KALA AZAR

11/21/2020 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Greece/Netherlands 2020 85 min Greek original version with English subtitles

by Janis Rafa

Script: Janis Rafa, DoP: Thodoros Mihopoulos GSC, Editor: Patrick Minks, Production: SNG Film, Producer: Digna Sinke, Cast: Pinelopi Tsilika, Dimitris Lalos, Michelle Valley, Tassos Rafailidis, Oğuz Han Kaya

At the margins of a city somewhere in the south of Europe, a young couple start their day with their job routine: collecting deceased pets from their owners in order to cremate them and return their ashes. This paid job aside, they also collect and cremate roadkill found as they drive around in their car, which also seems to be their home. In this endless life cycle, human beings and animals coexist harmoniously, until the couple causes a roadkill themselves. Set against a visually stunning and desolate landscape with an eerie sensuality, KALA AZAR is a film about death and life itself.

“(…) Rafa is good at creating moods, showing a mostly deserted, post-apocalyptic world that seems to be falling apart in the least spectacular of ways, with dogs barking and little jars clanking constantly in the background. It really feels like death is everywhere in this film. And she doesn’t even need to say one word about it.” (www.cineuropa.org)

More information

Janis Rafa lives and works in Amsterdam and Athens. She completed her education in Fine Art (BA, MA, PhD) at the University of Leeds. Her body of work spans from experimental moving images to video-essays, sculptures, environmental installations, cinematic narratives and most recently medium and feature length films. She completed the Rijksakademie residency in 2013/14 with a scholarship by Onassis Foundation, followed by Kunstlerhaus Villa Concordia residency in 2017/18. Her films and video works were screened at Netherlands Film Festival, Rotterdam International Film Festival Rotterdam and Curtas Vila do Conde, among others. KALA AZAR is her first feature.

Filmography (selection): 2010 DAD WHERE ARE YOU?, 2012 EXIT K1, 2014 REQUIEM TO A SHIP WRECK, 2016 THIS THIN CRUST OF EARTH (all short films), 2020 KALA AZAR


Contact
Heretic Outreach
Christina Liapi
Greece
christina@heretic.gr
www.heretic.gr/heretic-outreach

KALA AZAR

21.11.2020 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Griechenland/Niederlande 2020 85 Min. griech. OmeU

von Janis Rafa

Drehbuch: Janis Rafa, Kamera: Thodoros Mihopoulos GSC, Schnitt: Patrick Minks, Produktion: SNG Film, Produzentin: Digna Sinke, Darsteller: Pinelopi Tsilika, Dimitris Lalos, Michelle Valley, Tassos Rafailidis, Oğuz Han Kaya

Wunderbare Parabel auf die Wirtschaftslage in Griechenland. Ein Paar sammelt im Land tote Tiere von den Besitzern ein, um sie ins Krematorium zu bringen. Sie sammeln aber entgegen ihrer Order auch tote Tiere von der Straße auf, um sie einem „humanen Abgang“ zuzuführen. Langsamer und beeindruckender Film über ein Paar, das kaum miteinander spricht, aber trotzdem irgendwie kommuniziert, wodurch ihre Liebe noch wächst. In diesem endlosen Lebenszyklus koexistieren Mensch und Tier harmonisch, bis das Paar selbst einen Autounfall verursacht. Vor einer visuell atemberaubenden und trostlosen Landschaft mit unheimlicher Sinnlichkeit ist KALA AZAR selbst ein Film über Tod und Leben.

„ (…) Rafa ist gut darin, Stimmungen zu erzeugen, zeigt eine meist menschenleere, postapokalyptische Welt, die auf wenig spektakuläre Weise auseinanderzufallen scheint (…) Es fühlt sich wirklich so an, als ob der Tod überall in diesem Film ist.“ (www.cineuropa.org)

Weitere Informationen

Janis Rafa lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam und Athen. Sie schloss ihre Ausbildung in Bildender Kunst (BA, MA, PhD) an der University of Leeds ab. Ihr Werk reicht von experimentellen Bewegtbildern über Video-Essays, Skulpturen, Umweltinstallationen, filmischen Erzählungen bis hin zu Kurz- und Spielfilmen. 2013/14 schloss ihren Aufenthalt an der Rijksakademie mit einem Stipendium der Onassis-Stiftung ab, gefolgt 2017/18 von einem Aufenthalt in der Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia in den Jahren. Ihre Filme und Videoarbeiten wurden unter anderem gezeigt beim Niederländischen Filmfestival, beim Internationalen Filmfestival in Rotterdam und bei Curtas Vila do Conde. KALA AZAR ist ihr Spielfilmdebüt.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2010 DAD WHERE ARE YOU?, 2012 EXIT K1, 2014 REQUIEM TO A SHIP WRECK, 2016 THIS THIN CRUST OF EARTH (alles Kurzfilme), 2020 KALA AZAR


Kontakt
Heretic Outreach
Christina Liapi
Griechenland
christina@heretic.gr
www.heretic.gr/heretic-outreach