht helfen.

Roy Andersson bleibt in ÜBER DIE UNENDLICHKEIT seinem Stil treu und dreht erneut große Tableaux vivants. Hier ist nichts dem Zufall überlassen. Mit Ausnahme einer Szene (wer erkennt’s?) wurde der komplette Film im Studio gedreht. Seine Sets werden sorgfältig geplant und über Monate gebaut, ausgestattet und beleuchtet. Das Ergebnis sind präzise Szenen von unvergleichbarer Poesie mit dem Anspruch auf Zeitlosigkeit.

Weitere Informationen: https://www.royandersson.com/eng/endlessness/

Roy Andersson wurde 1943 in Göteborg/Schweden geboren. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Hochschule des schwedischen Filminstituts im Jahr 1969 drehte er seinen ersten Langfilm, EINE SCHWEDISCHE LIEBESGESCHICHTE, der gleich vier Preise bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin gewann. Nach seinem zweiten Spielfilm GILIAP wendete sich Andersson dem Werbefilm zu. Seine überaus erfolgreiche Karriere in der Branche erlaubte es ihm, 1981 das Studio 24 in Stockholm zu gründen und dort frei und unabhängig seine Filme zu produzieren und seinen einzigartigen Stil zu entwickeln.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 1970 EINE SCHWEDISCHE LIEBESGESCHICHTE, 1975 GILIAP, 1987 SOMETHING HAPPENED (Kurzfilm), 1991 WORLD OF GLORY (Kurzfilm), 2000 SONGS FROM THE SECOND FLOOR, 2007 DAS JÜNGSTE GEWITTER, 2014 EINE TAUBE SITZT AUF EINEM ZWEIG UND DENKT ÜBER DAS LEBEN NACH, 2019 ÜBER DIE UNENDLICHKEIT

Auszeichnungen: Silberner Löwe für die beste Regie (Internationale Filmfestspiele Venedig, Italien 2019)

Kontakt
Neue Visionen Filmverleih
Torsten Frehse
Deutschland
frehse@neuevisionen.de
www.neuevisionen.de

Vorfilm

APFELMUS