FARMING


11/23/2019 10:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United Kingdom 2018 107 min English original version with German subtitles

by Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje

Script: Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, DoP: Kit Fraser, Editor: Tariq Anwar, Music: Ilan Eshkeri, Producers: François Ivernel, Andrew Levitas, Michael London, Janice Williams, Production: Groundswell Productions, Logical Pictures, Metalwork Pictures, Montebello Productions, The Sundance Institute, Cast: Kate Beckinsale, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Damson Idris, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Cosmo Jarvis

With his debut as a director Nigerian-British actor Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje tells his own life story. “Farming” was common between 1960 and 1980: Nigerian families gave their children to white working-class families in order to save them a better life and education. Enitan grows up in London with a bunch of other forster children until his parents bring him home to Nigeria. In this foreign and strange country his experiences causes a traumatic shock to him and he stops talking. He is brought back to London where he gets in trouble with racists skin heads. In his wish to be “white” he joins the skinhead gang led by a white supremacist and becomes their feared leader. But his skin color is not forgotten and all ways of life seem desperate.

More information: https://www.hanwayfilms.com/farming-1

Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, born and raised in London/England, began his career as a model in Milan/Italy. He graduated with a masters degree in Law from London’s prestigious Kings College, before moving to Los Angeles to make the transition to acting. Fluent in several languages, including English, Italian, Yoruba and Swahili, he is best known for his roles as Simon Adebisi on OZ, Nykwana Wombosi in THE BOURNE IDENTITY, Kurse in THOR: THE DARK WORLD, Killer Croc in SUICIDE SQUAD, Mr. Eko on LOST, Malko in the fifth season of the series GAME OF THRONES and Dave Duerson in the biopic drama CONCUSSION. FARMING is his first feature film as a writer and director.

Filmography: 2018 FARMING

Awards (selection): The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film (Edinburgh International Film Festival, United Kingdom 2019)

Contact
Koch Media
Manuel Ewald
Germany
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia-film.de

FARMING


23.11.2019 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Großbritannien 2018 107 Min. OmU

von Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje

Drehbuch: Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Kamera: Kit Fraser, Schnitt: Tariq Anwar, Musik: Ilan Eshkeri, Produzenten: François Ivernel, Andrew Levitas, Michael London, Janice Williams, Produktion: Groundswell Productions, Logical Pictures, Metalwork Pictures, Montebello Productions, The Sundance Institute, Darsteller: Kate Beckinsale, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Damson Idris, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Cosmo Jarvis

Das Regiedebüt des nigerianisch-britischen Schauspielers Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje erzählt seine eigene Lebensgeschichte. „Farming“ war zwischen 1960 und 1980 üblich in Großbritannien. Um ihm ein besseres Leben und eine gute Ausbildung zu sichern, geben seine nigerianischen Eltern den Jungen Enitan in die Obhut einer weißen Familie in London. Doch eines Tages holen ihn die Eltern nach Nigeria: Für den Jungen Enitan ist es ein traumatischer Schock, in der Fremde mit völlig fremden Riten konfrontiert zu sein. Er verliert die Sprache und wird nach London zurückgebracht. Dort wartet der nächste Albtraum auf ihn: weiße Skinheads. Um sich vor rassistischen Übergriffen zu schützen, schließt er sich ihnen an und wird zu ihrem gefürchteten Anführer. Für ihn scheint ein selbstzerstörerisches Leben voller Kriminalität und Brutalität vorgezeichnet. Ohne Ausweg?

Weitere Informationen: https://www.hanwayfilms.com/farming-1

Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, geboren und aufgewachsen in London/England, begann seine Karriere als Model in Mailand/Italien. Er schloss sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften am renommierten Londoner Kings College mit einem Master ab, bevor er nach Los Angeles zog, um sich der Schauspielerei zu widmen. Er spricht mehrere Sprachen, darunter Englisch, Italienisch, Yoruba und Suaheli, und ist vor allem bekannt durch seine Rollen als Simon Adebisi in OZ, Nykwana Wombosi in THE BOURNE IDENTITY, Kurse in THOR: THE DARK WORLD, Killer Croc in SUICIDE SQUAD, Mr. Eko in LOST, Malko in der fünften Staffel von GAME OF THRONES und Dave Duerson im Biopic-Drama CONCUSSION. FARMING ist sein erster Spielfilm als Autor und Regisseur.

Filmografie: 2018 FARMING

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): „The Michael Power Award“ für den besten britischen Spielfilm (Edinburgh International Film Festival, Großbritannien 2019)

Kontakt
Koch Media
Manuel Ewald
Deutschland
m.ewald@kochmedia.com
www.kochmedia-film.de