THE LONGEST NIGHT [LA MALA NOCHE]


11/21/2019 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Ecuador/Mexico 2019 95 min Spanish original version with English subtitles
German premiere

by Gabriela Calvache

Script: Gabriela Calvache, DoP: Gris Jordana, Editor: Andrea Chignoli, Music: Quincas Moreira, Producers: Geminiano Pineda, Gabriela Calvache, Production: Cineática Films, Cine Caníbal, Cast: Noëlle Schönwald, Cristian Mercado, Jaime Tamariz

Dana is the perfect woman until she decides to be free. She turns to prostitution. She must surrender her income to the leader of a human trafficking ring, but her daughter’s illness and a drug addiction prevent her from delivering her usual share. An unexpected event gives her the opportunity to stop obeying and take justice into her own hands. Ecuador’s Oscar entry is a powerful directorial debut.

“First-time writer-director Gabriela Calvache crafted a seductive, heartbreaking and scandalous portrait of the horrors of sex-trafficking in South America. (…) Calvache extracts vivid, raw and convincing performances from the entire cast, especially Colombian actress Noëlle Schönwald, who plays the heroic, anguished woman of the night,” (brazilianpress.com)

More information: https://www.widemanagement.com/la-mala-noche

Gabriela Calvache was born in Ambato, a small city in the Ecuadorean Andes. She wrote and directed two short films: EN ESPERA (ON HOLD) which premiered at the Rotterdam International Film Festival in 2011, and HAY COSAS QUE NO SE DICEN (THINGS YOU NEVER SAY) which premiered at the Mar del Plata Film Festival. Both films got selected for several festivals – in Guadalajara/Mexico and São Paulo/Brazil, among others. As a producer, she worked on several award-winning documentaries. LA MALA NOCHE (THE LONGEST NIGHT) is her debut feature film.

Contact
Wide Management
Matthias Angoulvant
France
ma@widemanagement.com
www.widemanagement.com

Short before

SLOPE [DECLIVE]

THE LONGEST NIGHT [LA MALA NOCHE]


21.11.2019 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Ecuador/Mexiko 2019 95 Min. OmeU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Gabriela Calvache

Drehbuch: Gabriela Calvache, Kamera: Gris Jordana, Schnitt: Andrea Chignoli, Musik: Quincas Moreira, Produzenten: Geminiano Pineda, Gabriela Calvache, Produktion: Cineática Films, Cine Caníbal, Darsteller: Noëlle Schönwald, Cristian Mercado, Jaime Tamariz

Dana ist die perfekte Frau, bevor sie sich entscheidet, frei zu sein. Als Prostituierte gibt sie immer brav das Geld an ihren Zuhälter ab. Doch durch ihre Medikamentenabhängigkeit und die Krankheit ihrer Tochter gerät sie mit ihren Zahlungen in Verzug und bekommt Ärger. Als dann auch noch kleine Mädchen an reiche Kunden verkauft werden, reicht es ihr – und sie sorgt für Gerechtigkeit. Der Oscar-Beitrag von Ecuador ist ein kraftvolles Regiedebüt.

„Autorin und Regisseurin Gabriela Calvache schuf ein verführerisches, herzzerreißendes und skandalöses Porträt der Schrecken des Sexhandels in Südamerika. (…) Als Demonstration weiblicher Kraft und Entschlossenheit zeigt der Film die Originalität einer neuen visuellen Kraft. Ein faszinierendes Debüt.“ (brazilianpress.com)

Weitere Informationen: https://www.widemanagement.com/la-mala-noche

Gabriela Calvache wurde in Ambato geboren, einer kleinen Stadt in den ecuadorianischen Anden. Sie schrieb und führte Regie bei zwei Kurzfilmen: EN ESPERA (ON HOLD), der 2011 auf dem Rotterdam International Film Festival uraufgeführt wurde, und HAY COSAS QUE NO SE DICEN (THINGS YOU NEVER SAY), der beim Mar del Plata Film Festival Premiere feierte. Beide Filme liefen auf mehreren Festivals, unter anderem in Guadalajara/Mexiko und São Paulo/Brasilien. Zudem arbeitete sie als Produzentin an mehreren preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilmen. LA MALA NOCHE (THE LONGEST NIGHT) ist ihr Spielfilmdebüt.

Kontakt
Wide Management
Matthias Angoulvant
Frankreich
ma@widemanagement.com
www.widemanagement.com

Vorfilm

SLOPE [DECLIVE]