BLACK KITE [DARI]


11/24/2018 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Afghanistan/Canada 2017 87 min Dari original version with English subtitles

by Tarique Qayumi

Script: Tarique Qayumi, DoP: Tarique Qayumi, Editor: Tajana Prka, Tarique Qayumi, Production: Aquatinter Films, Producer: Tajana Prka, Cast: Haji Gul Aser, Leena Alam, Zohra Nasim, Hamid Noorzay, Masuod Fanayee

Arian is a kite builder. He has loved the craft since the days of his childhood. Although it is forbidden in Afghanistan by the Taliban, Arian flies kites with his little daughter under the cover of night. With a mixture of animation and documentary cinema elements, the film tells of five turbulent decades in Afghanistan, as seen through the eyes of an unlikely hero. Featuring stirring camerawork and characterised by great authenticity.

Tarique Qayumi was born in Afghanistan and came to Canada as a refugee in 1983. He attended courses in creative writing at the University of British Columbia and graduated from UCLA. After completing his studies, in 2010 he began work at TOLO TV, the largest television company in Afghanistan, where he primarily realised documentary series. During his time in Afghanistan, he wrote screenplays, directed, and produced the Afghan version of SESAME STREET, among other things. After his eventual return to Canada, he was among the five candidates selected for the “NSI Corus Diverse TV Directing Program”.

Filmography (selection): 2010 THE BEST FRIEND, 2012 TARGETING, 2017 BLACK KITE

Contact
The Film Sales Company
Graham Fine
USA
graham.fine@filmsalescorp.com
www.filmsalescorp.com

Short before

THE BOX

BLACK KITE [DARI]


24.11.2018 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Afghanistan/Kanada 2017 87 Min. dari OmeU

von Tarique Qayumi

Drehbuch: Tarique Qayumi, Kamera: Tarique Qayumi, Schnitt: Tajana Prka, Tarique Qayumi, Produktion: Aquatinter Films, Produzent: Tajana Prka, Darsteller: Haji Gul Aser, Leena Alam, Zohra Nasim, Hamid Noorzay, Masuod Fanayee

Arian ist Drachenbauer. Er liebt dieses Handwerk seit seiner Kindheit. Obwohl von den Taliban in Afghanistan verboten, lässt er im Schutz der Nacht mit seiner kleinen Tochter Drachen steigen. Vermischt mit Animation und dokumentarischen Elementen, erzählt der Film von fünf turbulenten Jahrzehnten in Afghanistan, gesehen durch die Augen eines ungewöhnlichen Helden. Aufwühlend authentisch gefilmt.

Tarique Qayumi wurde in Afghanistan geboren und kam 1983 als Flüchtling nach Kanada. Er besuchte Kurse in Creative Writing an der University of British Columbia und machte seinen Abschluss an der UCLA. Nach seinem Abschluss 2010 nahm er seine Arbeit bei TOLO TV auf, der größten Fernsehgesellschaft in Afghanistan. Dort drehte er vor allem Doku-Serien. Während seiner Zeit in Afghanistan schrieb er Drehbücher, führte Regie und produzierte unter anderem die afghanische Version der SESAMSTRASSE. Zurück in Kanada gehörte er zu den fünf ausgewählten Kandidaten für das „NSI Corus Diverse TV Directing Program“.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2010 THE BEST FRIEND, 2012 TARGETING, 2017 BLACK KITE

Kontakt
The Film Sales Company
Graham Fine
USA
graham.fine@filmsalescorp.com
www.filmsalescorp.com

Vorfilm

THE BOX