FAMILY RELATIONS [RAVABETE KHANEVADEGI]

11/18/2020 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Iran 2019 77 min Persian original version with English subtitles

by Nasser Zamiri

Script: Nasser Zamiri, Neda Asadi, DoP: Nasser Zamiri, Editor: Nasser Zamiri, Neda Asadi, Production: Documentary and Experimental Film Center (DEFC), Producer: Nasser Zamiri, with: Haji Baba Koohi

An excellent study of authoritarianism. It has two equally important qualities: one is a deep respect for the victims and their suffering; the other is the courage to face the autocrat and give him every possibility to present his view. That the dictator demonstrates no need for defense and is thus denying any guilt and responsibility is probably the key feature of authoritarianism. Brilliant and breathtaking!

As the film unfolds, we understand there is good reason for this. It very well describes a society in which a group of people – grown-up men – treat other members of society – children and women – with the lightness of a cartoon: having absolute power over their existence, they enter and exit their subjects as they please. Most probably, this also represents the lightness well by which these men experience the world they live in, their relations with others, and their responsibilities; but, what about all other members of such society – women and children?

More information

Nasser Zamiri, born 1977 in Iran, started his artistic work in 1994 after going through the training of the Iran Association of Young Cinema. He shot his first film in 1998. So far, his films have been screened nationally and internationally, and have won many awards.

Filmography (selection): 2006 COZY PLACE FOR FISH, 2008 SKY WITHOUT PASSPORT, 2011 BITTER MILK, 2014 BA DIGARAN, 2019 FAMILY RELATIONS, 2020 INHAL

Contact
Documentary and Experimental Film Center
Leila Hosseini
Iran
int@defc.ir
www.defc.ir/en/Home

FAMILY RELATIONS [RAVABETE KHANEVADEGI]

18.11.2020 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Iran 2019 77 Min. OmeU

von Nasser Zamiri

Drehbuch: Nasser Zamiri, Neda Asadi, Kamera: Nasser Zamiri, Schnitt: Nasser Zamiri, Neda Asadi, Produktion: Documentary and Experimental Film Center (DEFC), Produzent: Nasser Zamiri, mit: Haji Baba Koohi

Eine Studie über den Autoritarismus, konkret über das sehr spezielle Verhältnis des iranischen Familienoberhaupts Haji Baba zu seinen Kindern. Dabei überzeugt der Film durch tiefen Respekt vor den Opfern und ihrem Leiden – und durch den Mut, dem Familientyrann gegenüberzutreten und ihm die Chance zu geben, seine Sicht der Dinge zu erzählen. Wobei dieser keinen Anlass sieht, sich zu verteidigen – und damit jede Schuld von sich weist. Atemberaubend!

„Besonders die verschrobene, schratige Art des Haji Baba, der die Welt nicht mehr versteht, scheint prädestiniert zur komischen Figur. Doch der Film vergisst hinter all den Anekdoten, die er erzählt, nie, dass allen Beteiligten die Lage sehr ernst ist. Er vergisst nicht eine größere Geschichte zu erzählen, darüber, was Familie ausmacht und sie anrichten kann, was Stolz und Ehrgefühl für generationenübergreifende Auswirkungen haben können und wie patriachale Strukturen auch immer Strukturen der Unterdrückung sind.“ (https://radiomephisto.de)

Weitere Informationen

Nasser Zamiri wurde 1977 im Iran geboren. Er startete seine Ausbildung in der Iran Association of Young Cinema. 1994 begann er mit seiner künstlerischen Arbeit und drehte 1998 seinen ersten Film. Seitdem haben seine Werke sowohl national als auch international Beachtung gefunden und viele Preise gewonnen.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2006 COZY PLACE FOR FISH, 2008 SKY WITHOUT PASSPORT, 2011 BITTER MILK, 2014 BA DIGARAN, 2019 FAMILY RELATIONS, 2020 INHAL

Kontakt
Documentary and Experimental Film Center
Leila Hosseini
Iran
int@defc.ir
www.defc.ir/en/Home