DIAMANTINO


11/21/2018 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Portugal/France/Brazil 2018 92 min Portuguese original version with English subtitles

by Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt

Script: Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt, DoP: Charles Ackley Anderson, Editor: Raphaëlle Martin-Holger, Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt, Production: Les Films du Bélier, Syndrome Films, Maria & Mayer, Producers: Justin Taurand, Maria João Mayer, Daniel van Hoogstraten, Cast: Carloto Cotta, Cleo Tavares, Anabela Moreira, Margarida Moreira, Carla Maciel

Diamantino, the world’s greatest football player, from Portugal (!), is in a rough spot: after losing his instinctive feel for the ball he is forced to end his career in shame. In search of new meaning, the iconic former athlete embarks on an adventurous odyssey. The surprise hit from Cannes manages to pull off a heady moving picture mashup combining political satire, science fiction, queer glitter and football.

“Unconventional storytelling, adorable pets and topical references swell this affectionate yarn about a Cristiano Ronaldo-esque soccer star being co-opted into an anti-EU plot.” (Sight and Sounds, Sophie Monks Kaufman)

Gabriel Abrantes, born in North Carolina/USA in 1984, received his BA in Cinema and Visual Arts at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, in New York (2006). He also studied at l’École National des Beaux-Art in Paris. His short films have premiered at the Berlinale, Locarno Film Festival, the Venice Biennial, and the Toronto International Film Festival.

Daniel Schmidt, born in New Haven/USA in 1984, received a BFA in Film at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. His films have screened around the world including premieres at the Venice Biennale, Rotterdam Film Festival and the Berlinale.

DIAMANTINO is their first long feature film and was awarded the Grand Prize in the “Semaine de la Critique” section at Cannes in 2018.

Contact
Koch Media Home Entertainment
Manuel Ewald
Germany
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia.de

Short before

NIK SUMMER #1 #2 #3

DIAMANTINO


21.11.2018 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Portugal/Frankreich/Brasilien 2018 92 Min. port. OmeU

von Gabriel Abrantes und Daniel Schmidt

Drehbuch: Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt, Kamera: Charles Ackley Anderson, Schnitt: Raphaëlle Martin-Holger, Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt, Produktion: Les Films du Bélier, Syndrome Films, Maria & Mayer, Produzenten: Justin Taurand, Maria João Mayer, Daniel van Hoogstraten, Darsteller: Carloto Cotta, Cleo Tavares, Anabela Moreira, Margarida Moreira, Carla Maciel

Diamantino, der weltbeste Fußballpieler aus Portugal (!), hat ein Problem: Er verliert sein Gespür für den Ball und muss seine Kariere in Schande beenden. Auf Sinnsuche beginnt für die Ikone eine Odyssee, die ihn mit Neofaschismus, der Flüchtlingskrise, Gentechnik und irren Forschern konfrontiert. Der Überraschungshit aus Cannes vereint so einiges: Politiksatire, Sciencefiction, queeren Glitzer und Fußball. Ganz großes Kino!

„Obgleich mit all seinen Themen und Andeutung ganz und gar zeitgemäß, atmet der Film den fröhlichen und warmherzigen Geist der Anarchie der 1960er und 1970er Jahre, wie er einem im Gegenwartskino heute nur noch selten bis nie begegnet.“ (kinozeit.de, Joachim Kurz)

Gabriel Abrantes, 1984 in North Carolina/USA, geboren, studierte an The Cooper Union in New York und der L’ École National des Beaux-Arts in Paris. Seine Werke waren auf diversen internationalen Festivals zu sehen, wie der Biennale Venedig, der Berlinale, dem International Film Festival Toronto und dem Locarno Festival.

Daniel Schmidt, 1984 in New Haven/USA geboren, studierte an der Tisch School of the Arts in New York und in Yale. Seine Werke waren auf diversen internationalen Festivals zu sehen, wie der Biennale Venedig, dem Filmfestival Rotterdam und der Berlinale.

DIAMANTINO ist beider Spielfilmdebüt, das 2018 in Cannes mit dem Großen Preis in der Sektion „Semaine de la Critique“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

Kontakt
Koch Media Home Entertainment
Manuel Ewald
Deutschland
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia.de