VIRUS TROPICAL


11/18/2018 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Colombia 2018 96 min original version with English subtitles

by Santiago Caicedo

Script: Entique Lozano, Paola Gaviria, Editor: Santiago Caicedo, Simón Hernández, Jorge H. Vallejo, Production: Timbo Estudio, Ikki Films, Producer: Santiago Caicedo

Born in a not-so-conventional family, Paola grows up in Ecuador and Colombia and finds herself unable to fit in any mold. With a unique feminine vision of the world, she will have to fight against prejudice and struggle for her independence while her universe is struck by a series of crises. Based on the graphic novel VIRUS TROPICAL by Powerpaola.

“Set between Ecuador and Colombia, the story is full of strong-willed women who move around a lot. Its perspective on middle-class life in South America is fresh and engaging, even if the focus remains at the level of family ties, without any ambition to make statements about society as a whole.” (Hollywood Reporter, Deborah Young)

Santiago Caicedo (1976) is a Colombian artist and filmmaker. His work, difficult to label, revolves around motion graphics, animation, stereoscopy, video art and film. His short films have participated in numerous festivals around the world, including Annecy, Clermont-Ferrand and SIGGRAPH, and have received many international awards. His work enhances graphics and fantasy in a unique style where he vanishes all references to common times or places and takes us away on trips to strange worlds. His films include the shorts HUECO (2003), COME COCO (2006), and UYUYUI! (2011). in 2018, VIRUS TROPICAL won the Audience Award for Global Cinema at the South by South West Film Festival in Austin/Texas.

Contact
STRAY DOGS
Lison Hervé
France
lison@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz

Short before

COYOTE

VIRUS TROPICAL


18.11.2018 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Kolumbien 2018 96 Min. OmeU

von Santiago Caicedo

Drehbuch: Entique Lozano, Paola Gaviria, Schnitt: Santiago Caicedo, Simón Hernández, Jorge H. Vallejo, Produktion: Timbo Estudio, Ikki Films, Produzent: Santiago Caicedo

Paola wächst in einer sehr unkonventionellen Familie in Ekuador und Kolumbien auf. Drogen, Kriminalität und soziale Ungleichheit prägen hier den Alltag. Sie kämpft mit ihrer feministischen Sicht auf die patriarchal dominierte Gesellschaft gegen Vorurteile und für die eigene Unabhängigkeit – in einer Welt, in die sie nicht hineinpasst. Doch die Krisen bleiben natürlich nicht aus. Ein Animationsrausch in Schwarz-Weiß.

„Mit Sex beginnt der Film, auch Drogen und Gewalt spielen später eine Rolle, Mobbing und Geldnöte. Die Bezeichnung dysfunktional wäre für die Familie eher noch geschmeichelt. Eigentlich klappt bei Paola und den anderen nie etwas, weder innerhalb der Familie noch im Umgang mit anderen Menschen. Selbst wenn zwischendurch mal das Glück winkt, so ist es gleich wieder verschwunden.“ (film-rezensionen.de, Oliver Armknecht)

Santiago Caideco, geboren 1976, ist ein kolumbianischer Künstler und Regisseur. Seine Arbeiten sind nicht einfach einzuordnen, von Motion Graphics über Animation und Videokunst bis hin zu Film reicht sein Spektrum. Seine Kurzfilme wurden auf zahlreichen Festivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet. unter anderem in Annecy, Clermont-Ferrand und auf der SIGGRAPH. Er vereint in seinem Stil Grafikdesign und Fantasy, entzieht sich aber tradierten Vorgaben, um seine eigenen seltsamee Welten zu kreieren. Zu seinen zahlreichen Arbeiten gehören auch die Kurzfilme HUECO (2013), COME COCO (2006) und UYUYUI! (2011). VIRUS TROPICAL wurde beim South by South West Film Festival in Austin/Texas 2018 mit dem Publikumspreis für den besten internationalen Film ausgezeichnet.

Kontakt
STRAY DOGS
Lison Hervé
Frankreich
lison@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz

Vorfilm

COYOTE