NASIR

11/20/2020 05:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

India/Netherlands 2020 78 min Tamil original version with English subtitles
German premiere

by Arun Karthick

Script: Arun Karthick, DoP: Saumyananda Sahi, Editor: Arghya Basu, Production: Stray Factory, Rinkel Film B.V., Producer: Mathivanan Rajendran, Cast: Koumarane Valavane, Sudha Ranganathan, Yasmin Rahman, Sabari

Salesman Nasir lives a contended life with his mother Fatima, wife Taj and mentally handicapped nephew Iqbal in a closely populated ghetto. Employed in an apparel shop at the heart of a busy city, the middle-aged Nasir is a hard worker. He speaks humorously and makes others laugh. On Sundays, he composes poems along the lines of Hindi film songs of the 60s. He smokes ten Beedis a day and drinks four cups of tea. He goes for his mid-day prayers occasionally. As his day unfolds we find him to be a nimble romantic, marshaling a love of love, song, children, friendship, and even God to rise into something resembling a life well lived. But Nasir is also a Muslim in South-India, where Hindu nationalism has taken on ever more virulent forms in recent decades. NASIR is a candid exposé of life as a second-class citizen, living in a toxic intolerant society on the edge of inevitably exploding.

More information

Arun Karthick, born 1992, is an independent filmmaker based in Coimbatore/Tamil Nadu. Self-taught, he began producing and directing short films from the age of 17. He finished his debut feature SIVAPURANAM (THE STRANGE CASE OF SHIVA) with a “Gap Financing Award” at Film Bazaar 2014 and the film premiered at 2016 Rotterdam International Film Festival in the “Bright Future” section. NASIR is his second feature, supported by the Hubert Bals Fund for script development and the NFF+HBF co-production fund.

Awards: Netpac Award (Rotterdam International Film Festival, Netherlands 2020), Grand Prix for Best Feature Film (Andrey Tarkovsky International Film Festival “Zerkalo”, Ivanovo/Russia 2020)

Contact
STRAY DOGS
Hind Es-seddiqi
France
sales@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz

NASIR

20.11.2020 17:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Indien/Niederlande 2020 78 Min. tamil. OmeU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Arun Karthick

Drehbuch: Arun Karthick, Kamera: Saumyananda Sahi, Schnitt: Arghya Basu, Produktion: Stray Factory, Rinkel Film B.V., Produzent: Mathivanan Rajendran, Darsteller: Koumarane Valavane, Sudha Ranganathan, Yasmin Rahman, Sabari

Nasir muss hart arbeiten, um für seine Familie zu sorgen. Er lebt mit seiner Mutter Fatima, seiner Frau Taj und seinem geistig behinderten Neffen Iqbal in engen Verhältnissen. Sein Geld verdient er in einem Bekleidungsgeschäft mitten in der City. Er ist ein humorvoller Arbeiter, raucht zehn Beedis am Tag, trinkt vier Tassen Tee und schreibt seiner Frau Liebesbriefe. Sonntags dichtet er zu den Hindi-Filmhits der 60er-Jahre. Gelegentlich geht er zum Mittagsgebet. Während wir Nasirs Tag begleiten, lernen wir ihn als schlagfertigen Romantiker kennen, dem es gelingt, mit seiner Liebe zur Musik und Poesie, zu seinen Mitmenschen und auch zu Gott in etwas hineinzuwachsen, das einem guten Leben ähnelt. Aber Nasir ist auch Muslim in Südindien, wo der Hindu-Nationalismus seit Jahrzehnten immer brutalere Formen annimmt. NASIR ist ein Exposé über Bürger zweiter Klasse in einer intoleranten Gesellschaft.

Weitere Informationen

Arun Karthick, Jahrgang 1992, ist ein unabhängiger Filmemacher aus Coimbatore/Tamil Nadu. Als Autodidakt begann er ab seinem 17. Lebensjahr, Kurzfilme zu produzieren und Regie zu führen. Seinen Debütfilm SIVAPURANAM (THE STRANGE CASE OF SHIVA) beendete er mithilfe des „Gap Financing Award“ bei Film Bazaar 2014, und der Film konnte 2016 seine Premiere beim Internationalen Filmfestival Rotterdam in der Sektion „Bright Future“ feiern. NASIR ist sein zweiter Spielfilm; dabei wurde er unterstützt vom Hubert Bals Fund für Drehbuchförderung und vom NFF+HBF-Koproduktionsfonds.

Auszeichnungen: Netpac Award (Internationales Filmfestival Rotterdam, Niederlande 2020), Großer Preis für den besten Spielfilm (Andrey Tarkovsky International Film Festival „Zerkalo“, Ivanovo/Russland 2020)

Kontakt
STRAY DOGS
Hind Es-seddiqi
Frankreich
sales@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz