HORMIGAS [EL DESPERTAR DE LAS HORMIGAS]


11/22/2019 06:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Costa Rica/Spain 2019 94 min Spanish original version with English subtitles

by Antonella Sudasassi Furniss

Script: Antonella Sudasassi Furniss, DoP: Andrés Campos, Editor: Raúl de Torres, Music: Sergio de la Puente, Producer: Amaya Izquierdo, Production: Betta Films, Cast: Daniella Valenciano, Leynar Gómez, Isabella Moscoso, Avril Alpízar

Isabel lives in a small wooden house in the Costa Rican countryside, with her two daughters and her husband. She spends most of the day attending to their needs and working on sewing orders. The little money she makes is kept in a box for her husband to manage. Her husband and family pressure her to have another child, the little boy that everyone is expecting. Between yarns and fabrics, Isabel fantasizes about designing her own clothes and opening a store. Her habits, the heat, her long hair, the insects that invade even the most intimate spaces, and the pressure of her family begin to distort Isabel’s imagination, forcing her to confront herself, her environment and her family.

“The filmmaker leads her audience on an exploration of society, family and female sexuality, presenting a beautifully intricate and yet recognisable story of growth and empowerment.” (theupcoming.co.uk)

More information: https://www.figafilms.com/el-despertar-de-las-hormigas

Antonella Sudasassi Furniss, born in San José/Costa Rica in 1986, has a Bachelor in Media Management and a degree in Audiovisual Production at the University of Costa Rica. During her professional development, she showed strong inclination for the visual arts. In 2015, she began the transmedia project HORMIGAS, which seeks to explore sexuality in the vital stages of women. In 2016, she premiered the project’s short film, LA NIÑEZ, which participated in festivals in ten countries, won the Award for Best Central American Short Film at Festival Ícaro 2018 in El Salvador and was acquired by Central American, Antilles and USA television stations. Her first feature film HORMIGAS premiered in the “Forum” section of the Berlin International Film Festival 2019 in Germany.

Contact
FiGa Films
Sandro Fiorin
USA
sandro@figafilms.com
www.figafilms.com

Short before

FOOT [PIE]

HORMIGAS [EL DESPERTAR DE LAS HORMIGAS]


22.11.2019 18:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Costa Rica/Spanien 2019 94 Min. OmeU

von Antonella Sudasassi Furniss

Drehbuch: Antonella Sudasassi Furniss, Kamera: Andrés Campos, Schnitt: Raúl de Torres, Musik: Sergio de la Puente, Produzentin: Amaya Izquierdo, Produktion: Betta Films, Darsteller: Daniella Valenciano, Leynar Gómez, Isabella Moscoso, Avril Alpízar

Der Oscar-Beitrag von Costa Rica thematisiert das Frauenbild in einer traditionellen Familie. Isabel ist eine gute Mutter, Ehefrau und Schwiegertocher. Sie kümmert sich um die zwei Töchter und den Mann. Mit Schneidern verdient sie sich was dazu. Der zunehmende Druck vonseiten ihres Mannes und ihrer Familie nach einem weiteren Kind, dem ersehnten „Stammhalter“, leitet ihre Fantasie in eine andere Richtung: Eine eigene Modekollektion und ein Laden müssen her. Können die Träume wahr werden, oder muss sie endlich dazu stehen, was sie wirklich will, und dies auch ihrem Mann und ihrer Familie klarmachen?

„Die Filmemacherin führt ihr Publikum auf eine Erkundung von Gesellschaft, Familie und weiblicher Sexualität und präsentiert eine wunderschön komplizierte und doch erkennbare Geschichte von Wachstum und Ermächtigung.“ (theupcoming.co.uk)

Weitere Informationen: https://www.figafilms.com/el-despertar-de-las-hormigas

Antonella Sudasassi Furniss, geboren 1986 in San José/Costa Rica, machte ihren Bachelor in Medienmanagement und ihren Abschluss in Audiovisueller Produktion an der Universität von Costa Rica. In ihrer Berufskarriere zeigte sie eine starke Neigung zur bildenden Kunst. 2015 startete sie das transmediale Projekt HORMIGAS, im Rahmen dessen die Sexualität von Frauen in ihren entscheidenden Stadien erforscht werden soll. 2016 wurde ihr Kurzfilm LA NIÑEZ uraufgeführt – als Teil ihres Projekts. Er lief auf Festivals in zehn Ländern, erhielt 2018 den Preis für den besten mittelamerikanischen Kurzfilm auf dem Festival Ícaro in El Salvador und wurde von Fernsehsendern in Zentralamerika, auf den Antillen und in den USA erworben. Ihr erster Spielfilm HORMIGAS feierte 2019 in der Sektion „Forum“ der Berlinale seine Weltpremiere.

Kontakt
FiGa Films
Sandro Fiorin
USA
sandro@figafilms.com
www.figafilms.com

Vorfilm

FOOT [PIE]