ODE TO NOTHING [ODA SA WALA]


11/23/2019 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippines 2019 93 min Tagalog original version with English subtitles

by Dwein Ruedas Baltazar

Script & Editor: Dwein Ruedas Baltazar, DoP: Neil Daza, Producers: Bianca Balbuena, Iana Bernardez, Kriz G. Gazmen, Production: Black Sheep, Epic Media, Cast: Dido de la Paz, Anthony Falcon, Joonee Gamboa, Pokwang

Sonya is an old maid stuck in a town that long ceased to recognize her existence but only until one fateful morning when a mysterious corpse arrives at the footsteps of their family-owned funeral shop. Bringing forth strange luck and fortune, Sonya instantly gets drawn to the corpse’s mystique, reinvigorating not only her life but also that of her father Mang Rudy. But luck would eventually dry up, provoking further distress back to Sonya’s life. She faces the reality that her existence is nothing more that of the corpse, at the tail end of its mortality staring life wither away.

“A melancholy exploration of loneliness, defeat, and despair, Baltazar’s whimsical drama is a haunting ode to emptiness but one that clings sadly to life and hope even as the night draws in.” (windowsonworlds.com)

More information: www.epicmedia.ph/oda-sa-wala

Dwein Ruedas Baltazar first and foremost is a mother, who has a love hate relationship in writing and still dreams of becoming a theatre actress someday. Currently, she writes and directs for miniseries and movies. Her debut film, MAMAY UMENG (2012), took home the Best Picture Prize from Jeonju International Film Festival in South Korea. Her feature, GUSTO KITA WITH ALL MY HYPOTHALAMUS, had its international premiere at the 2018 Busan International Film Festival in South Korea and won two awards at the Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival in Taiwan.

Contact
Epicmedia Productions
Bianca Balbuena
Philippines
bianca.balbuena@yahoo.com
www.epicmedia.ph

Short before

ANIMISTICA

ODE TO NOTHING [ODA SA WALA]


23.11.2019 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Philippinen 2019 93 Min. OmeU

von Dwein Ruedas Baltazar

Drehbuch & Schnitt: Dwein Ruedas Baltazar, Kamera: Neil Daza, Produzenten: Bianca Balbuena, Iana Bernardez, Kriz G. Gazmen, Produktion: Black Sheep, Epic Media, Darsteller: Dido de la Paz, Anthony Falcon, Joonee Gamboa, Pokwang

Sonya hat es nicht leicht im Leben: Das familieneigene Bestattungsinstitut steht kurz vor dem Bankrott, und die verbliebenen Kunden wollen die Preise drücken. Zuhause schweigt sie sich mit ihrem Vater an. An einem schicksalhaften Morgen liegt die Leiche einer alten Frau vor der Tür. Sonya erkennt in der Toten sofort eine Seelenverwandte und bezieht sie ins Familienleben mit ein. ODE TO NOTHING glänzt mit schwarzem Humor und grandiosen Bildern. Der kunstvolle Genre-Hybrid wechselt gekonnt zwischen schwarzer Komödie und dem Drama einer Einsamen.

„Eine melancholische Erkundung von Einsamkeit, Niederlage und Verzweiflung, Baltazars skurriles Drama ist eine eindringliche Ode an die Leere, aber eine, die sich traurig an Leben und Hoffnung klammert, besonders wenn die Nacht hereinkommt.“ (windowsonworlds.com)

Weitere Informationen: www.epicmedia.ph/oda-sa-wala

Dwein Ruedas Baltazar ist in erster Linie Mutter, die eine Hassliebe mit dem Schreiben verbindet und die immer noch davon träumt, eines Tages Theaterschauspielerin zu werden. Derzeit schreibt und führt sie Regie bei Miniserien- und Film-Produktionen. Ihr Debütfilm MAMAY UMENG (2012) gewann den Preis für den besten Film beim Jeonju International Film Festival in Südkorea. Ihr Spielfilm GUSTO KITA WITH ALL MY HYPOTHALAMUS hatte 2018 seine internationale Premiere auf dem Busan International Film Festival in Südkorea und gewann zwei Preise beim Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival in Taiwan.

Kontakt
Epicmedia Productions
Bianca Balbuena
Philippinen
bianca.balbuena@yahoo.com
www.epicmedia.ph

Vorfilm

ANIMISTICA