MY FRIEND FELA [MEU AMIGO FELA]


11/22/2019 05:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Brazil 2019 94 min English and French original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Joel Zito Araújo

Script: Joel Zito Araújo, DoP: Cleumo Segond, Editor: Isabel Mattos Castro, Music: Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Producers: Joel Zito Araújo, Luiza Botelho Almeida, Production: Casa de Criação Cinema e Artes, with: Carlos Moore and many others

MY FRIEND FELA provides a new perspective on the Nigerian musician Fela Kuti, in order to counter the most often portrayed narrative of Kuti “as an eccentric African pop idol of the ghetto”. The complexity of Kuti’s life is unravelled through the eyes and conversations of his close friend and official biographer, the African-Cuban Carlos Moore.

As the documentary unfolds, it reveals the many influences and forces that shaped Fela’s extraordinary life: from the relationship he had with his mother to his many and problematic relationships with women, from his ties with his spiritual advisor Professor Hindu to his mutually influential encounters with African Americans. By placing Fela’s personal history in a pan-African context, the film becomes not only a portrait of one man but also of a pan-African generation.

Joel Zito Araújo has produced 29 award-winning documentaries, features and narrative shorts raising awareness to social issues in Brazil, particularly the nation’s Afro-Brazilian population. Among his impressive body of work, the highlights are his documentary DENYING BRAZIL (2001) about the participation of black actors in Brazilian telenovelas, his feature-length fiction film DAUGHTERS OF THE WIND (2004), which brought together the largest black cast in the history of Brazilian cinema and won eight awards at the prestigious Gramado Film Festival; his documentary CINDERELLAS, WOLVES, AND ONE ENCHANTED PRINCE (2008) about sexual tourism in Brazil, the documentary RAÇA (2012) a portrait of the racial debate in contemporary Brazil, co-directed with Oscar winner Megan Mylan, was screened at 35 festivals.

Contact
Wide Management
Matthias Angoulvant
France
ma@widemanagement.com
www.widemanagement.com

Short before

REER

MY FRIEND FELA [MEU AMIGO FELA]


22.11.2019 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Brasilien 2019 94 Min. engl.-frz. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Joel Zito Araújo

Drehbuch: Joel Zito Araújo, Kamera: Cleumo Segond, Schnitt: Isabel Mattos Castro, Musik: Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Produzenten: Joel Zito Araújo, Luiza Botelho Almeida, Produktion: Casa de Criação Cinema e Artes, mit: Carlos Moore und vielen anderen

Der Dokumentarfilm zeigt den nigerianischen Musiker Fela Kuti, der als exzentrischer, afrikanischer Popstar aus dem Ghetto bekannt wurde, in neuem Licht: Kutis Freund, der Biograf Carlos Moore, erzählt von dessen kompliziertem Leben, seiner engen Beziehung zur Mutter, seinen zu vielen Frauen und am Ende von seiner Abhängigkeit von einem Guru. Seine Musik war aber immer Teil seines politischen Aktivismus, und er ein politischer Revolutionär, eine afrikanische Tragödie und ein afrikanischer Held. Und nicht zu vergessen: ein großartiger Musiker.

Die persönliche Geschichte des Musikers wird zugleich in einen größeren Zusammenhang gestellt: Somit zeigt der Film nicht nur das Porträt eines Sängers, sondern auch einer ganzen panafrikanischen Generation.

Joel Zito Araújo hat über 29 preisgekrönte Dokumentar-, Spiel- und Kurzfilme produziert, die sich alle mit den sozialen Problemen in Brasilien beschäftigen, besonders mit denen der Afro-Brasilianer. Unter seinen eigenen Regiearbeiten ist DENYING BRAZIL (2001) über die farbigen Darsteller in den Telenovelas eine der Highlights; sein Spielfilm DAUGHTERS OF THE WIND (2004) hatte den größten Cast an farbigen Darstellern in der brasilianischen Filmgeschichte und gewann acht Filmpreise beim renommierten Filmfestival in Gramado. Sein Dokumentarfilm CINDERELLAS, WOLVES, AND ONE ENCHANTED PRICE (2008) thematisiert den Sextourismus in Brasilien; und der Dokumentarfilm RAÇA (2012), in Co-Regie mit Oscar-Gewinnerin Megan Mylan, beleuchtet den Rassismus im Land und wurde auf 35 Filmfestivals gezeigt.

Kontakt
Wide Management
Matthias Angoulvant
Frankreich
ma@widemanagement.com
www.widemanagement.com

Vorfilm

REER