FOR SAMA


11/18/2019 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

United Kingdom/Syrian Arab Republic 2019 95 min Arabic-English original version with German subtitles

by Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts

DoP: Waad al-Kateab, Music: Nainita Desai, Producers: Ben De Pear, Nevine Mabro (Channel 4 News), Siobhan Sinnerton (Channel 4), George Waldrum (ITN Productions), Raney Aronson-Rath, Dan Edge (FRONTLINE), Production: Channel 4 News & ITN Productions, with: Hamza al-Kateab, Sama al-Kateab, Waad al-Kateab

FOR SAMA is both an intimate and epic journey into the female experience of war. A love letter from a young mother to her daughter, the film tells the story of Waad al-Kateab’s life through five years of the uprising in Aleppo, Syria as she falls in love, gets married and gives birth to Sama – all while cataclysmic conflict rises around her. Her camera captures incredible stories of loss, laughter and survival as Waad wrestles with an impossible choice – whether or not to flee the city to protect her daughter’s life, when leaving means abandoning the struggle for freedom for which she has already sacrificed so much.

The film is the first feature documentary by Emmy Award-winning filmmakers Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts and won the Award for Best Documentary in Cannes 2019 and the Audience Award at Filmfest München/Germany.

More information: http://www.filmperlen.com/forsama.html

Waad al-Kateab was born and raised in Syria. While studying at the University of Aleppo, she was trained as a civilian journalist by NGOs during the Arab Spring and reported from her home country for Channel 4 News and Orient TV. Her INSIDE ALEPPO reports were followed by millions of viewers and her work was recognized with an Emmy Award.

Edward Watts studied Modern History at Oxford University in England. He’s done most of his work for television programs such as UNREPORTED WORLD (2007–2011) and DISPATCHES (2008–2015). For films such as ESCAPE FROM ISIS (2015) and OKSIJAN (2017), he’s spent time in the world’s crisis spots. His works have been recognized with an Emmy Award.

Contact
Filmperlen
Claudia Oettrich
Germany
info@filmperlen.com
www.filmperlen.com

Short before

THE KILLINGS [PATAYAN]

FOR SAMA


18.11.2019 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Großbritannien/Syrien 2019 95 Min. arab.-engl. OmU

von Waad al-Kateab und Edward Watts

Kamera: Waad al-Kateab , Musik: Nainita Desai, Produzenten: Ben De Pear, Nevine Mabro (Channel 4 News), Siobhan Sinnerton (Channel 4), George Waldrum (ITN Productions), Raney Aronson-Rath, Dan Edge (FRONTLINE), Produktion: Channel 4 News & ITN Productions, mit: Hamza al-Kateab, Sama al-Kateab, Waad al-Kateab

FOR SAMA ist ein intimer, persönlicher und zutiefst ergreifender Film über den syrischen Bürgerkrieg aus Sicht einer jungen Frau und Mutter. Der Film erzählt die Geschichte von Waad al-Kateabs Leben in Aleppo: angefangen von den Aufständen in der syrischen Stadt über die Liebe zu ihrem Mann, ihre Hochzeit bis hin zur Geburt ihrer Tochter Sama – und all das inmitten von Krieg. Mit ihrer Kamera liefert Waad al-Kateab unfassbare Bilder über Verlust, Freude und Überleben – und über allem schwebt die Frage: Soll sie aus der Stadt fliehen, um das Leben ihrer Tochter zu beschützen? Eine ebenso erschütterndes wie ergreifendes Dokument.

FOR SAMA ist der erste Dokumentarfilm der preisgekrönten Emmy-Award-Gewinner und Filmemacher Waad al-Kateab und Edward Watts. Ausgezeichnet in Cannes 2019 als bester Dokumentarfilm und Gewinner des Publikumspreises beim Filmfest München.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.filmperlen.com/forsama.html

Waad al-Kateab wurde in Syrien geboren, wo sie auch aufwuchs. Zunächst studierte sie an der Universität in Aleppo, zu Beginn des Arabischen Frühlings wurde sie jedoch als zivile Journalistin von Nichtregierungsorganisationen ausgebildet und berichtete aus ihrer Heimat für Channel 4 News und Orient TV. Ihre Reportagenreihe INSIDE ALEPPO wurde von einem Millionenpublikum verfolgt, und für ihre Arbeit erhielt sie einen Emmy Award.

Edward Watts studierte Moderne Geschichte an der Oxford University in England. Er arbeitet vor allem fürs Fernsehen und dreht Formate wie UNREPORTED WORLD (2007–2011) und DISPATCHES (2008–2015). Daneben begibt er sich mit Filmen wie OKSIJAN (2017) und ESCAPE FROM ISIS (2015) immer wieder in die Krisengebiete dieser Welt. Seine Werke wurden mit einem Emmy Award ausgezeichnet.

Kontakt
Filmperlen
Claudia Oettrich
Deutschland
info@filmperlen.com
www.filmperlen.com